RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Viner Frames(8 posts)

Viner FramesLone Gunman
Nov 21, 2001 10:46 AM
Anyone have any feedback on Viner frames? I see that they are Carbon, Alu, or steel. Have never seen one up close or have any idea who might carry them or the finish work on the frames, etc.
re: Viner Framescioccman
Nov 21, 2001 10:54 AM
GVH is the place for Viner in my opinion. Good looking frame. I wouldn't have any resistance to one!
re: Viner FramesLone Gunman
Nov 21, 2001 11:00 AM
I asked too quickly and found them at GVH, price appeared to be fairly reasonable as well.
re: Viner Framesgrandpa_m
Nov 21, 2001 11:17 AM
I was very interested in the Viner Pro Team frame made with
Columbus Nemo. I asked the same question. I got one good
response saying this particular frame might not be recommended for a rider over 175lbs. He said he had heard
they made a good quality frame, but I eventually bought a
Lemond Maillot Jaune 853 Reynolds frameset which I built
up with quality componets and I am very happy with.
If you do buy a Viner do a post after you build and ride it,
I'd be interested in your opinion of it. Good luck.
Team Fakta, second division pro team uses themJS
Nov 21, 2001 1:07 PM
Here is Scott Sutherlands race bike, pretty sweet. I actually considered purchasing one from GVH.
re: Viner FramesLone Gunman
Nov 21, 2001 3:12 PM
It seems as though a group of frames sans big names are out there that seem fairly rare and reportedly of high quality, (Viner, Moser, Pergoretti, Vitus) For me I guess it is the rarity aspect that has me looking.
rare?, amaybe in the US, not in other places nmclimbo
Nov 21, 2001 3:30 PM
nm
VinerATLBiker
Nov 24, 2001 11:23 AM
Ok, let me end this once and for all. I purchased the Viner Pro Team T13 Steel frame. It is a Deda EOM 16.5, their highest quality steel in a matte red frame from GVH bikes. At 1200 grams, (2.6lbs.) it is very light for a steel frame. Beautiful actually with the carbon rear stays. Coming from an all aluminum (fork included) time trial bike, I new that any new bike would be more comfortable than what I was previously riding on. I test rode a steel bike (Serotta) from my LBS and realized that steel was the way to go after test riding all other materials. After saving up some more money, I finally put Campy 10 on it with Shamal tubular wheels. (I saved up enough money to keep one more month of internet service so that I could write this review!) The one thing that I noticed about the test ridden steel bike was a little flex from the bottom bracket on hard standing efforts, but the ride was so smooth that I could'nt resist getting steel. Once the bike was put together and ridden for 30 miles the first day, I noticed something. The down tube is almost shaped like a teardrop formation (like a Pinarello Paris) for added stiffness, but the dampening effects were still there! I am a out of the saddle climber (5'8" 147lb.) and didn't want to lose that stiffness but wanted a comfortable distance ride as well. I got it all. And to boot, everybody loves the bike at all the local rides. I have no complaints whatsoever. Also, I am the only one with one around. That is always a plus! 18lbs. and some change with a Record/Daytona mix. Not bad for a steel frame. For many steel lovers out there, do not expect the same feel as a "round tube" steel frame however. It is a bit more stiff than those. Less material means shaping it differently which changes its dampening characteristics. The way I look at it, I have the best of everything now.