RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How many bikes do you have?(80 posts)

How many bikes do you have?Elefantino
Nov 20, 2001 8:31 AM
I'm thinking of buying my third. My wife calls me obsessed. But I have my reasons. Since my accident, and since I haven't been able to ride outside and won't be able to for another 49 days, I have had my rain bike hooked up to my trainer, and I would like to keep it there. So that means another rain bike. Or another "change of pace" bike if you will.

I love my OCLV, but, um, I sort of want variety.

Thoughts?
re: How many bikes do you have?ColnagoFE
Nov 20, 2001 8:40 AM
4 right now...a beater MTB good for bad weather riding/commuting (Panasonic), a good FS MTB (Fisher Sugar 2), a second road bike/touring bike/kid trailer bike (Bianchi Eros), and mt Colnago MXL which is my main road bike. I also use the Bianchi in the winter for the trainer. Wanted to sell the Bianchi, but couldnt get enough money to make it worth not having it.
re: How many bikes do you have?bikerduder
Nov 20, 2001 8:46 AM
I've got 5, but I ride 3 of them regularly. I just completed upgrade on #1. #2 is my beater, set up the same, but used for nasty weather rides or when #1 is in the shop. # 3 is a Travel bike - Pocket Rocket. #4 is my MTB, which I don't ride as much since my riding buddy moved. #5 is used solely on the trainer in winter. By the way, #1 is OCLV which I also love, hence the upgrade.
4, 2steel, 2 aluminum and I neeeed them all (nm)Sharky
Nov 20, 2001 8:47 AM
re: How many bikes do you have?cioccman
Nov 20, 2001 8:48 AM
Currently 2, just got rid of my 3rd. I'll probably get another in the upcoming months. Thinking seriously about my first carbon.
Atlantis, C-Dale MB, Trek s/s, old Bstone beater, old Allezcory
Nov 20, 2001 8:56 AM
Only planned the first two, really--the Trek and the Allez both did time as my first-string road bikes. Nearly all my "serious" riding is on the Atlantis. The Allez hardly gets any use, and I converted the Trek to singlespeed just to see if I liked it (yeah!). The Bstone is an MB-3 with fenders and road tires.
As somebody else mentioned, I could sell at least the Allez and the Bridgestone and hardly miss 'em, but they're not worth enough to fool with and I DO enjoy them.
At least 7TJeanloz
Nov 20, 2001 8:57 AM
Complete bikes?

1. Trek OCLV
2. Merlin XL
3. Litespeed Vortex
4. Teesdale custom Track bike
5. Specialized MTB
6. Pinarello CX
7. Identical Pinarello CX

Two more framesets, and probably enough parts to make them both function.

I have learned that you can only ride one at a time.
I've got 3pmf1
Nov 20, 2001 9:01 AM
All road bikes (Kestrel 200 Sci, Litespeed Ultimate, Colnago C-40). I had a fourth cross bike (Fuji Cross), but sold it since I wasn't crossing on it and it wasn't as nice on the road as the other 3.

You're not obsessed -- it could be worse. At this point, there is no biking gizmo that I want. I look at Colorado Cyclist or Excel and see nothing in there I want. Having been on both sides of Bike Desire, I think its even worse not having some dumb, over-priced gizmo to dream about.

And for the record, I'm not trying to brag. I could care less what anyone thinks of me.
Definitely worse,TJeanloz
Nov 20, 2001 9:13 AM
It is really hard to not have anything to drool on. Or you find yourself drooling on things that you can't even begin to justify- I want a C-40, yet I love all of my bikes, and I don't think a C-40 would be better. But I want a C-40. And LEW wheels. They would look really good on the bike path...
I've taken up collecting assault riflespmf1
Nov 20, 2001 10:55 AM
and eastern european pistols. That has gotten boring too, although I still get an inkling to buy a Dragunov now and again.
stop calling them thatkenyee
Nov 20, 2001 11:11 AM
You can't get a real one as that term is defined by the military (capable of burst fire w/ single trigger pull) as a civilian anyways unless you know someone in high places that will give you a true machine gun license.

