RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Selle Italia SLR(16 posts)

Selle Italia SLRJuniorRacerFL
Nov 25, 2001 3:52 PM
Hey i'm looking into getting a new saddle and was wondering what you guys thought of the Selle Italia SLR? Of course its light and looks cool but how is the comfort level on this thing? Right now i have a Selle San Marco New Millenium piece of garbage that is pretty uncomfortable. The SLR doesnt look like it has too much padding but looks like something that could suit a smaller person. Any thoughts would be great.

-Chris
good comfortable saddle - I recommend it. [nm]davidl
Nov 25, 2001 3:56 PM
way sucky and crappy construction to boot......CT1
Nov 25, 2001 4:11 PM
I use SI saddles but this POS is just that, a POS. The "leatherette" covering is a joke and the damned thing rides right up into the private parts because of the narrow rounded design. I still can't believe that SI makes this crap.

IMHO, if you want a light saddle, look elsewhere.

YMMV
JohnG
huh?Allen az
Nov 25, 2001 4:26 PM
I don't get how people can argue over how a saddle feels. We all have different bodies/preferences.

-az
do you understand what "IMHO" means???CT1
Nov 25, 2001 5:26 PM
Ghesssh..... this whole f'ing board is full of NOTHING more than opinions.

I said this saddle sucked and I gave my 'reasons' why I "believe" this is so. If you don't like what I wrote then post you own OPINIONS.

JohnG
do you understand what "IMHO" means???jtolleson
Nov 25, 2001 8:37 PM
Sorry dude. Gotta weigh in with your detractors on this one. You came out of the gate saying it's a POS and you couldn't believe a good company like SI made it. Didn't come across as "gee, the geometry doesn't work for me."

You came outta the gate with both guns blazing; don't be surprised when someone responds in kind. Take a chill pill and tone it down a notch; you'd be surprised what we can all accomplish.
Bite me you weasel (nm)CTIs Angry Cousin
Nov 26, 2001 1:26 PM
I ain't no weasel, Mr. Crabby!jtolleson
Nov 26, 2001 6:18 PM
Just a roadie chick tired of the flame driven jerks dominating this board.

My OPINION, o'course.
Thank-you for an honest opinion.Dog Breath
Nov 26, 2001 4:53 PM
It is refreshing to see someone say what they think without having to edit because they might hurt some college kids feelings.

The only thing I don't like is this IMHO stuff. Of course it is your opinion and everyone should respect that.
Thank-you for an honest opinion.CT1
Nov 26, 2001 10:16 PM
Thanks

It never ceases to amaze me how defensive some people can be about this bike crap. Also, the "IHMO" is strictly to remind the "challanged" types to not take this so seriously. It obviously doesn't always work. sigh

ride on
JohnG
re: Selle Italia SLRtr
Nov 25, 2001 7:36 PM
Get a standard selle italia flite or a flite with Gel. I think the flite is a good trade off on comfort, weight, style, and price. My humble opinion.
I love themDog
Nov 25, 2001 7:56 PM
I have them on two bikes. I've but over 8,000 miles on one, and about 1,000 on the other. I use them for double centuries, training, and on 2 bikes used in a 508 mile race last month. I had no crotch or saddle irritation at all. On one bike, though, for the 508, I did use a thin neoprene cover. I like them because they are thin, flex a little in the middle for comfort, and fit me well. The both look brand new. I find them to be much more comfy than any other saddle I've tried, and I've been through a number of them.

Doug
Thanks guysJuniorRacerFL
Nov 26, 2001 2:41 AM
I think i might just have to get one.

-Chris
re: Selle Italia SLRcioccman
Nov 26, 2001 8:42 AM
I really like the SLR, and recommend it. The Flite fits me a hair better though. I am starting to wish the SLR had more of a dip in the middle. Yes, it is a little flexible there, but not enough for me. We'll see how it is with a few hundred more miles.
Performance was running a good deal on them, $60 but. . .js5280
Nov 26, 2001 3:47 PM
it looks like the sale may be over. Tempting at that price provided your butt can handle such a minimal seat.
bikesmart.com ~65 bucks (nm)Woof the dog
Nov 26, 2001 8:54 PM
nm