RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Indoor Trainers(8 posts)

Indoor Trainerschindogu
Nov 26, 2001 7:29 PM
Living in New England sucks for cycling in the winter.

So, I figured I would get an indoor trainer and would like advice on Rollers or Stationary?

I like the idea of the rollers and I'm not afraid to fall a few times to get the hang of it but I've heard many complaints about cheap designs and cost.

Would I really be missing out on anything with a stationary rig? Which brand/models come recommended?

Thanks
re: Indoor Trainersdiaper gravy
Nov 26, 2001 7:45 PM
get rollers. Perfomancebike.com has some good prices and a model with a resistance unit.
New England suck ? How about yesterday?
re: Indoor Trainerschindogu
Nov 27, 2001 6:40 AM
Thanks for the advice. New England does suck in the winter. Remember last year?
re: Indoor Trainersdiaper gravy
Nov 27, 2001 7:35 AM
I remember, and thats why i have a new snowblower instead of a new bike.
re: Indoor Trainersbikerduder
Nov 26, 2001 8:53 PM
If you don't like the free feeling of rollers after trying them, you can purchase a front stabilizer for rollers from performance.
re: Indoor TrainersCincy1
Nov 27, 2001 4:20 AM
Everyone has an opinion on the merits of rollers and stationary trainers. I use a fluid trainer during the winter to work on leg strength. You can't beat them for interval training. The best one on the market for ruggedness, good design and customer service is the Kurt Kinetic fluid. The roller is magnetically coupled to the impeller in the fluid so there will never be any leakage. The inertia wheel gives you a very realistic road feel and resistance during acceleration. You'll pay $300 for it, but it will last for years. Good luck.
re: Indoor TrainersLone Gunman
Nov 27, 2001 8:23 AM
Labicicletta.com has rollers for $99 which should serve the purpose. Maintain fitness in the winter and build on the base other wise you can come out flying in the spring and flounder in the summer.
Added benefits of rollers . . .mja
Nov 27, 2001 2:12 PM
Great for improving balance, and ability to ride a straight line. And rollers help toward developing a good "spin", as opposed to "mashing" of the pedals.

If your willing to spend big bucks, Al Kreitler's rollers (with wind resistance unit) is the pinnacle of roller systems.

Hint: Find doorway wide enough to ride in -- reach out to support yourself rather than fall.