RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wound-Up On The Ground(14 posts)

Wound-Up On The GroundAINTNOSUCKA
Nov 24, 2001 4:00 PM
My Wound-Up steerer separated from the crown. The guys in my local bike shops say they've seen it before. Anybody else have a horror story?
re: Wound-Up On The GroundYouareasucka
Nov 24, 2001 5:19 PM
See,Wound-Up forks really do suck! Wound-Up forks and Deda Newton stems are the first nominees to the road bike part Hall of Shame!
re: Wound-Up On The GroundAINTNOSUCKA
Nov 24, 2001 5:47 PM
Ha! Far be it for me to dis' a product, but I took it to four pro-quality bike shops around the Bay Area . All of them said they'd seen the failure before and wished me luck getting Wound-Up to cooperate.
add Easton Carbon Bars to your list also...Capt.Colnago
Nov 24, 2001 5:51 PM
seen four broken sets so far... never seen the MTN bar break, tho...
I think...TJeanloz
Nov 25, 2001 8:13 AM
I think that in the case of Easton, expectations are too high for their road bar. Because the Monkey-Lite mountain bar is unbreakable, people expect the same from the road bar. I too have seen a few break, but in every case the bars have hit the pavement at 35mph, I don't know of any JRA cases. The failure rate is higher than some heavier aluminum bars, but no worse than for Prima199s or other super-light bars.
re: Wound-Up On The Groundgrandpa_m
Nov 24, 2001 7:39 PM
So whats wrong with Deda Newton stems?
Want a reynolds on my seven...n.m.koala
Nov 24, 2001 5:30 PM
questionsLuis
Nov 24, 2001 5:39 PM
Was it a steel or carbon steerer? Did something happen suddenly (as suggested by your heading) or is this something you can check for?
questionsAINTNOSUCKA
Nov 24, 2001 6:28 PM
Having hung around bike shops for 10+ years, I'd thought I'd seen it all...but stories like this really do happen.... "I was just riding along" at about 10-12 MPH when I got on the brakes for a traffic light. Without warning the fork separated from the bike. All of the shops I took it to agree that the steerer became debonded from the crown - a couple said they'd seen the exact same problem on other bikes. Exacerbating the problem was the uncontrollable amount of braking force created as the fork began sweeping under the bike; apparently as the distance grew between the brake lever and the brake cantilever an exponential amount of force was applied to the rim.

The real lesson I'm learning from this is that it's difficult to glue steel to aluminum and predict how long it will survive the repetitive stress that braking puts on that pressure joint.

On the upside, I reckon that road forks won't suffer the same catastrophic failure as a 'cross fork because the brake anchor bolt acts as a pin through the steerer.

The ironic thing about all of this is that the Wound-Up steerer/crown design is hauntingly familiar to a design that was subject to a recall about 20 years ago.

I'm keen to know from others who've used the fork for more than a 1-1/2 year. Have they had simular experiences, or problems with the fork coming loose?
re: Wound-Up On The Groundcaptain
Nov 24, 2001 8:27 PM
Good Luck dealing with the corporate office!! Almost identical scenario happened to me. They wanted replacement costs and didn't want to hear about medical bills or their faulty products...
re: Wound-Up On The Groundbikingforever
Nov 26, 2001 10:22 PM
Let me politely say that all of your messages are full of very ripe horse manure. Watcha up to? Trying to give them some bad press so as to get some sort of payoff to keep you quiet? You little devil! I assume you are all one and the same person (Aintnosocka, Youareasucka, Capt.Cohago) posting these messages.

Why don't you list the names and phone numbers of the bike shops you mentioned so people can check out your story. Also list your contact person with each shop.

Before recently moving to Colorado to do some serious riding, I worked for a frame builder back East and have installed hundreds of Wound-Up forks on a variety of different frame models/sizes.

My experience with Wound-up forks has been excellent. I have never seen or for that matter heard of one failing "catastrophically". The situation and circumstances you describe are pretty far fetched.

Out of curiosity and old times sake, I contacted Wound-Up (Advanced Composites, Inc., Salt Lake City, 801-467-1204) to hear what they had to say. Having talked to a number of their people in the past, I believe them to be good joes who have helped me obtain a variety of specially made forks. They pretty much confirmed what I have said above. They also said that over the years of making these forks, they have never heard of anything happening like you have described.

The only way I can see this fork failing as you describe is if you "modified" the fork to make it "fit" on your frame. I can only assume you wanted to adjust the steerer tube length a tad by backing out the threaded steerer tube (after breaking the thread locking adhesive seal) from the aluminum crown. The failure occurred from the much reduced steerer length actually threaded into the crown.

For others checking out this posting, check out their site: advancedcomposites.com. They also make some other cool stuff like seat posts, softball bats, and whitewater rafting oars; all made out of graphite. Check it out. :)
re: Wound-Up On The Groundcaptain
Nov 27, 2001 9:49 PM
As a whole and from being in the industry for 14 years I generally judge a company by how well they deal with problems and put out fires. i.e. de-lamination or coming unglued. That to me is a faulty product...... I don't care how many experts it takes or bike shops it takes to make that determination; user error or from riding habits or a freak manufactures defect even McDonalds will replace a burger if it isn't RIGHT. You make the call what would you do if your product fell apart? One or ten incidents doesn't make a bad company or product. A company that doesn't stand behind their product can get (no pun intended) BENT...... let the lawyers sort it out..
re: Wound-Up On The GroundKrill
Nov 27, 2001 11:08 PM
I can't tell if you are saying that WU is handling this wrong or right. If you think a manufacturer should replace a product, no questions asked, then you may have been in the industry, but you haven't been in the business. The customer is not always right and sometimes they're liars and deceitful. How many times have you read posts here where someone was trying to figure a way to pull something over on a company? Companies in the bike industry tend to be small, many are just one person affairs or just a couple of employees, they don't have the cash flow to spare to blindly replace product without questioning how it came to be damaged. At least not if they want to stay in business.

Seems to me that Wound Up came out and said, hey, tell us what happened and lets figure out some way of reviewing it. Lots of things can cause a fork to fail and many of them aren't the fault of the design or manufacturer. I've seen guys brutalize steerer tubes installing a crown race. Besides, the way he describes the failure as the steerer coming unbonded from the crown ("Without warning the fork separated from the bike. All of the shops I took it to agree that the steerer became debonded from the crown") doesn't make sense. The steerer tube is threaded into the crown. You'd have to rip the threads out to seperate the steerer from the crown. In other words, it won't simply fall out.
I agreeKrill
Nov 27, 2001 10:27 PM
Maybe his fork really did break, but something is fishy here. The post reminds me of when the different bike mail order houses would rip on each other by writing fictitious complaints about poor customer service, etc.