RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?(10 posts)

Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?CO man
Nov 30, 2001 11:25 AM
re: Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?CO man
Nov 30, 2001 11:26 AM
This on just for a frame not a complete bike.
re: Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?TJeanloz
Nov 30, 2001 11:27 AM
$1000 for the whole bike? New? I'd say that's a pretty good deal.
re: Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?TJeanloz
Nov 30, 2001 11:29 AM
I see that it's just a frame. Not a great deal. I wouldn't pay more than $1,000 for a frame and fork. Ebay routinely has one cheaper.

However, if anybody wants to spend $1000 on a 2001 frame and fork (new, 56cm) let me know.
re: Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?CO man
Nov 30, 2001 12:08 PM
Anyone know a dealer in Denver which I can buy 2002 or 20001 frame for $1000?
No it is not, in my opinionElefantino
Nov 30, 2001 11:29 AM
Most dealers will sell 2002 OCLV frames for around $1,100 (retail is $1,400, but no one plays retail). Kick in the extra hundred.

Also, not sure whether the 2000 5200 is OCLV 120 or 150. If it's 150 (grams per inch) then it's DEFINITELY not worth it.
No it is not, in my opinionTJeanloz
Nov 30, 2001 11:36 AM
It's 150, they went to 120 in 2001.
From a dealer?DCP
Nov 30, 2001 11:40 AM
That is, would you have a warranty?
No.jtolleson
Nov 30, 2001 12:16 PM
Not an extraordinarily good deal, especially if you aren't working with an LBS and getting a warranty. Not to mention the total yawn factor of the ubiquitous Trek 5200. For $1000 you can get a lot of nice options, and certainly more interesting (in my opinion, of course!) than the Trek. Including nice CF options.

$1000 is more than I played for my then-previous model year Litespeed Classic frame.

If you are shopping Trek prices in Denver, I'd call Turin and Wheatridge.
re: Is it good deal for $1000 on newTrek 5200 OCLV 54 cm 2000?jakerider
Nov 30, 2001 1:38 PM
co man, e-mail me