It's just a goofball term invented by the media to demonize "evil looking" things. Just call it a Single Pull Single Shot (SPSS) rifle because that's what it is :-)

Sorry for the rant. One of my pet peeves about the media. Another one is their co-opting the term Ground Zero for everything. Ground Zero is for nuclear blasts *only*...
stop calling them thatpmf1
Nov 20, 2001 12:21 PM
TJ ... Get the C-40, it'll make you miserable.

SPSS? What kinda goofy term is that? What about semi-automatic?

And oh yes a civilian can get licensed, and buy fully automatic firearms. And yes thay are for sale legally. All it takes is money and a clean record. There are lots of guys out there with automatic assault rifles.
Oh GREAT....ANOTHER GUN THREAD!!!!!!!!! (NM)Returd
Nov 20, 2001 12:33 PM
Actually a "Media Lies" threadkenyee
Nov 20, 2001 2:20 PM
At least my side of it. Nope, I don't own any.
stop calling them thatkenyee
Nov 20, 2001 12:38 PM
Not sure where you live, but in Boston, the media has co-opted "semi-automatic" to mean machine gun. They mention the term, then show a picture of an Uzi firing full-auto. As a result, if you ask random people on the street, they'll think semi-auto means burst fire w/ a single trigger pull.

I know about the federal machine gun license, but everyone here seems to think it's trivial/cheap to get and all semi-autos are machine guns :-P
Retardedgrzy
Nov 20, 2001 3:40 PM
Any moron can illegally get a real live assault rifle or take one of your beloved SPSS's and do a quickie conversion. the stuff shows up in every major city in the USA. I know you only use them for dear hunting, but you shoulda' been in the military - we got to fire all sorts of cool stuff (M-16, M-60, 20 mm cannon on an attack jet), but most normal people get over it or else become cops.

Don't use the media as your standard for terminology - they're just interested in ratings and selling advertising - they'll throw buzz words out whenever they can. Have you ever met and had a converstion with a professional media person? Talk about retarded.
Here's an oxymoron: "journalistic integrity" :-) nmkenyee
Nov 20, 2001 9:00 PM
there is outside of the states, maybe you should.....dupe
Nov 20, 2001 11:47 PM
read a little wider. or maybe your sources here are not up to scratch but merely copiers and showman rather than journalists.

and for your info i agree with grzy and co.

to convert an ak47 to semi and i think fully auto is very easy common practice. i have seen their effects and wish no-one does. limiting guns dosn't stop hatred and misinformation.

guns are not my cup of tea but i know gun lovers are cautious, caring and very restrained. the last people you would have to care about being dangerous.
I do read other sourceskenyee
Nov 21, 2001 8:39 AM
And that's why I get so ticked when I think about the stuff the Media feeds us in Massachusetts. Another favorite peeve is that they always report stuff like "the gun went off", absolving any *person* of responsibility. As if any inanimate object can just magically do something w/o any action to cause it.

It's not just that. There are other things like the past year's worth of MS Outlook virii. All the news stations reported on it, but didn't mention that a majority of them only affected Outlook. They just said "an email virus". They didn't affect email systems like Lotus Domino.

Then there are the never ending reports about Anthrax but hardly a story about how hard it is to deliver effectively to people. I had to read about how it doesn't stay in the air easily, needs a lot inhaled, etc. from a web site.

And when you write to the TV stations and papers to correct them and even cite references so they can learn, they publish yet another story w/ the same mistakes a few weeks later. It's almost like they don't care about journalistic integrity and all they care about is doing Enquirer-style sensationlistic reporting.

Sorry for the way off topic rant...
its not easy being fed garbage - i hear ya (nm)dupe
Nov 21, 2001 9:31 AM
The Retard Strikes BackElefantino
Nov 21, 2001 10:02 AM
I am a professional media person. I have integrity. I am not retarded; my most recent neuropsych eval showed that despite my accident, my brain functions in the 100th percentile.

