RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's up with a Look KG 171?(21 posts)

What's up with a Look KG 171?sjuhan
Dec 7, 2001 3:28 PM
Can someone fill me in on what they think about a Look KG 171 road frame. I have a chance to buy one, but i don't know a whole lot about Look frames. Is it a real old model?
Is is race worthy, or an entry level frame? How do Look frames fit in reguard to other popular frames? Thanks.
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?Dave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 4:09 PM
This frame came out after LOOK's original carbon frames. The original frames came out in the late 80's. They were the KG56,KG76,KG86,and the KG96. The KG171 is the successor to the KG96. It was LOOK's top end frame at the time. It was produced from the early 90's until 1997-98. It was replaced by the KG271, than KG281 and in 2002, the KG381i. The KG171 was a pro level frame when it was produced. ONCE used to ride the KG171 until they switched to Giant. The current generation LOOK frames aren't much lighter but they are stiffer. The 171 used round tubes while the 271 and 281 use variable shaped tubes.
I have 4 LOOK bikes, so don't ask me for an objective opinion. I can say I'm very happy with all my LOOK frames
Here's a pic of the KG171 frameDave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 4:13 PM
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?johnjohn
Dec 7, 2001 4:58 PM
Dave,
4 Looks! Well, that my friend qualifies you as a resident expert. Question: There's a UK shop on E-bay selling 241's ($599), 281's in limited edition white ($999), and 386's (for approximately $1149). I was wondering if you might give me your thoughts on the ride qualities of these various models and a sense of whether or not these asking prices sound like good values. Much thanks in advance.
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?Dave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 5:15 PM
Those are great prices. I've been watching them on ebay. I paid just about the same for my 241. I bought it from Saddlesore.net. I also have a 281 which I paid alot more than $999. My other two are a 286 and a KG86.
As for ride quality, I like the 281 the best. It's very lively but comfortable. The 241 is my second favorite. It's slightly less stiff than the 281 but still plenty stiff and comfortable. The 286 is a full carbon bike and is very stiff but feels dead compared to the 281 and 241. I just bought the KG86 and I'm going to build it up as it appeared in 1989.
IMHO, the 281 for $999 is a great deal. The white is a limited edition color and the LOOK logos and graphics are actually the natural carbon showing through.
The 241 has round carbon tubes vs the 281 variable tubes and the 241 has a carbon fork with alloy steerer vs the 281 has a full carbon fork. IF you don't want to spend $999 for a frame and fork, the 241 is a fantastic bike for the money
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?johnjohn
Dec 7, 2001 5:31 PM
Dave,
Thank you very much. One last question if I might. I noticed that the seat tube diameter on the Looks is only 25mm. What sorts of post options are there for this size? I know Look makes a somewhat pricey Carbon model but are there any other alternatives to consider?
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?Dave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 5:50 PM
I have a LOOK carbon post and your right, it is pricey. It retails for $170. I paid $85 for it used on Ebay. American classic makes a 25.0 seat post. USE make one, but I'm not sure if it will work with LOOK frames. Excel Sports say don't use the USE with LOOK frames but the European shops sell the post with LOOK frames. Go figure!
ITM makes the Millenium post in 25.0 but you will probably have to get it from Europe.
On my other LOOK frames, I'm using old Dura Ace and Campy Record 25.0 posts. They are no longer made but they are both aero posts and look great. You can buy these regularly on ebay for about $25.00. They actually look better the the round American classic or ITM.
Check these out.Dave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 6:03 PM
Cheap http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1042764270

Expensive http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1045031763
Check these out.johnjohn
Dec 7, 2001 7:30 PM
Thanks for the links Dave. It's people like you (going above and beyond) that make this forum so great! Also, that Look post is sharp.
Had a friend who rode one for a weekJS
Dec 7, 2001 4:54 PM
Said it rode smoothly but was an absolute noodle, like the frame was flexing all over the place underneath him. He weighs about 150lbs. No first hand knowledge though.
Had a friend who rode one for a weekDave Hickey
Dec 7, 2001 5:19 PM
I weight 150 and have no flexing problems with any of the LOOK's I've owned
I owned one...CrazyMan
Dec 7, 2001 11:11 PM
Here are my thoughts:
The build quality was very nice. Bought it used, but in fine shape, and was very impressed.
As for the ride: the bike was amazingly comfortable. very smooth, with a somewhat flexy, but light and comfortable fork. Handled very nicely, very predictable. If you aren't going to race, it's a lovely ride.
BUT, it is quite flexy in the bottom bracket in larger sizes (mine was a 59cm). Definitely noticeable movement when compared to my bikes since then (bianchi ev2 and giant tcr). Just depends what you're looking for, though.
I would say, however, that you should check out deeside cycles on the web. They sell LOOK 241 frames for VERY cheap, so that might be something you should consider. good luck with your decision.
DeesideCycles.com sells them for only $320?!Tig
Dec 8, 2001 8:57 AM
If that's the bike someone wants, you can't beat the price. That includes the fork. Shipping and duty are additional, but the total cost will still be in the low 400's at most. A smaller frame might not be too flexy at the BB for a lighter rider who spins.
The 241, I meant. -NMTig
Dec 8, 2001 8:59 AM
Deeside Cycles sells the KG231 not the KG241 for that price (nm)Dave Hickey
Dec 8, 2001 2:22 PM
This guys got a good selection, prices seem very good:Dog Breath
Dec 7, 2001 11:31 PM
http://www.ebaystores.com/bitz4bikes/plistings/list/all/dept7/index.html
re: What's up with a Look KG 171?Nessism
Dec 8, 2001 7:27 AM
Someone correct me if this is wrong but I think the KG 171 and KG 181 use the same frame but different forks. The 181 has a carbon steerer tube fork vs. steel steerer for the 171.
Both are great frames. I helped a friend build up his a while back and was very impressed. He bought an American Classic seat post which seems fine. Stiffness is good in the smaller sizes - his is a 52cm.
From the prices on ebay for the Looks, I wonder why more people don't ride them. Much classier than a OCLV in my opinion.
Not quite the sameDave Hickey
Dec 8, 2001 8:31 AM
LOOK used a different carbon for each. You are correct the 181 had a full carbon fork. I keep a data base of LOOK frames. Below is what I show as the differences.

KG171-uses SR carbon, LDS carbon fork
KG181-introduced in 1998, uses HR carbon, HSC carbon fork
ClarificationNessism
Dec 8, 2001 12:34 PM
The KG171 uses what Look calls HM Carbon Kevlar. HR carbon was used on the lower end KG251 and KG131. The KG181 also uses this same HM carbon since it uses the same frame as the KG171. BTW, the KG171 uses the LDS Pro carbon fork which is different from the regular LDS fork in that the Pro has a carbon crown whereas the regular LDS for uses an aluminum crown with bonded fork legs.

I am not a Look expert however I do have a Look catalog from that era that I am referencing as I type.
Thanks for the info. Would you like to sell the catalog?Dave Hickey
Dec 8, 2001 2:25 PM
My data base is info gathered of the internet. Thanks for the clarification. I'd be interested in buying the catalog if you want to sell it.
Dave
Thanks for the info. Would you like to sell the catalog?Nessism
Dec 8, 2001 8:15 PM
Email me your address and I will send it to you. No need to purchase.

nessoh@centurytel.net