RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Total Cycling heads up(28 posts)

Total Cycling heads upMilesofSmiles
Nov 28, 2001 5:35 PM
After a few excellent dealings with Total Cycling I now have to express concern over their customer service.
I ordered a record 10 kit on Nov 19th as well as a few other items. The order arrived very timely on Nov. 26th.
However, I specified a 28 hole front hub and received a 32. I also specified a 35mm clamp on front mech, but they sent the braze on without the clamp adapter.
Not a big deal except they have not responded in anyway to my email about this. I waited 48 hours before making this post to see if they would offer to make the order right, but that's the end of my grace period.
I guess when they screw up an order to the U.S. they would rather not have to deal with the shipping expense of making it right and hope that by ignoring me I will go away. Guess what, they're right. I'll order the correct clamp and the front hub through either my LBS or Brandford and Total Cycling will never get another dime out of me.
Prices are good, but ya know what...my local LBS offers actual customer service not just when they are looking to remove a few dollars from my bank acount, but also when it matters most...when there is a problem.
It's more money and better service for me from now on.
Miles
TotalCycling / Maestro / Sdeals are SH@TOOF
Nov 28, 2001 5:58 PM
Hi Milesofsmiles

I was also deciding to buy a Record 10 from this guy. I sent numerous emails to this guy, I think his name is Mike, he never replied. So I contacted my friend in London, England, who told me that companies like Sdeals, Totalcycling and Maestro are all SH@T. I remember him telling me that some of his friends purchased bike components from these companies, they all sold him the incorrect sizes. When they phoned these companies they never pick up the phone, they never answer any of your emails. You're correct, they supply the wrong sizes on purpose. I also asked my friend to visit these companies (Totalcycling are based in Northern Ireland and maestro & SDEALS in south west england.) They are all SH@T. Don't buy from these companies. it has got nothing to do with shipping expense, they sell incorect sizes on purpose, because it clears their stock.

Ask a friend in England to sort out the matter for you.
.02 -- good experience w/SdealsMelMo
Nov 28, 2001 6:47 PM
DH ordered a Carradice saddlebag from Sdeals. They were out of stock, it took weeks, etc. BUT, Sdeals was very responsive to e-mail and even offered to send him a bigger, more expensive bag when the one he wanted was out of stock for awhile. It only took about 5 days to get here after they emailed DH to tell him it was back in stock. Components may be a different story, who knows?
ditto -- good experience w/Sdealscollinsc
Nov 28, 2001 8:45 PM
I have had nothing but good experience with Sdeals. I recently ordered a pair of Vittorias which got "lost" in the mail. I told Steve Howells about it and he was prompt and friendly in his response and sent out another pair immediately.
The first pair turned up about a month later due to the lazy bastards at my university mail dept. talked with steve many times, and he was always helpful and always responded to my problems.
Don't know about your friend butdjg
Nov 29, 2001 8:24 AM
If you haven't gotten what you paid for, and have failed to get an appropriate response from the merchant (and can document your reasonable effort), it's time to contact your credit card company. They might well be able to help you get your money back. Having a friend visit both Northern Ireland and southwest England to check out a bike shop (or mail order house) seems both unnecessary and a bit of an imposition.

I've placed one order with total cycling (pedals and a seatpost) and one with Maestro (Colnago frame and fork). In each case, I got just what I ordered with no undue delay. I had no cause to call total, but calls and e-mails to Maestro were answered by Mike Perry who, unless my tape measure is lying, sent me the size frame that I ordered.
re: Total Cycling heads upJohn K
Nov 28, 2001 6:16 PM
Thanks I was just about to order a gruppo and wheelset from totalcycling. It would have saved me around 200 but that's not enough to compensate for the hassle of the problems dealing with an overseas dealer. Especially one that has such bad customer service.
Not my experience at allCT1
Nov 28, 2001 7:08 PM
I've had numerous orders delivered by Mike and never had one lick of problems. Most every order was at my door in less than a week. Several orders were at my door (Ca) in three days! Absolutely amazing!

He has also phoned me when there was a question regarding an order. Totalcycling is a total class act.

YMMV
JohnG
Yeh SureOOF
Nov 28, 2001 7:25 PM
Mike of totalcycling, why don't you use your real name, instead of hiding behind the name of John G, ha ?
Mike, stop trying to flatter yourself by making out that your John G and that you have had numerous orders delivered to you. Your sh@t Mike or is that JohnG.