I also believe in gun control, am pro-choice, anti-death penalty — and pro school vouchers, just so you can't call me "the liberal media. "

I also ride an OCLV, which makes me a jingoist.

So there.

Who started this silly thread anyway?

Oh. I did.

Never mind!
LOL! nmkenyee
Nov 21, 2001 12:26 PM
The bare mimimum - 4.muncher
Nov 20, 2001 9:58 AM
Smart road/racing bike.
SS commuter/winter trainer.
CX bike.
MTB (just sold the FS one, so cutting riiiight back).

Need:-
Another FS MTB.
TT bike.
Tandem.
15-odd roadies (carbon, steel, Ti, mixed, pasta, dried goats' bones, maple etc etc).
re:3.5dzrider
Nov 20, 2001 9:58 AM
Trek - Reynolds 531 - commuter

Raleigh 600 - beater

Jeff Lyon - "good bike"

1/2 a Bilenky tandem
re: How many bikes do you have?Kermit
Nov 20, 2001 10:25 AM
My fiance and I own 7 bikes between us. Two of them are in stages of repair that prevent usage.
Many friends scoff at the idea of owning a bike for specific purposes but, it is very similar to having the right tool for the job. You don't use a scredriver to put a nail in a piece of wood and, I wouldn't take my grocery getter to rip down the fire road. I have spent too many years with the "whir" of knobbies on the road to ever give up the road bike. I feel very fortunate to be albe to have a hobby that keeps me in relativley good shape (ride to eat or eat to ride?) and...wow...sounds as if I am rationalizing.....
We own seven bikes. We are happy!! I will leave it at that!

Ride on!
sevengtx
Nov 20, 2001 10:29 AM
3 road, 1 mtb, 1 cross, 1 singlespeed, 1 3-speed
Only 9 hooks in the basement. Need more hooks?!?MB1
Nov 20, 2001 10:59 AM
Bikes are fun and not all that expensive compared to other hobbies. Perhaps you will need to get your wife an offsetting goodie when you get your new bike.

Our bikes in order of yearly mileage;
Santana Team Ti 700-ours
Rivendell All Rounder w/26" road wheels-hers
Bianchi Cromo-Lite CX w/2 wheel sets-mine
Gunnar Street Dog SS/Fixte CXer-mine
Merlin Ultralite-hers
GT Edge TI-mine
GT Team Zaskar LE-hers
Fuji Track-hers
Fuji Track-Mine
GT Zaskar LE-mine

On the wish list-Santana Triplet
How many pair of black shoes does your wife own?js5280
Nov 20, 2001 11:02 AM
Probably more than one I'd bet because she uses them for different occasions. Of course some wear out over time but you're just not ready to get rid of them quite yet. I think the same goes w/ bikes. The important thing is to spend your cash on the things you love because you can't take it with you when you die. If it's something that keeps you healthy and happy, all the better.

My stable includes:

1988 Nishiki Arial- My first real bike, a rigid MTB w/ Deore Thumbshifters and Biopace rings. It's my trainer bike now. No ideal how many miles I have on it, but it's carried me up Flagstaff Mountain (Boulder) at least dozens of times during college.

2000 Diamondback X2- My first suspension bike, long travel at that with 4-5" front and rear. Saved the fillings in my teeth from falling out w/ my rigid Arial and increased the number of trails I could ride. It loves to fly downhill. My X2 is 32 pounds, definately not a climber. Have over 2500 miles on it.

2001 Aiborne Zepplin- Faster and Farther. My goal was to do the Ride for the Roses in 2002 to celebrate my fifth year cancer free. Couldn't wait that long, have over 2000 miles on it this year and will be riding the Ride for the Roses Century in 2002.

2001 Santa Cruz Superlight- Just built and nearly ready for this weekend in Fruita and Moab. Wanted something for tackling 10,000 ft mountains, deserts, and slickrock. Should weigh in under 25 pounds and will give me the satisfaction knowing that I built this bike from the frame up.

