RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


thanks to all of you I went from this....(30 posts)

thanks to all of you I went from this....IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 5:18 PM
my first passion, which I still enjoy too........
to this now too!IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 5:26 PM
Finally got another road bike this summer, and upgraded to full Ultegra, ITM Millennium stem/bar, Spinergy Xaero wheels (no problems at all with them), USE post, Selle Italia saddle, and of course....my favorite pedals, Time ATAC's (which are only 335 grams with lighter parts, and will be 290 with ti springs soon! All I can say is I really enjoy the road as well as the dirt. I don't understand the ones who bash mtb or road, why not enjoy one, or both and smile!
let me guess ..... your car is yellow. ;-) nmsecourir
Dec 10, 2001 5:37 PM
HA! no, it just happened that the Giant was....IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 5:44 PM
only in that color, and so was the Raleigh. I would have preferred blue or black actually......funny though!
Nice bike nmdavidl
Dec 10, 2001 8:16 PM
Another victim of cheapyellowbikes.com or whatever.Dog Breath
Nov 16, 2001 9:30 AM
Tell whomever tagged it with the black paint to come back and finish the job. It looks silly half painted in black.
The bottle cages look like disected soda bottles sprayed black. Who are you trying to scare with that handlebar tape?

I don't like it. Just my opinion.
Don't listen to the boneheads out there.nigel
Dec 10, 2001 6:21 PM
Good on ya for enjoying both. I did my first real offroading this summer (on a rented front-sus Gary Fisher), in Vermont on a mini-vacation and had a BLAST! If I had a mountain bike, I'd be joining my friends on the trails here and there. My road endurance and hill-climbing had me keeping up with all but the very most experienced of them.

The Raleigh's a very sharp machine; not quite as sharp as my yellow-and-grey Giant, but very nice, nonetheless. ;)

Cheers,
Nige

P.S. More people may've responded, but the pics loaded slowly (as the board seems to be doing at this point) and they lost interest and hit "Escape."
Pay no attention to Dog BreathMel Erickson
Dec 10, 2001 6:46 PM
I've always thought the Raleighs were a great buy. I've also got a Giant, although it's an NRS1, and yellow is all they come in at that level. I don't mind it at all. I would have picked a different tape on the Raleigh but yellows just fine for the bike, especially when you have no choice on color and consider value is more important. With you choices on bikes I can tell value is important to you and I commend you for that.
to this now too!gusriley
Dec 10, 2001 8:27 PM
I like it. I had an older Raleigh R700 with Full Ultegra. I put a hard 3,000 miles on it in one year....all in South Korea. It's a good bike....I still have it but have gone back to my Aegis. The Raleigh gets ridden as a loner when friends want to come out and play. All of them want to buy it, but I just can't let it go!
how much $$ on the Raleigh? nmclimbo
Dec 11, 2001 5:53 AM
nm
Nice bikes!STEELYeyed
Dec 11, 2001 7:10 AM
I still havn't decided on what to buy for a hardtail yet,but I am leaning toward a Litespeed LookOut Mtn.,Marzocchi Atom Race,w/XTR,I have a LS road bike and love it,the guys over at MTBR.com gave alot of good suggestions,as a roadie posting over there I sort of expected to get lit up pretty good, but they were all very helpful. We are supposed to get some snow up in the MC later this week, so maybe I'll put the studed tires on the ice bike.
Nice bikesTig
Dec 11, 2001 11:27 AM
Yep, ignore the trolls. I doubt there is a single bike picture posted that doesn't bring out some boneheaded attack. By accident, my MTB and road bikes are both black. I just wish they were as nice as your bikes!

I'll never understand the MTB vs. road point of views. Both are a blast, just different. Those who choose only one are missing out. Keep riding, bro...
A reject from the TV show "Junk Yard Wars." nmDog Breath
Dec 10, 2001 5:50 PM
boy, what a friendly bunch here......IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 5:56 PM
NM
Look show-off...Dog Breath
Dec 10, 2001 6:04 PM
Don't expect everyone to drop to their knees in praise of your two yellow, weight wiener, tig welded, Taiwan bikes. Some people are not going to like them, they are entitled to their opinions. That is just part of posting photos in America.

Now lets go have a beer together and watch strippers while eating peanuts, comarade.
damn, I was only thanking you jagoffs, not....IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 6:12 PM
expecting the inqusition, now where are the strippers!!!
Three comments buddy.Pack Meat
Dec 11, 2001 6:32 AM
1. Nobody expects the Spanish Inquistion.
2. You must be from Chicago (or somewhere in the midwest). Since moving from there I discovered that jagoff is not a universal term.
3. When you accept that you are a weight weiney you will be much happier and when people accuse you of being one you will wear it like a badge of honor.
4. ok 4 things, the guys that react aggressively to your somewhat sappy thank you are the one's that are the most sensitive and they just don't want you to see them cry.

bring on the naked chicks

Share the Road and pass the pretzels.