Several orders at your door in three days ?

Who are you kidding ?

Mike/JohnG/Totalcycling use the UK Postal system. This is like the USPS. They don't offer any delivery service which is 3 days. Shortest is 1-2 weeks.

Mike stop pretending your JohnG, totalcycling are sh@t

He phoned you ? You mean you phoned to yourself ?
JohnG or is that MIke ?

Mike/JohnG, give back MILES the guy his money back.
Gee, DOOFmickey-mac
Nov 28, 2001 9:01 PM
I've ridden with John G in southern California and had absolutely no idea that he was Mike of totalcyling.com. John G lives about 7-8 miles from my house in the L.A. area, so his commute to work in Britain must be a real pain in the butt.

P.S. Maybe you should get your facts straight before you pop off.
Oh gee... OOF figured me out .... LOLCT1
Nov 29, 2001 8:07 PM
Mike

Don't fret, jackasses like this don't even justify a response.

take care and stay warm ... brrrrr
JohnG
re: Total Cycling heads uptr
Nov 28, 2001 7:24 PM
I've ordered several times from them and have never had a problem.
Yeh Sure you've got a new name nowOOF
Nov 28, 2001 7:29 PM
Mike ? JohnG ? tr of totalcycling, why don't you use your real name, instead of hiding behind the name of John G and now tr ha ?
Mike, stop trying to flatter yourself by making out that your John G and now tr and that you have had numerous orders delivered to you. Your sh@t Mike or is that JohnG or is that tr ?

Mike/JohnG/tr, give back MILES the guy his money back.
Total cycling is the greatest thing since sliced bread.Kaiser Solcez
Nov 28, 2001 7:37 PM
I have ordered everything I own from them including my wife.
All orders have been on my doorstep in six and a half minutes.

Thanks Total Cycling!

Kaiser Solcez
Yeh sure is the Kaiser of the SolcezOOF.
Nov 28, 2001 7:43 PM
You Mike/tr/JohnG/Kaiser of Solcez are knowing you are too.

Stop Mike/tr/johnG/Kaiser of Solcez/total SH@T cycling being that which you are known by me not to be you. Now you are again making up the names. That is SH@T.

So Mike/tr/JohnG/Total SH@T/Kaiser of Solcez give back the money to the guy.

Mike/tr/johnG/Kaiser of Solcez/total SH@T cycling you know what you are doing. Total cycling is SH@T!

ad infinitum ad nauseum.
OOF, who are you?Mel Erickson
Nov 29, 2001 6:28 AM
I've been posting on this site for nearly two years and have NEVER seen your handle. You appear out of nowhere with a seemingly serious post but then proceed to do a hatchet job on long time posters to this board who provide legitimate information about their experiences. I think you are the one who owes an explanation and an apology, however I doubt we'll ever see one!
Total cycling is the greatest thing since sliced bread.kushogun
Nov 28, 2001 8:48 PM
excellent movie
Yeh Sure you've got a new name nowtr
Nov 28, 2001 7:45 PM
I've been on the board some time know. I know John G has been here a while too. Your full of it.
re: Total Cycling heads upMike P
Nov 29, 2001 4:21 AM
MilesofSmiles, While I might not order anything else from them if I was you, I would call them every day, e-mail them every day and frequentlly send a snail-mail letter, explaining the order is wrong and what you would like them to do to fix the problem.

Never stop doing this.

In each attempt to contact them, be sure to tell them of all other attemps you have made to let them know of the problem. The rest of each could just be the same message text as the last.

Get people you know, who have also ordered from there, to contact them asking if they are going to get the same treatment.