Wanted- A fun, laid back cruiser for midnight fun rides and a tandem w/ a gorgeous stoker :-)
So you're saying I should have married Imelda Marcos? (nm)Elefantino
Nov 20, 2001 11:07 AM
fun, laid back cruiser...Js Haiku Shop
Nov 20, 2001 11:32 AM
www.madwagon.com

$99, free shipping. suh-weet.

www.kmart.com

no, really, i'm serious. get the huffy single speed cruiser with coaster brake for $100 and ride those TI weekend warriors off your wheel on the midnight fun ride. squeaky saddle required.
Is that a Madwagon? If so, how do you like it?js5280
Nov 20, 2001 1:19 PM
Been tempted by the Madwagon, price certainly is right. If it looks like it would hold up, I'd love to customize one. Maybe build up some funky laced wheels with colored hoops and spokes, custom paint, etc. I'll have see if I can check them out on my next trip to Salt Lake (parents live there), looks like they're based out of there from their website.
no, but that's quite interesting!!!Js Haiku Shop
Nov 20, 2001 1:35 PM
never put 2+2 together...i'll be in salt lake next week.

called them and requested their propaganda and two days later it was in my mailbox, along with a bunch of stickers. looks like they're a pretty small operation, and for $100, what kind of ride can you really expect?

the one in the pic is an old huffy, i rode it on a fun run and wasted a bunch of tri & ti geeks ;oD , then realized that the rear wheel is so out of round and true that i couldn't actually get it into the dropout straight. it had been rubbing against the brake bridge the whole time. d'oh!

now i'm thinking about madwagon, and might go for it this time next year--too many irons in the fire right now. BUT...now would be a good time--if the bike is only $100, and shipping is free, it sure beats the heck out of huffy from k-mart!!!

let me know if you get one.
re: How many bikes do you have?morey
Nov 20, 2001 11:03 AM
1984 CIOCC Mockba Steel - Sweet ride
2001 Cannondale r 2000 si
2001 Cannondale r 4000 si
Why the 2 'Dales? nmMB1
Nov 20, 2001 11:07 AM
Why the 2 'Dales? nmmorey
Nov 20, 2001 11:10 AM
I had a really bad fever that day! In fact, I was delirious! In truth, they have been really good bikes.
just one, but I am broke. :) nmraboboy
Nov 20, 2001 11:10 AM
TwoMoney D
Nov 20, 2001 11:12 AM
GT ZR2000 full ultegra, carbon fork/seatpost, Spinergy wheels

Trek 8900 SRAM 9.0/9.0sl, Judy Race

Love them both. Not bad for a poor college student.
Sevenkyroadie
Nov 20, 2001 11:30 AM
Three road bikes. The latest being a 2002 Trek 5900 with Ksyrium wheels. Best bike I have ever road. I like it better than my Vortex or my old C-40. Of course a cracked frame that the mfg will not fix (Colnago) kind of turns you against a bike/mfg.

Two mountain bikes. The one I ride the most is a Schwinn S10 Carbon.

Two beater bikes to ride with the kids.

I would really like to try one of the new compact frames.

I just moved into a new house with a 30'x30' garage with 10' ceilings. So I have to fill it up with bikes, don't I?
re: How many bikes do you have?Beaver
Nov 20, 2001 11:19 AM
As of today, 5. Just bought the SE2 on my lunch hour...my girlfriend is going to kill me, but we aren't married yet!

Redline Conquest
2001 Giant TCR 1
2002 Giant TCR 1
2002 Giant SE2
Curtlo Cyclocross

Hopefully, I will be down to 3 in a couple of weeks as I never ride the Conquest anymore and I really don't need 2 TCR 1's. Check the classifieds next week if you are interested in the Conquest(54) or 2001 TCR 1(Med).
6... all essentialLittle Pooter
Nov 20, 2001 11:31 AM
Giant OCR 1 new, old Miele (for sale now), Rocky Mountain Element T.O. tricked out with discs for XC racing 24lbs, Catamount MFS dually for hardcore play, Pinarello hardtail MTB (yes Pinarello MTB!), old ProFlex MTB currently serving as cottage run-about. Love 'em all!
7 hereDMoore
Nov 20, 2001 11:37 AM
6 road, 1 MTB.

