RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396(14 posts)

Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396kushogun
Dec 10, 2001 12:10 PM
Hello everyone. I currently am riding with an old set of SPD pedals and am wanting to make the jump to the road pedal/shoe combo for a Christmas present. I have done quite a bit of research and have found that the Look PP369 and the Time Equipe Pro are pedals that suit my needs and have a durable track record. That being said, I was wondering if anyone with experience in both could lend some advice. I am riding in Kansas, so a lot more flats than climbing. I do engage and disengage the pedals I would say frequently when riding through town in order to meet a group for a ride. I don't have any knee or ankle problems at this time. Weight isn't a huge concern either. I am looking for a pedal that is easily engageable (after some practice), will last a long time, and has dependable adjustability. Sounds like what everyone else is looking for. Anyways, price isn't really an issue, more like the durability factor as I would like to make this a one and you're done purchase. I was thinking the Sidi shoe set-up too. Any suggestions or words of advice before purchasing? Thanks and happy riding everyone.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396cioccman
Dec 10, 2001 12:20 PM
I've got no experience with Time. I have a pair of Look 396. In my experience, they are the hardest to get in and out of compared to all other pedals I've had or used. Mine are set to the easiest adjustment level. If you check out their specs, they have a release setting that is adjustable. I read their scale when I bought them though I forget the exact numbers. I believe they rate them as being adjustable from, for example, 6 to 20 whereas, the 357 are adjustable from let's say a 2 to 15 scale of ease.

My DA Look pedals (same that Lance uses) are MUCH MUCH easier to get in and out of. They are much older and have been worn for many miles. After 500 miles, my 396 have not become any easier.

If ease of entry and release is what you're looking for, these are not the ones in my opinion. If you ski, it's similar to binding release ratings. Some start out hard to get in and out of and get even harder. (for heavier and more advanced skiers)
Hard?djg
Dec 10, 2001 12:52 PM
I have a pair of Look 396 pedals (also a pair of cx-7) and I find them very easy to clip in and out of. Much easier--for me--than spd or even campy pedals (although perhaps I'd get used to the latter with more experience). I think it's a nice platform, easy to use, and pretty durable. I'm not sure what the problem is with yours.

I also have no experience with Time pedals.

To the extent this is a personal preference issue, the poster might try finding a cheap pair of looks (there are some very low prices on, e.g., 296's these days), especially if these can be adapted to his current shoes. He can then see what he thinks for himself.
Hard?cioccman
Dec 10, 2001 1:18 PM
No problem with mine, just harder in comparison than any other I've used. Just like a higher tension ski binding.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396totrod
Dec 10, 2001 12:53 PM
I have the Looks, and have been very happy with them. I switched over from SPD on my old bike to the PP396. To me, they are very easy to get in and out of, whereas the SPD seemed unpredictable. Also, the Looks are tolerant of a little dirt and grime, while the SPD was not. I know you were looking for a comparison between Time and Look, but all I can offer is a recommendation for the PP396.

Hope it helps.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396gtx
Dec 10, 2001 12:56 PM
have had both, currently ride Speedplay. Prefered the Times because the float was designed in (not an afterthought like the Looks) and the cleats are more durable. Both feel solid but the Looks will feel less solid once the cleats start to wear (which was pretty fast in my experience). Also, Times put you closer to the pedal spindle. For shoes I would consider Carnacs, too. Good luck.
Pedal tension directly from Looks websitecioccman
Dec 10, 2001 1:14 PM
cx7 is 12-18N.m
396 is 11-16N.m
357 is 8-12N.m

This is directly and exactly what measures ease of release. The CX-7 on it's *easiest to release setting* is equal to the 357 on it's *hardest to release setting*. The 396 on it's *easiest* setting is almost equivalent to the 357 on it's *toughest* setting.

I do not recommend the 396 if ease of release is what you're looking for.
TimesBrooks
Dec 10, 2001 2:11 PM
I've had Time pedals for 12 years with no complaints. A little stiff getting in and out but would rather not unclip while pulling hard in a climb or sprint. I've had knee surgery (unrelated to cycling) and have not had any problems related to the pedals. They have good "float" that is not adjustable (neither is clip-in tension) and your foot is close to the spindle. With my recent bike purchase (Sampson) I ordered the Equipe Pros. Still have the Time Carbon shoes so I can't say what else is good out there. If you buy Times, get them from overseas (Total Cycling, ProBikeKit, or Saddlesore) as they are significantly cheaper.

My $.02 FWIW.
Brooks
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396tr
Dec 10, 2001 10:37 PM
Have three pair of times and like them very much. They are very durable and i am still using a pair from 1992 on my fixed gear. You will see a lot of the pros wearing either of the two you have mentioned. In my humble opinion the time has the best platform for long rides and pushing big gears, thats why alot of the pros use them i think. I don't think you can go wrong with either of the two, but the magnesium or steel pedals are a good bet to last the longest.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396Velocipedio
Dec 11, 2001 5:50 AM
Most of the time, the pros use the pedals their sponsor tells them to use. I'm sure Steffen Wesemann would gladly have traded his Times for Looks during this year's Paris-Roubaix... alas, Telekom is a Time-sponsored team.

[This is not a judgment on Time pedals, which, I'm sure are just fine. I merely point out that whether or not a pro uses this or that product is not an explicit endorsement of its quality... And poor Steffen WAS having some serious pedal problems in P-R.]
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396DoubleK
Dec 11, 2001 8:46 AM
I started cyling with Look's about 15 years ago so I'm sure the pedals have come a long way but I have been using Time's for the last 13 years and will never change if I can help it. IMHO, the Time's are way more robust than the Looks and I much prefer the float and release characteristics of the Time system. Just FYI, Time is coming out with a new design late this summer so, you might want to wait if possible to get the latest and greatest. I say this because once you get a system that you like, you will never want to change. I recommend Carnac shoes as well.

P.S. I am 90% sure that Steffen Wesseman rides Campy Pro-Fit pedals (including this year's P-R) although Time does sponsor Team Telekom.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396tr
Dec 11, 2001 9:01 AM
The top level pros wear what they want if they have the name. Everyone knows they sometimes appear to use certain products that they don't and ride frames that are not necessarily what is painted on them. What you say about pros using what they are told too is more relevant for the neo's and less experienced pros, not the big names.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396Velocipedio
Dec 12, 2001 6:28 AM
I'm not sure I agree. While I doubt Jan Ulrich and Erik Zabel have to use any product they don't want to use, it's unlikely that a dedicated domestique like Wesemann has much choice. He's not a star -- not even as much of a star as Danilo Hondo -- and probably doesn't have much pull.
re: Time Equipe Pro vs. Look PP 396Crash
Dec 11, 2001 11:31 AM
Hi ! I am currently using Look 357's. Easy to get in and out of, very happy with them. They are also much cheaper than the 396's, with the same performance. You might also want to check E-bay for a pedal purchase. You can often get fantastic deals on new pedals. Also, www.totalcycling.com has great deals on shoes / pedals.