RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


chorus vs. record (worth the $$$$$)(15 posts)

chorus vs. record (worth the $$$$$)slow-ron
Dec 3, 2001 12:03 PM
opinions desired on whether it's worth it to spend an extra $350 for a record group. currently riding Daytona and I don't race.
the eye of the beholderDMoore
Dec 3, 2001 12:14 PM
Is it worth the $$? Only you can answer that.

Functionally, there is no difference. Chorus works just as well as Record.

Weight? The Record group is a bit lighter, due to use of Ti and carbon in places where Chorus uses steel of Al. I'm not sure of the total weight difference, but I doubt it's any more than a few ounces.

Looks? Aha. Now we're talking. The Record crankset has the "hidden" arm, plus the carbon look of the ergo levers, seat post and rear derailleur. To some those changes look great, others don't like them. Some people think the carbon parts may be less durable, though I think the jury's still out on that question.

Or you could split the difference - get Chorus, and just upgrade the parts that appeal to you cosmetically. The crankset's a $75 or so upgrade, for example.

Then again, some Campy fanatics just insist on Record, period. (Like me. Full Record on 5 bikes.) But if you were one of those people you probably wouldn't be asking the question!
Agreed. It comes down to what you want out of life. Whatbill
Dec 3, 2001 1:03 PM
you see is pretty much what you get. Finish, a teeny bit of weight, a gorgeous crank, some trick carbon fiber here and there, and cachet.
Why are you changing? Daytona, I've always heard, is great bang for the buck. If you just gotta have it, you may have answered your own question, because if you gotta have it just because you gotta have it, you won't have scratched that itch unless you go all the way to Record.
I for one, figured that if I was in for a penny, I was in for a pound. I wasn't about to break the bank for SECOND best (with apologies to Shimano people -- please acknowledge the slightly ironic, slight distance there; I've never ridden with DA, and I mean no disrespect. You love your DA, and your DA loves you, I'm sure of it).
Well said (nm)MikeC
Dec 3, 2001 1:59 PM
Would I buy Record if.......McAndrus
Dec 3, 2001 1:59 PM
money were no object? Absolutely. Record is beautiful to behold. Do I ride it? No, my gear is a mix of mostly Daytona with Chorus levers.

Why Chorus levers? For performance. I can tell the difference in shifting response between Daytona and Chorus but I suspect a lot of people can't. Sometimes when you're in a pack doing 32 mph you need that sucker to shift *now*.

But, yes, if I had the money, I'd have Record. It's just soooo purty!
re: chorus vs. record (worth the $$$$$)Shad
Dec 3, 2001 2:47 PM
I've got full record myself, but the one thing I really like (and think are worth the $'s) are the carbon brake levers/shifters. They just feel so smooth against the skin. The rest is about looks and slightly lighter weight, as previously mentioned.

The real question only you can answer is "is it worth $350 to me to say "I have the top of the line?"
re: chorus vs. record (worth the $$$$$)koala
Dec 3, 2001 3:13 PM
If I am made of money I buy record. I am not so this winter my new frame gets adorned with chorus. That simple.
I build my bikes W/Record shifters+crank. Chorus 4 the rest. NMHigh Gear
Dec 3, 2001 4:27 PM
Dura-acecoonass
Dec 3, 2001 4:46 PM
I have Record 10 on one bike and Dura-ace on another...I prefer the shifting to the DA group, especially shifting the front gears...the DA shifts POSITIVE everytime, the R10 'has it's moments'..If I were to do it again, I'd have DA on both bikes and not be intimidated to get Campy..
IMHO, you can't beat DA.
chorus w/ record crank & hubs > sexy/smart (my .02c) nmdupe
Dec 3, 2001 5:43 PM
chorus w/ record crank & hubs > sexy/smart (my .02c) nmCT1
Dec 3, 2001 8:50 PM
done this myself on a couple of bikes and it works for me.

JG
What I didbike_junkie
Dec 3, 2001 6:56 PM
I could have saved the money and gotten Chorus, it works as well, but it's NOT Record. Record is lighter, and the crank
and shifters look better than anything else out there. I knew I'd be riding this group for years and I wanted to go to sleep at night knowing I've got the best stuff hung on my bike, not second best. If you're like me, and you'll regret your chance to get the best, just get Record and don't look back.
It's all good.Leisure
Dec 4, 2001 5:16 AM
If you don't expect to crash (those lovely carbon levers) and $350 is no big deal, go for it. But I imagine you'll be happy either way. My dream bike would actually have more Chorus than Record, but that's just because I get neurotic about longevity, so I'd end up avoiding the carbon.
it's all better nmvicenza
Dec 4, 2001 7:25 AM
Go for it!!!cioccman
Dec 4, 2001 11:24 AM
Why not? When spending $3000-$5000 on a complete rig, well, another $300 is insignificant in my opinion. For me, well, I had to have both Record and DA. I like them both.