1. Litespeed Ultimate. Racing bike, "weight weenie" special with sewups, carbon crank, etc.
2. Richard Sachs. Full Record 10, my keeper.
3. Brian Baylis. About to become my night bike with lights and fatter tires.
4. Bill Holland. Record 9, lives on mag trainer at my ski condo.
5. Ciocc Mockba '80. Columbus SL, full NR/SR, almost original from 1984.
6. Ciocc Thron, Campy 9 with parts ranging from Veloce to Record. My beater/mutt.
7. Santana Moda. MTB from 1990 - no suspension fork, fillet brazed Columbus MAX with Record OR components.

Always room for one more!
The garage isn't full yetlonefrontranger
Nov 20, 2001 11:43 AM
Mine:
2001 Colnago Dream Plus road bike with Record 10
2001 Colnago Dream Cross cyclocross bike with Daytona 10
2001 Morgul Bismark Aero AL TT bike with Chorus 10 (rain & commuting bike).
1997 Klein Attitude hardtail with XT/XTR 9-speed mix
1981 Trek lugged steel fixed gear with Campy NR track bits

His:
2000 Colnago Dream Plus road bike with a mix of Record 10 and Chorus
1999 Trek 9000 hardtail MTB with Hayes discs and XT 9-speed
1987 Cannondale crit frame, converted to single-speed with ancient Shimano 600.

Far, far too many sets of wheels. We're in process of getting rid of all the leftover Shimano road wheels. Goal is to get down to 3 sets of Mavic Cosmos (one for each Dream), 2 sets of Mavic Crossmax (one for each MTB), my Zipp 303 sewups (he's not allowed on these), and my extra-special Nuke Proof MTB wheels, which are 6 years old, smooth as butter and even lighter than the Crossmax set. The single speed and fixed gear both wear ancient 32-hole box rims and heavy 28mm Conti tires.

You can never be too rich or own too many wheels, right?
you needJack S
Nov 21, 2001 4:52 AM
a Colnago Dream Pista... that would be a kick a fixed.
You're right, I've thought about that, however...lonefrontranger
Nov 21, 2001 7:57 AM
that would leave me without a true "beater" bike to ride. Those Dream paint jobs are almost too pretty to ride on the ugly dirt roads out here, though I've done it (reluctantly). The Trek fixie is my one-and-only honest beater. The paint job on the Dream Cross is still pristine, might feel better about abusing it after I've wadded it up in a few 'cross races. I'm considering getting a flip-flop hub for the fixie, but that would mean getting rid of the gorgeous NR high-flange track hub it currently wears.

I took the Morgul out on some squirmy singletrack yesterday, sort of semi-intentionally (too stubborn to turn around). Not hard singletrack mind you, just narrow, twisty and somewhat muddy. The combo of leftover snow/ice/mud and the fact that the Morgul has 23mm slicks and handles like, well, like a TT bike - that was quite a challenge. And, since I ride Speedplay road pedals, my entire goal was not to clip out and fill them with mud, even if I had to fall over!
7Terry Brownell
Nov 20, 2001 11:54 AM
4 road 3 mtb

Road:
Colnago MxL -Chorus, Pinarello Opera -Record, Sampson Kalispell -Dura Ace, Calfee Tetra Pro -Ultegra. I ride them in alphabetical order. Why four? One of each material (minus aluminum)

Mtb:
Psycle Werks Wild Hare -XTR, MT Cycles San Andreas - XTR, Proflex 856 -XT. I hardly ride them at all but when I do it's almost always the Wild Hare.
4 1/2mr_spin
Nov 20, 2001 11:56 AM
Road: Litespeed Classic
MTB: Santa Cruz Superlight
Commuter: Specialized Hard Rock
Cruiser: KHS Fleetwood
My old MTB (in several pieces): Specialized M2 Stumpjumper
re: 18ish...Akirasho
Nov 20, 2001 12:14 PM
... cuz one is a bare Bianchi frame... one is a Rivendell still on order... one is a Runt theme bike... and one is an Airborne Spectre bought just for the parts (frame too small)...

