RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Motivate me into losing lbs(18 posts)

Motivate me into losing lbsAztecs
Nov 19, 2001 5:00 AM
I am 6'2" 225. Would like to get on a program to gradually lose weight over the winter. I would like to know hom much of a difference losing 15 lbs will make. Currently I can ride an hour @ 16.5 mph (mostly rolling hills). Do you guys think I could get my speed into the 18-19 range?

Aztecs
re: Motivation for losing lbsdavidl
Nov 19, 2001 5:36 AM
I've lost about 20 lbs so far on a low-carbohydrate diet in the last 2 or 3 months. It has translated into a higher average speed with less/different exertion and more endurance. It's hard to describe, but I can ride a lot harder. The more I improve the more motivation. Try it. I don't know about you, but when the improved performance started kicking in so did the motivation. Riding faster is a heck of a reward!
re: Motivation for losing lbszeke
Nov 23, 2001 6:07 AM
i agree about the low carb diet. ive substituted greens for pasta, rice, bread etc, lost 30 lbs. and have had it off for 3 years with no loss of energy! exercise is certainly not the way to lose weight, but it does keep the cardiovascular system healthy.
re: Motivate me into losing lbsfirstrax
Nov 19, 2001 6:39 AM
Lets not forget less tread wear on those expensive tires!
re: Work = Weight X Distancedzrider
Nov 19, 2001 6:55 AM
Less weight will let you go farther for the same effort. It also makes it possible to do more training in the same amount of time. Even LA, already a world champion, did better when he came back lighter.

Eat less than you burn. People are able to lose weight on lots of different diets, so I think it's best to give up the foods or behaviors that are most likely to inspire overeating. For many it's carbs; for others it's fat. I really like a little snack now and then, but if I do it my life can turn into a 24-7 buffet line, so I give that up to the best of my ability. It ain't easy, but it's best for me in lots of ways.
here's motivationAxedferit
Nov 19, 2001 6:57 AM
GET OFF YER ARSE YOU SLOW, FAT, AZTEC!!!
here's motivationAztec
Nov 19, 2001 7:42 AM
Not sure if that is going to motivate me, but it did make me laugh!

Thanks!
picture thisxyz
Nov 19, 2001 7:45 AM
do you want to be so FAT that they have to break down a wall to get you out of your house and take you to the hospital? And do it all live on the Jerry Springer show?
re: Motivate me into losing lbsSingleThreaded
Nov 19, 2001 12:07 PM
Based on your description of your normal ride -- mostly rolling hills -- I would say you stand a damned good
chance of saying good-bye to the 16.5 mph average for good by losing those 15 lbs. I'm in the same tug boat as you (5'11" 235). Hills are a big guy's main enemy -- the longer the uglier. You'll see improvement on 'rolling hills' quicker because they don't provide the prolonged torture. I'm seeing with every pound dropped that hills are appearing friendlier and disapearing faster. Without even improving your fitness, dropping weight will make hilly courses faster.

As for other motivations, increased acceleration is a nice benefit. I live where there is alot of 25 mph roads (strictly enforced). I'm finding it alot easier now, starting from stop lights and signs, accelerating with the cars and hanging with the traffic. Cars are alot friendlier when they don't have a lawful need to pass.

Thirdly, I'm counting on quick weight loss to save my new wheels. I can really feel and hear the flexing when I get out of the seat to mash.

Heed what the previous posters said about diet, however. I'm putting about 100 miles on a week without reducing the carbs (Halloween sucked). After dropping to 230 after the first month, I've put on 5 in the past three, albeit a bit firmer.

Good Luck!
don't worry about itAnother Fat Guy
Nov 19, 2001 12:12 PM
just get one of these
don't worry about itSingleThreaded
Nov 19, 2001 12:18 PM
Excellent! Even the colors are appropriate for caution-related road signs.