PM
too funny!!!!!IAmtnbikr
Dec 11, 2001 9:45 AM
1. Obviously another fan of that humor, too hard to find it nowadays!
2. 4 hrs. west of there, but again, funny, I think it may be a regional deal, first heard by me in -you guessed it-Chitown burbs from friends there.
3. I have NO trouble admitting this! Too bad the parts cost so damn much, but it's still cheaper than the hobby I quit- drag racing, for another expense- a family.
4. I will turn my back if tears are shed....

PS - naked chicks rule, and pass a BEER with the pretzels!
And what do you ride Dog Breath?Bikerider
Dec 10, 2001 7:44 PM
Post a picture of this beautuful ride of yours. Do you even own a bike?
You are a terd on the a$$ hair of humanity - nmGoose Step
Dec 10, 2001 7:16 PM
typical roadie, huh? idiots like you are why....IAmtnbikr
Dec 10, 2001 7:59 PM
most MTB'ers puke when they see you. And Dog Breath or whoever, what a moronic statement. Cheap yellow bikes.....that's funny. Cheap, no. Value for the dollar, yes. As for the Giant, take a little closer look at the components before you spew an idiotic rant like you did. It is worth twice the $2K I have into the Raleigh, but I doubt you'd know that either. (For $2K I have spent, I sure didn't find a comparable road bike.) The Giant is a race bike that has not let me down in 3 yrs of use. No cheap,stupid-light, here today-gone tomorrow parts. Look around and see what Giant has done in the MTB world with the NRS. Maybe if you engaged your brain before you put your mouth in gear, you'd save yourself some embarassment.
Uh..."IAmtnbikr".....Ahimsa
Dec 10, 2001 8:15 PM
"Goosestep" or whatever was defending you it seems.

Gotta check those little dots to see what the person is responding too, eh?

And further, as far as trolls are concerned, what do you care what they think? They are just trying to bait you into a response just like the one you posted. Didn't you notice that Dog Breath is so damned bored he posted 3 times just trying to get you to blow a fuse?

Let 'em yap, they don't know sh!t about you, bro.

Ride your bike, that is all that matters.

Cheers!

A.
I am with you not against you.Goose Step
Dec 10, 2001 8:28 PM
My snide response was directed at Dog Breath not you. To be honest I thought Dog Breath's responses to your posts were crude and offensive so I felt I'd throw my weight behind YOU in defense. I think you mistook it for an attack on you. I'd say the majority on this board who haven't spoken up would gladly welcome you here.
oops, sorry GS! :) ......IAmtnbikr
Dec 11, 2001 4:51 AM
you are correct, it was NOT directed at you. I guess I just don't understand why some feel the need to spew like that. Anyhow, yes, I DO enjoy road riding, and probably surprised a group of roadies this fall when I spied a sweet Colnago when I popped back onto the pavement from the dirt, and the group slowed up for me to catch them for a chat. No offense, hopefully none taken by you either!
No worries.Goose Step
Dec 11, 2001 11:43 AM
Stick around.
Goose Step is on YOUR side IAmtnbikr!Erik W
Dec 10, 2001 8:38 PM
Don't be so defensive about Dog Breath's comments. You have two nice bikes there. Don't slam Roadies either, a lot of us are also MTBers. I'd consider myself a road rider first but I have over 1000 mikes on my MTB. Don't let a couple of bad eggs spoil this site for you. You are much more welcome then Dog Breath ever will be.
typical roadie, huh? idiots like you are why....Tiger
Dec 10, 2001 9:01 PM
Seriously, congratulations on your new bike. Trust me, most of the folks on this board are behind you. Hope you continue to enjoy the road.
For those who don't know Dog Breath,javagenki
Dec 10, 2001 9:37 PM
he shows up every now and then, blasts some poor guy's bike, and then climbs up on an Italian steel soap box. He usually knows his stuff but is a bit of a knob. If you're not into waxing over the finer points of Italian crome rust rates, ignore him and he will go away.
re: thanks to all of you I went from this....tr
Dec 10, 2001 10:28 PM
I agree with you and am glad to know you enjoy both. Continue to have fun with both. One of my bikes is a raleigh and it has sentimental value for me since my deceased dad gave it to me. In addition, i like yellow but have blue and white bikes for some reason. Some day i would like to have a red one. Please ignore the bad apples and stick with us.
re: thanks to all of you I went from this....MVN
Dec 10, 2001 10:56 PM
Personally, I think they are both great bikes. Whatever works for you, in my opinion. And yellow is a fantastic color. Maybe more idiot drivers will see you. More visibility is the order of the day when road riding. I ride road and mountain, by the way. I started to buy a Raleigh road bike this summer but went with a Trek instead. Maybe my next one will be a Raleigh. Congrats on great bikes!