Despite the number... most are "specialized" and have their applications... Granted, I could get by on far fewer, but since I don't have to... "It's good to be the King"

We abide.

Remain In Light.
It's not about the bike(s).CC
Nov 20, 2001 12:18 PM
See the light.

Anarchy.
Okay...How many legs do you have then? [nm]Ahimsa
Nov 20, 2001 12:35 PM
oneLOOK Look look
Nov 20, 2001 12:21 PM
That was funny!morrison
Nov 20, 2001 2:37 PM
F*(& you bozo, post your own bike not minedupe
Nov 20, 2001 2:46 PM
and be man enough to not just make up a new login name everytime you feel like being derisive and take a swipe.

doesn't take much balls to play big man and take the piss when on the web.

for the record i have actually sold the colnago sunday nite but having owned it for all of its 13 years im allowed to sulk. needed the $$$'s to pay rent and right now i have a lot of crap that's been building inside me but with nothing to vent on. so anytime youd like to talk turkey to my face come see me.

623 west 136th st apt 7 new york, ny 212-234-3052

2 things: ive forgotten more $hit than you will ever know
and (2) you are the semen your mother should have swallowed.

punk!
did the same thingDog
Nov 20, 2001 3:08 PM
I sold my prized Bianchi racing bike while in college around 1984 to pay for tuition. Sold it for $550 back then.

I bought it back last year. Who knows? Keep track of who has it, and you may get it back some day.

Dog

P.S. Remember "War Games", the movie? "The only way to win the game is not to play." Same applies to internet feuds.
true. if you dont touch $hit it doesn't smell as muchdupe
Nov 20, 2001 3:34 PM
cheers dog,

have ironed out the buyback price if fate has it. he lives here in the city. Paramount addict with a pining for his first italian.

still have 2 italians to ride and tinker with. 1 new and 1 old - so its not like im gonna die.

funny thing is after 13 years i had never bothered to take pictures of it up until it came time to sell. the things you do...

ciao, ben
did I miss something?dory
Nov 21, 2001 10:34 AM
If you sold the bike, it's not yours, is it? Such tone, shame.
6Dog
Nov 20, 2001 1:20 PM
Bianchi Pista
Bianchi Milano (the most fun)
Bianchi EV2 (outfitted as climbing bike)
Bianchi Rekord 748 (21 yrs old)
Colnago C40
KHS tandem

The Pista is my current favorite.

Doug
Seven, last countMel Erickson
Nov 20, 2001 1:20 PM
An old steel no name, a steel Panasonic tourer, a Cannondale bone shaker (circa 1984), an aluminum/carbon fiber beam Softride Solo (main road ride), a steel Miyata mountain bike set up for errands/beater use, a Cannondale SuperV MTB (recently retired), a Giant XTC NRS1 MTB (replaced the SuperV) and last but not least, a Santana Rio tandem. I'm in the process of building a SS with a flip flop hub out of either the old steel no name or the Panasonic. I ride three regularly and when I get the SS built it will be four. The Cannondale road bike is my wind trainer bike.
6, one in the oven, and a few miscellaneous framesJs Haiku Shop
Nov 20, 2001 1:31 PM
cruisers:
'?? western flyer grand trophy
'?? huffy SS cruiser w/coaster brake

mtb:
'99 specialized rockhopper, LX

road
'00 specialized allez a1 sport, 105
'00/'01 bianchi giro, 105 triple
'01 surly steamroller

in the oven
'00 merckx strada os, chorus (planned)

in pieces
late 60s raleigh sprite, lugged steel
late 60s (?) huffy sweepstake, "english roadster"

couple other nondescript 80s and 90s bikes, straight from the curb!
Six plus twozelig
Nov 20, 2001 2:09 PM
Gios-Torino- to be restored upon return to the States
Marinoni Custom
Davidson Challenger
Pinarello Gavia
Merckx Ex Ti
Litespeed Vortex

All but the Vortex are in Stateside storage.