Mike
I've had decent experiences with both Sdeals and Totalcyclingbill
Nov 29, 2001 4:31 AM
Ksyrium wheelset from Totalcycling. Arrived promptly; no hassles at all.
A stem from Sdeals. They couldn't get the one I wanted right away (although no indication of out of stock on the website), but they got it eventually. Then, when I had a problem with it after several weeks of use, they took it back and sent me another, no hassles. Very cool about it.
thanksDuane Gran
Nov 29, 2001 4:33 AM
Thanks for sharing. I hope my identity won't be questioned as I have posted here for well over a year. I have ordered once from TotalCycling.com and everything came through just fine. Your statements make me a little nervous about ordering again. If others do order from them, could you post a followup? Potentially they will iron out their customer support issues.
I wouldn't think too much of it. These guys can sell on thesebill
Nov 29, 2001 7:08 AM
thin margins because they have thin operations. Sometimes somebody's sick or the computer's broken or they went to Granny's for a couple of days. It's the same deal with Branford Bikes.
From my experience and that of lots of others, they are honest guys and they'll straighten it out soon enough. They are, however, neither a superstore nor supermen. You shouldn't go buying something from overseas that you need to have at a critical time. The original poster is right -- for that you go local retail.
DUH! You buy overseas you take your chances (nm)Tallywhacker!
Nov 29, 2001 8:32 AM
re: Total Cycling heads upbikedodger
Nov 29, 2001 9:40 AM
I think that expecting a reply to an email within 48 hours is a lot to expect from a small mailorder company. Heck, I've played phone tag with a local LBS for longer than that! As Bill pointed out, there may have been a small problem (someone sick or out of town or email server down) that prevented them from getting back to you.

Send them another email and see if they respond to it.

Mike
re: Total Cycling heads upEric
Nov 29, 2001 1:20 PM
I tend to agree. I placed an order recently with Total Cycling and received the parts very quickly (shipped via DHL). However, the adapter plates for the shoes I ordered were not included even though they were on the invoice. I attempted to contact Total Cycling several times via e-mail with no response. It wasn't until I sent an e-mail with the word URGENT in the subject that I received any reply. The adapters were promised to be sent via Fed Ex yesterday so we'll see if they show up....

The prices are great, but I was also charged brokerage by DHL and that fee plus the Canadian GST tax pretty much reduced my savings to close to nil. I do not think I will be ordering from them again. I agree with the original poster, I'll pay more and get it from a LBS or get it from other mailorder companies with better operations if neccessary.

I have my suspicions that the operation is a one or two man show, and perhaps they have gotten in a little deep in terms of the volume they are moving.
positive experiencesfiltersweep
Nov 29, 2001 5:07 PM
... and it doesn't hurt to use the PHONE if you have a problem. I've made numerous overseas purchases and never had a problem, but I have had to call a few times to straighten things out.
Perhaps they have taken a short vacation . . .DCW
Nov 29, 2001 5:21 PM
I have ordered quite a few things from Total Cycling and Sdeals with great success. When TC was awaiting a new, improved shipping containers, Mike called me a home (in Georgia)on a Sunday morning to ask whether I wanted to have immediate shipment of Ksyriums or wait for the inew containers. I decided to wait, which delayed my wheels by 4 days, to a total of almost 10 from order to delivery. Still not bad.

If I am in the middle of a deal with Sdeals, I notice that they occasionally tell me they will be taking a few days off, which can interrupt business communications. TC is only two or three guys operating full tilt. If one or more are off for a couple of days, things must get piled up and email go unanswered.

Keep at them. I am sure Mike'll make it right. He may be overworked, but he's not dishonest.
re: Total Cycling heads uptr
Nov 29, 2001 7:46 PM
Like i said above, i haven't had problems. I just got my third order today and everything was fine. I did the same as you, i bought a record ten speed groupo and everything was fine. I got non standard crank length and it came okay. I ordered last weekend, it was mailed the 27th and arrived at my door today. The first time i ordered from them i called and talked to someone and added to my order just fine. I think you were just unlucky on this one.
Update !MilesofSmiles
Nov 30, 2001 11:26 AM
After a 4 businesss day wait I did hear back from Mike at TC without having to email again:

re the 32H front hub and front derailleur. I can give a full credit for the derailleur, plus return postage and exhange the front hub. Sorry
about the delay in getting back.
We do not have 34.8 clamp on fronts.
Regards, mike
Total Cycling

There ya go. I felt 2 full days was adequate of a wait before posting negative feedback, but I guess not.
It's frustrating when an order from over seas arrives with errors, but the important thing is a willingnes to fix the problem.
In the future I'll do business with them again without hesitation, but think I would rather call my order in to make sure the details aren't overlooked. When you order a group you are supposed to specify things like hub hole count and derailluer clamp size etc..in the "special instructions" section. This area may be the one flaw in their system. The items I specified in the pull down menu, crank length and BB thread type, were as ordered

Anyway, I'm satisfied so thanks to Mike at TC.