RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Sometimes you just gotta ask.....(16 posts)

Sometimes you just gotta ask.....dupe
Nov 27, 2001 7:09 AM
im prepared for much ridicule and laughter but for months ive been wondering

WHAT IS HAIKU?

is it a percieved notion? a feeling? a noun? a verb?
a brand of doggy biscuits? a status? an elite position of the kama-sutra? what? what? what?

whilst it may be true that he who laughs last doesn't get the joke i also feel that unless i ask ill never know.

;-)
re: Sometimes you just gotta ask.....morey
Nov 27, 2001 7:18 AM
I also need to ask, what is "IMHO"?
IMHO=in my humble opinion...(nm)TB Hallaran
Nov 27, 2001 9:02 AM
Poemvanzutas
Nov 27, 2001 7:28 AM
hai·ku [h k ] (plural hai·ku) noun
short Japanese poem: a form of Japanese poetry with 17 syllables in three unrhymed lines of five, seven, and five syllables, often describing nature or a season. Also called hokku

[Late 19th century. From Japanese, shortening of haikai no ku , literally "not serious verse."]

IMHO In My Humble Opinion.
Poemmorey
Nov 27, 2001 7:42 AM
IMHO - Thanks
IMHOCliff Oates
Nov 27, 2001 8:19 AM
I usually find it safer to think the H means honest and not humble. Many times when IMHO is used, the person using it is anything but humble.
dont you have a dictionary by the way? (nm)TB Hallaran
Nov 27, 2001 9:02 AM
re: Sometimes you just gotta ask.....Jofa
Nov 27, 2001 7:28 AM
It's a traditional Japanese verse structure, which has three lines of 5, 7, and 5 syllables respectively. I'm not sure how westernised this is, as I didn't think Japanese dialects worked along simple line/syllable principles, maybe someone from the haiku shop can expand or explain here. It is in any case a popular poetic form in western societies, in that it appeals to our love of terse maxims.

Jofa
no such thing as a dumb question...........nm
Nov 27, 2001 7:43 AM
or is there?
What does Mr Garrison say..Dutchy
Nov 27, 2001 2:48 PM
There are no stupid questions just stupid people :-)
I just love that line.
CHEERS.
what does nm mean? (nm)sorghum
Nov 27, 2001 3:47 PM
AFAIK WYSIWYG. BTW DIY RTFM. BFN LOL ;-) (nm)js5280
Nov 27, 2001 4:12 PM
I knew them so far, but I need this one translated :-) nmmetonymy3
Nov 27, 2001 4:24 PM
ask this.metonymy3
Nov 27, 2001 4:26 PM
I know what a Haiku is, but what I want to know is what does it have to do with anything in bike context? I know it's the name of the shop of one of the posters on the forum, but why? Why do you name your shop after Japanese poetry? Does it have another meaning?
BIKING=ZEN=HAIKUjakart
Nov 27, 2001 6:41 PM
That's the relationship I see.
He doesn't have a shop.vanzutas
Nov 28, 2001 6:59 AM
He just has a bunch of bikes that he can't afford.

Adam