RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which mag for Christmas???(13 posts)

Which mag for Christmas???Money D
Dec 3, 2001 8:14 PM
I'm just getting into road bikes, coming from mt bikes and as a christmas idea for my family I'd like to ask for a subscription to a road bike mag. What are the good ones? I'm not too interested in the euro racing scene, just fun articles, lots of reviews, and some tech stuff.
Thanks.
re: Which mag for Christmas???SteveS
Dec 3, 2001 8:19 PM
If you have a Border's bookstore where you live, drop in a take a look at "Cycling+", a UK magazine, but not really involved in Euro racing. Far better than whats left of "Bicycling", which it appears to me, is not long for this world.
re: Which mag for Christmas???Me Dot Org
Dec 3, 2001 10:14 PM
I would second Cycling +. I would love to tell you that there is a U.S. magazine worth getting, but Bicycling is pretty awful, mostly bullet-point product reviews and boring 10-lists. Some people have compared it to USA Today, but I think that's too kind. It's more like a PowerPoint Presentation.

Cycling + is not only written by people who are passionate and knowledgeable about cycling, they also are familiar with the English language, and can even write whole sentences, something the staff at Bicycling evidently finds horribly taxing.
re: Which mag for Christmas???I Love Shimano
Dec 4, 2001 1:13 AM
I suggest you get Bicycling for a couple of months (Just for a couple, to gain some general knowledge about road cycling), then check out Procycling, and Cycle Sport. Those two mags are, IMO, the best ones. I haven't read Cycling+ though, so I can't say anything about that mag. Procycling has this section by Robert Millar, and his reviews are a million times more interesting than the ones in Bicycling.
re: Which mag for Christmas???tarwheel
Dec 4, 2001 5:48 AM
Bicycling is probably your best bet. Although it gets a lot of criticism here, Bicycling is currently the only US magazine that covers general road biking. The other US mags (VeloNews and Cycle Pro) primarily cover the racing scene.

Much of the criticism against Bicycling is from guys who remember it back in the good old days, when it actually had in-depth articles about maintenance, products, and touring. Bicycling is actually quite useful to people new to the sport, but it's something you might outgrow before too long. Although many experienced cyclists find it leaves much to be desired, you can't complain about the cost, which is very reasonable -- and they often throw in something like a cycling logbook with new subscriptions.

Some of the British mags, like Cycling Plus, are very good. But they write about a lot of products you can't buy over here and the ads are mostly from British or European companies. The British mags are also expensive. You could get a whole year's subscription to Bicycling for the cost of two issues of Cycling Plus or other British mags.
re: Which mag for Christmas???MikeC
Dec 4, 2001 5:59 AM
Let's get this out of the way up front: Bicycling Magazine is generally not a good resource for serious riders, as it specializes in quick, simple articles with an MTV style to them.
That said, you can pick up a year's subscription for the cost of a paperback book, and eleven times a year you'll get something in your mailbox that at least gives you a cursory overview of what's happening and what's available. Don't regard it as the Bible, and it won't hurt you.
Chicks With Dicks. nmLazy Rider
Dec 4, 2001 9:05 AM
is that a magazine about married women????? nmdupe
Dec 4, 2001 9:32 AM
Procycling for me...Greg Taylor
Dec 4, 2001 9:54 AM
I really dig Procycling, which I think (in my opinion) has eclipsed CycleSport in terms of being an interesting read. No, you won't get any "tips" or other stuff like you get in Bicycling, or tons of reviews of gear. Procycling does a great job of presenting pro-level European racing in a highly entertaining fashion. CycleSport has Graham Watson's photos, and Phil Liggett is the editor, but they sometimes suffer from a complete lack of humour. The writers at Procycling tend to have more fun....
re: Which mag for Christmas???gregario
Dec 4, 2001 10:12 AM
Ok, if you're not interested in the Euro racing scene procycling and CycleSport are out, although they are the only bike magazines to which I subscribe and they're great. They only have one, maybe two bike reviews in an issue. I cannot recommend Bicycling because it's, let's face it, a piece of crap. It is awful, terrible, stupid, etc. It is however, cheap and it does have "reviews" if that's what you want to call them. Ugh. It is a magazine only for the beginner and one that you will quickly outgrow. If you're already riding a bike even halfway seriously and it sounds like you are then maybe it's not for you. But like I said it's cheap and does have a lot of "reviews." Although I would hate to see any more money going to that rag. I have seen a couple issues of Cycle+(I think that's the name) also from the UK and it wasn't too bad. Much better than Bicycling.
What about Velonews? Just saw a copy, and I thought that it wasbill
Dec 4, 2001 12:09 PM
pretty interesting. Seemed a good mix of stuff, and although lots in there about racing, I, who am not that much of a fan's fan, found it interesting. Some gear, too.
Received Cycling+ for a year. It was okay. For an American roadie, I thought that it was overweighted with articles about "audax" and touring, very often audax and touring in the U.K. very specifically, accompanied by pictures of British audax and touring devotees, who are generally middle-aged folks with beards. And that's just the women. Lots of articles about the best panniers and fenders. The health spots were maybe a bit unconventional as well, sometimes focussing on alternative and herbal stuff rather than biochemistry (I don't care whether the stuff comes from the ground or from the shelf, but there's got to be SOME science to it), and I saw in there repeated a few old wisdoms that I thought had been discredited, without any mention of controversy. Stuff on bike and bike-racing history, if you're into that sort of thing, which I wish I was but I'm really not.
You know, if you want to look a purty pictures, get information over and over until it finally dents your CRT thickened brain, and keep up with gear innovations as well as the racing scene in the lowest of common denominators, Bicycling isn't bad. I always learn a little something. It is undoubtedly the most over-fluffed of fluff, but it's dirt cheap, I usually giggle at Style Man, and it's not a bad entre to the sport. I confess that I still look forward to getting it. It's like eating a whole bag of potato chips, except it's a small bag, which works out okay.
I need to look into Procycling.
re: Which mag for Christmas???BrianU
Dec 4, 2001 1:51 PM
After 12 years of mountainbiking, I got seriously interested in roadbiking last year. I started looking for something similar to the magazines I read for mountainbiking. I tried about every roadbiking magazine I could get my hands on. I think tarwheel's answer says it all and is about what I found.
I heard all kinds of goods things about Cyclingplus and it is a good magazine. However, all the politics it covers and places to ride concerns that part of the world. If you ever plan to live in England, this would be the magazine to read.
Velonews pretty much covers the racing scene, as well as Procycling.
I think my favorite is Cyclesport. It covers a little bit of everthing. The race scene, pro riders, usually neat articles about riders and events from the past and there is a cycle tech section.
You might find Bicycling interesting. It is very simple and I think it is geared towards riders just getting into cycling. It is also dirt cheap.
If you are expecting to find something along the lines of Mountainbike Action, that almost every month has something interesting about the latest and greatest technoweenie stuff that any serious mountainbiker couldn't live without, well...I think you are going to be disappointed. The roadbike crowd generally doesn't think that way.
re: Which mag for Christmas???tr
Dec 4, 2001 7:31 PM
For what you are looking for i think cycling+ from england is what you want. I see them on the rack at Borders and am sure you can get a subscription. I think it is superior to bicycling and i would pay more for it.