If it's got "WIDE LOAD" pasted across the back, it's mine.
get the whole kitDA
Nov 19, 2001 12:21 PM
alas, no XXXL
only evolving or degenerating to ...SingleThreaded
Nov 19, 2001 1:04 PM
... triathlete attire.
another imageJack S
Nov 19, 2001 12:23 PM
Remember that picture of the rotund chap in the red skinsuit? That could be you someday.
re: Motivate me into losing lbsJs Haiku Shop
Nov 19, 2001 12:44 PM
last year this time i was riding a little, mostly road, pretty much 25-30 miles 15-16.5 mph average. some of this was rolling and some was more-or-less flat. i am 6'2" tall, 30 years old (now), and at that time weighed 235-240. i didn't road ride very seriously last year, but i trained like a madman over the winter, and came out this year with my first serious riding effort.

my standard route from the front door is fairly rolling with three 1/2-1 mile hills that require a pretty good effort. this is an out & back course that is about 20 miles, and the hills are enjoyed twice each. february i was covering this route at 15 mph...

april 16.4 mph
may 17.6 mph
june 18 mph
july 19.2 mph

then it leveled out and my times backed down a bit as i peaked for the season and stopped pushing. some of this time also reflects group riding, but i typically am off the front of our little recreational weeknight group, riding with one or two other faster group members, and not drafting (unless i'm being drafted).

over flats, 15-35 pounds didn't seem to matter much to me, but now i can see that it did make a difference in speed, specifically. when the road tilts up a bit, there's a huge difference (maybe some is in my mind), and i'm now keeping pace with those 140-pound "legs & lungs" types, for the most part. consider this: my son, 1.5 years old, weighs just over 30 pounds. carry a 30 pound kid around for 20 minutes in your arms, then realize you were carrying that same amount of weight around on your butt last winter. ugh!

I now weigh 190-195 (ouch, 200 this week after a weekend of nonstop eating and my friend jack daniels, my "big-30 swan song"), and am planning to drop to a maximum weight of 180 between turkey day and 3/1/2001. ((if you want to see how i accomplished my weight loss over the 2000-2001 winter, go
everything gets easierDog
Nov 19, 2001 12:53 PM
Lose 15 fat pounds, and everything about riding gets easier -- riding out of the saddle, climbing, accelerating, stopping, cornering. Less weight on your butt. Less weight on your feet and your hands.

Losing weight will make you faster. But, conditioning will make more of a difference. But, but, losing weight will make riding more fun, so you'll train more, so you'll ride faster and more comfortably.

Doug
Early this year, I thought of this and it pushed me hard.nigel
Nov 19, 2001 8:48 PM
I got a new bike (Giant TCR2) in January. I'd been riding on weekends last fall and decided that--after about eight years off--I wanted to get back into riding.

My bike weighs 17 pounds. In January, I weighed myself and wanted to (as a start) lose about 20 pounds.

Here's the motivation: I was doing my (moderately hilly) rides picturing myself with my exact bike strapped to my back--and how it was slowing me down. Think of weight that way. Since then, I've lost 20 pounds (MORE than my bike!), but the image of yourself riding around with either the equivalent of your bike strapped to your back can make you realize just how much faster/stronger you'd be with that much less weight.

Visualization helps.

Best of luck. Being a small person (5'5, now 130 lbs.), I cut my portions down (Should I be eating the same portion at a restaurant that a 6'4 person would eat, just because we paid the same for the same portion? Hell no!) and tried to drink a lot of water and ride a decent amount. Any miles are good, fast or slow (slow miles can target fat loss).

Nigel
the million dollar bike!Dog
Nov 20, 2001 7:18 AM
Lighter bikes cost more, right? Plus, cost per unit weight loss is not linear.

Losing 20 pounds is like losing a whole bike.

A weightless bike would be very expensive, at least a million dollars.

Therefore, losing 20 pounds is like getting a million dollar bike for free!

Doug