RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Selle Italia Flite Gel -vs- SLR...?(9 posts)

Selle Italia Flite Gel -vs- SLR...?DT
Nov 29, 2001 2:30 PM
I've been riding my flite gel for about 10,000 miles now and love it, but I recently went on a "lighter-is-better" kick and am wondering how the selle SLR compares in comfort. I only weigh about 155, and my longest rides are normally about 50 miles, but occaisionally I ride farther. Anyone have any comparison info between the two? Thanks!
Yawn....why waste your $. You'll never notice it (nm)Red
Nov 29, 2001 3:03 PM
re: Selle Italia Flite Gel -vs- SLR...?Thorman
Nov 29, 2001 3:46 PM
I use the SLR saddle and surprisingly it is very comfortable. I think there was a pretty lengthy thread on this seat a few weeks ago. You should be able to search for it. The reviews were all good.
For m,e the Flite is more confortable that the Spec. Body Geo...Bruno
Nov 29, 2001 3:56 PM
Just an off topic editorial.
SLR.Starliner
Nov 29, 2001 4:20 PM
I've got both and the SLR is a better long-haul saddle. It's got a bit of flex and give whereas the Flite Gel feels like a log after awhile, leading to numbness.

Wear shorts with a good pad, though, because the edges of the SLR are sharp and can chafe you.
SLR.tr
Nov 29, 2001 8:03 PM
A question, do the edges wear on your shorts? I read a review once that claimed it was narrow enough for this to be a problem if you have big thighs. If so, seems like Selle Italia should have the edge of the seat curl under and away from your leg.
SLR.Starliner
Nov 29, 2001 10:36 PM
You know, I do have this concern regarding abnormal wear on shorts. I have some old, non padded shorts that have a 2 mm pinhole at around the area where I got a blister after a 75 mile ride, but I'm not positive there was a connection. However, my newer padded shorts do show surface abrasion in the same spot, so I think there is something to it.

Ideally, SI should roll the edges a bit more to soften the saddle edges.
SLR.tr
Nov 30, 2001 7:32 PM
Thanks for the input starliner
re: Selle Italia Flite Gel -vs- SLR...?cioccman
Nov 30, 2001 8:24 AM
I've got both as well. After putting over 500mi. on the SLR, my body geometry now favors the Flite. They are almost identically priced most places now. I can get the SLR for around $70/$80. Good luck.