Being built:

Custom Corrado Road- Deda SAT 14.5
Custom Chas Roberts single speed for the road- Columbus nivachrome

The wife has conceded the basement to the bikes and brewing equipment upon return to the US provide I pay for new washing and drying machines upstairs. No problem.
Let's see...Straightblock
Nov 20, 2001 2:23 PM
Bianchi Alloro
Diamondback Chro-mo winter/commuter/indoor trainer
Colin Laing track bike
Old Stumpjumper mountain bike, now a single speed
Cockpit end of a Santana tandem

Also in the family stable:
Older son's Trek BMX
Younger son's 16" BMX & a trailer bike
Missus' half of the tandem and a Trek MTB

I'm so glad that my wife fell in love with a house with a 3 car garage when we moved earlier this year. Now there's room for more!
5 and they're all FrenchDave Hickey
Nov 20, 2001 2:33 PM
1. LOOK KG281-Main ride
2. LOOK KG241-Main ride #2
3. LOOK KG286- currently frameset only
4. Vitus 979- Rain bike
5. 1970 Gitane Tour De France- winter restoration project
FourCSIguy
Nov 20, 2001 2:47 PM
Serotta CSI, Campy Record 10, Open pro sew ups
(the really fast one)

Seven Odonata, Campy Record 10, Nucleons
(the super comfortable one)

Serotta Legend Ti, Campy 10, Kysriums
(In the work stand being built up now so no opinion yet)

And then for something really different...

Schwinn Cruiser Deluxe - great for ridding to the pool and back! The neighborhood kids love it!
re: How many? 3 - Not Incl. VintageCarbonTi
Nov 20, 2001 3:06 PM
Colnago c-40 & Della Santa road bikes, Klein Mantra MTB.

I don't count the vintage bikes (mostly mid 70's to mid 80's Italian Steel - not a Confente among them) because they are not Riders. Take them out on nice days to ride and not really to work out on - NR, SR and C-Record parts, freewheels and other sundries make the running cost of these bikes similar to vintage race cars.
Let's see . .12x23
Nov 20, 2001 3:17 PM
one 5900, two 5500's, one Litespeed Classic frameset for sale, one Colnago Masterlight frameset for sale, one Trek 660, one Trek 8700 mtb, and two oclv framesets for sale. All are D/A. All started as a frameset so I could choose stem, bar, post, saddle, pedals, etc.
re: How many bikes do you have?Tiger
Nov 20, 2001 3:18 PM
All you have to do is show your wife this thread. She'll think you're totally sane!

I have 2 (only)
Raleigh Technium (rain bike)
Serotta CSI
buying bikes..colker
Nov 20, 2001 3:25 PM
it's such a high! it's the urge, it's that frame on the lbs wall, the other one on the internet store. and next time you ride you won't stop thinking about it. you wake up thinking about it. you can't stand it anymore! you justify the purchase.you call the shop. done. another bike.
mine are: ibis mojo with front shock, mikkelsen rigid mtb and pinarello cadore which is very heavy. i need a light road bike!
4cycleguy
Nov 20, 2001 3:43 PM
74/75 Fuji Ace
1991 Trek 1420
2000 Trek 5200
2001 Mondonico Futura Leggero
re: How many bikes do you have?Rik
Nov 20, 2001 3:51 PM
Six, including:
Litespeed Ultimate
LOOK kg281
Bianchi Eros
Klein Pulse Pro
Gary Fisher Montare
Klein Pulse Pro
Santana Arriva
4.look271
Nov 20, 2001 4:30 PM
1 MTB, a Raliegh M600
3 road: 1 Look kg271-main ride
1 late 70's early 80's Bianchi Sport SX
commuetr/trainer/classic bike
1 Schwinn single-speed (not fixed gear!) that is currently undergoing some mods. Need a longer stem and to true the wheel. Heavy as hell but fun to ride. Probably is older than Bianchi.
re: How many bikes do you have?BikingViking
Nov 20, 2001 5:32 PM
I currently have two. '92 Trek 1200 and a '99 Trek 930. I am hoping to upgrade the 1200 to an '02 2300 in the next year or so. Than will be the time I learn the delicate art of bike repair on my "guinea pig" 1200. Hopefully I will be able to get it back together once I have taken it apart!
Threetarwheel
Nov 20, 2001 8:32 PM
Gios Compact Pro w/ Chorus 10
Bianchi Nuovo Record, ca 1985, updated w/ Ultegra
Specialized Rockhopper mtn bike

