RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Question for Flightdeck owners please(10 posts)

Question for Flightdeck owners pleasemuncher.
Dec 3, 2001 12:12 PM
I have just got my ebay bargain 6500, regrettably with no instructions.

I have fitted it, and all seems to be working fine (speed, gear indicator etc). However, I have installed the little 2 button panel on the right (105) lever, which has only one rubber "button press" on (as does the left). This seems to mean that the forward most button is pressed in permantly by the hood cover.

Do I need different hood covers for the 6500 (mebbe there in another later/earlier model with only one button)?

Does anyone have the key info for inputting wheel sizes (I have figured how to make the options flash up - it's set on 700 70 at the moment)?

Anything else I need to know?

Many thanks for your help as always.

M.
re: Question for Flightdeck owners pleaseLone Gunman
Dec 3, 2001 3:05 PM
Me thinks that you have the wrong version for your shifters. Early version has both buttons on the right and later version has the single button on each shifter. I think you need a different wiring harness for it to work correctly. Check shimano web site for details.
Tks, but....muncher.
Dec 3, 2001 3:27 PM
the site has no info as far as I can see.

I figure that as all the functions work OK (it shows the right gear front and back) then the sensors must be fine. The front button for which there is no matching accommodation on the hoods seems only to work the stopwatch function? Works in some combos, but there seems to be a mode in which it jams, and you have to lift the hood cover to get at the other button to reset it.

Does anyone out there have a version with two buttons on the one hood?
I do.jtolleson
Dec 3, 2001 3:39 PM
And as I sit here, I'm trying to remember the functions. It is funny, once things become automatic I can't picture how they work.

The one thing I do know is that to reset (for example, trip odometer) you need to press both buttons at once. So, the front button isn't technically just the stop watch.

Yep, you've got the older version (mine is set up with 1998 Ultegra and the top buttons are on the right brake hood).
Tksmuncher.
Dec 3, 2001 3:46 PM
So it's off down to the LBS I go - either for new hood covers or new sensor kit.

Do you have any probs with unwanted button press on your model (seems to be a regular complaint on the review board)?
Yes but it got better.jtolleson
Dec 4, 2001 8:04 AM
YES! When I first got the Flite Deck I'd accidentally turn it off, especially climbing out of the saddle. In the middle of a century, for example, that can be almost crazy making!

But I someone must have subconsciously adjusted, because I haven't made that mistake in a couple of years. So, I'm happy with the Flite Deck (though at first I was very frustrated).
jt's righttarwheel
Dec 3, 2001 9:07 PM
I think you've got the harness that goes with the version with two buttons on the right hood. That's what I've got. The only problem with this version of FD is that it's EZ to accidently hit the front button when riding on your hoods, thus turning it off. I did that fairly frequently when I first got the FD but gradually got used to it and haven't accidently turned it off in a long time.

Munch, the directions for setting up the FD can get quite involved and I wouldn't even attempt to explain them here. However, if you can't figure it out (and I sure couldn't) send me an e-mail (tom.mather@ncmail.net) and I will copy the pages from my manual and fax them to you. Of course, I'll need a fax number too.
Two easy answers.nee Spoke Wrench
Dec 4, 2001 4:27 PM
Shimano will fax you the appropriate operating manual for the asking. The English language version is about 8 pages.

You only need to replace your brake hoods to get your computer functioning properly. QBP has the appropriate hoods in their catalogue so I assume any LBS can order them for you. Expect to pay about $12.00 per pair which is significantly less than a new sensor kit.
You are better off in the USA...muncher.
Dec 5, 2001 1:41 AM
Thanks for the ideas - but no dice on either in the UK - the hoods are "discontiued" and can't be got (must really please those folks who shelled out Lord knows how much for their levers/Fdeck not long ago).

Sensor kit not too bad - about $20, and tarwheel very kindly sending my relevent pages from manual.

Thanks to all of you who responded.
hey when you're putting it onMJ
Dec 5, 2001 2:22 AM
watch out for those bladed spokes!!!