I mainly ride the Gios, which I got in June, but kept the Bianchi as a backup. The Bianchi is heavy but has a beautiful Celeste frame and rides like a dream.
My poor Rockhopper is neglected but I promised to ride it over Thanksgiving.
I feel so boring--I only have one...nigel
Nov 20, 2001 8:38 PM
...but I love it to death.

I own a 2000 Giant TCR2 which makes me incredibly happy whenever I ride it. If I had my druthers, I'd set up a bike as a fixed for a change of pace and for cruising the city.

Cheers,
Nige
4ACE-
Nov 21, 2001 1:25 AM
2 MTB, 1 thirty year old Raliegh Sports (these 3 seldom ridden), and my road machine.
i keep telling my wife...(justifications)Js Haiku Shop
Nov 21, 2001 6:03 AM
that if i was a fisherman, a fancy fishing boat and all the gear would be so much more expensive than half a dozen nice bikes, and all i would do with it is pull it around behind the vehicle, put it in the water, sit in it and drink beer. wait a minute, maybe i need a bass boat.

seriously, this argument never works, 'cause she's always telling me she wouldn't have married a "sportsman." i stop there, before i get into trouble.

otoh, i had motorcycles when we met, and i could now be a HD freak (i wish...i wish...i wish) with a couple $13k bikes in the garage. i still have that "m" class on my driver's license, though haven't been on a motorbike in 8 years.

any other justifications?
Ahem. ... WIFE WINS: I STILL HAVE TWOElefantino
Nov 21, 2001 6:50 AM
I lost the argument, and the Pinarello Vuelta I was going to buy went, unfortunately, to another.

I am very sad. So sad that instead of a bike I bought:
• A new Trek team bag. A big one.
• A pair of adidas Adistar TT shoes. Carbon.
• A new set of Speedplays for the rain bike.

I can't ride. I have to spend. Help me.
Ele, e-mail me...Js Haiku Shop
Nov 21, 2001 7:18 AM
cat5tattoo@yahoo.com
Time for a CompuTrainer? :-) nmkenyee
Nov 21, 2001 8:46 AM
Thanks, this thread is helping me convince my wife...DaveG
Nov 21, 2001 9:08 AM
My wife doesn't understand why in the world I need two bikes (plus a junker on my trainer). Once I showed her this thread where many of you have 5,6,7+ bikes, she realizes that I am merely an enthusiast not a fanatic. Thanks.
Akirasho's basement (post photos again?)Dog
Nov 21, 2001 9:26 AM
Just show her the pictures of Akirasho's basement. Get him to post the pictures again. Now there's a fanatic.

Dog
WRONG!Js Haiku Shop
Nov 21, 2001 10:41 AM
not 2 plus a junker for the trainer!

2 plus a junker plus a trainer bike.

!!

later:

plus a mountain bike w/front suspension
plus a mountain bike w/full suspension
plus a recumbent
plus a time trial bike
plus a tri bike (there's a difference)
plus a touring bike
plus a randonee bike
plus a fixed gear bike
plus a single speed
plus a cruiser with one speed and a coaster brake
plus a cruiser with multiple speeds and hand brakes
plus an english touring bike

plus...oh, i give up. you never can have enough garage.