RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


About the attire topic(21 posts)

About the attire topickushogun
Nov 15, 2001 6:47 PM
This is in response to the post that said something to the effect that "posers" in sponsors clothing, should get real, and to not dream as a child does, imagining that they are Lance or LeMond. Isn't a huge part of cycling to stay a kid and forget the stresses of jobs, school, etc??? I am only 20 and ride as part of the University of Kansas cycling team, but the best part of riding besides staying fit and the competition, is the youthful aspect. When i'm on my bike I don't have to worry about redox chemical reaction, or Heisenberg's uncertainty principle regarding quantum theory, or how to record an exchange of equipment in T-accounts. I feel like a kid again without a care in the world, funny since I am still in the waining stages of what society deems me "childhood". So give people a break if they continue to dream, even until their deathbed... Without dreams we have no vision, without vision we have no inspiration, and without inspiration the ability to grow and progress is repressed to the point that it is difficult to remember what it is to live and be a kid... There will always be people who are negative, I say to those people, let everyone live, ride, and enjoy life at the way they see fit. After all we're all cylists who love the sport and that should be strong enought to crush peoples' issues about "posers" or "wannabes"... Just my two cents.
Are people posers if they wear a NFL jersey in the backyard?spookyload
Nov 15, 2001 7:43 PM
Kids all over america have their favorite NFL players jersey's on in the backyard when they play football all the time. They are not posers. Adults wear them to bars on Sunday to watch the games. They are not posers. To take it to the extreme, women get their hair cut like the current favorite celebs, they are not posers. Newsflash people...our beloved sport is in infancy in America. We may see a few commercials on TV now, but it is still a freakish sport in the average persons eyes. If Americans see something they recognize they can associate with it better. Postal jersey's are as close as Americans will get to recognizing a bike jersey. We need the public exposure. 7 out of 10 Americans would recognize lance armstrong now on a box of wheaties. Take his colors off and maybe 2 of 10 would. The more noticed our sport gets, the more accepted our lifestyle will be in society. This equates to more bike paths, more acceptance of closing roads for races, and higher turnouts to clubs and charity rides. That is what fuels your habbits. So I wish all you "pure identity" riders would get off your high horses and promote the sport. If not for me or you, for our kids and the Lance Armstrongs of the future.
Promote the sport...Ahimsa
Nov 15, 2001 8:12 PM
...first off, I'm not saying you are wrong here, but I have a point to make.

Someone putting on gloves, helmet, and a plain jersey and going for a ride is promoting the sport. Period. What they are not promoting is Lotto or USPS or Trek or McDonalds for that matter. That is the main point I think that many here are trying to make.

For me it is not the idea of pure identity, but rather the fact that I am not a sponsored racer and I do not wish to promote corporate oligarchy. I think pro sports were better before the Nike logos started cropping up on every square inch of uniform. Kids do not need coroporate logo wear to promote biking. They need role models. I promote the "sport" by leaving my car to rust and riding.

The poser argument is moot anyway. Everyone thinks their sh*t doesn't stink. Bicyclists are dorks by nature.

I think this is really an argument regarding the age old and very tired "opinions are like *ssholes" topic. Meh.

Cheers!

A. (#1 certified Fred posuer bike dork who rides an awful lot regardless.)

PS. ---This space for rent---
Quick to make an assumption....kushogun
Nov 15, 2001 8:24 PM
Hello again, this is in response to the part in which you state, "Kids do not need corporate logo wear to promote biking." While I agree that a person riding to class or wherever is in a sense promoting the sport, for many kids racing at the collegiate level, corporate and private sponsors are important. Sorry we don't all go to Ivy League Schools and have the extra cash flowing out of every orafice in order to send members of the team to national competitions and to wave other entry fees to races. For instance, once factoring in lodging, food, race entry fees, etc. expenses, the average rider riding in 2-3 events had to somehow magically come up with $500-800!!! If you don't remember your college days, most of us are a little strapped for cash to say the least. Ramen noodles, bus passes, and going a week or two without doing laundry in order to conserve money tend to dominate a huge majority of our meager financial existance. So where do you expect us to come up with $500-800??? That's right Alex!!! SPONSORS!!!!! Tell him what him won... This year KU nearly had $4000 in donations to the team that have helped several people's dreams come true. In MOST Americans' eyes, major competitions are the best way to widely promote a sport. So without the national events, collegiate cycling gets little to no mainstream exposure. So remind me again where most of us get the money from????....
Relax kid...Ahimsa
Nov 15, 2001 8:37 PM
"If you don't remember your college days, most of us are a little strapped for cash to say the least. Ramen noodles, bus passes, and going a week or two without doing laundry in order to conserve money tend to dominate a huge majority of our meager financial existance."

My last college day was this afternoon. Heh heh heh!

Funny, I had Ramen for lunch. The new roast chicken flavor is pretty decent grub. High sodium though.

I'm not Ivy League. In fact I'm work study on the six year plan. My latest "high tech ride" is the first proper frame I've ever owned that didn't come from a garage sale. The only reason I could afford it was because some jackass ran a red light and smashed into 12 year old car. I figured the money would be better spent on a decent bike.

Now, I'd love to talk collegiate racer jargon and sponsorship issues all day with ya, but my shift is ending now and I've gotta get up early.

I'd love to have $500-800 to pay my credit card bill...much less to go race with.

Like I said, sponsorship is fine for you, just not for me 'cause I do not race. I guess we have different priorties. Nothing wrong with that, eh? Just remember that those of us who do not don team colors are still very much promoting cycling.

Cheers!

A.
Much respect....kushogun
Nov 15, 2001 8:44 PM
Much respect to you for busting your ass to get through college. I respect anyone who can do that. Good luck with future endeavors. You should push the rings harder so one day we could meet at a regional event or something. Good luck with everything!
My sh!t does stink!UncleMoe
Nov 16, 2001 8:05 AM
"The poser argument is moot anyway. Everyone thinks their sh*t doesn't stink. Bicyclists are dorks by nature."

I admit it, my sh!t stinks. I can be a dork (just ask me about my Brooks Leather Saddles!).

Hey all - sorry I started this debate. Ahimsa kinda gets where I am coming from. See my example in the thread below about the girl who showed up for a group ride. New to the sport, spent $2000 on the Red-White-Blue Trek road bike, and was wearing all USPS clothing.

15 minutes into the ride she flatted, yet had no pump, no spare tube, no CO2 cartridges, or even tool kit. All the riders were very polite. We all stopped, gave her a tube, changed the tire for her and pumped it up. We all talked to her during the ride and slowed up so she could hang with us. We treated her as if she had always been riding with us, and invited her back next week. We just advised her to stop by a shop and pick up some basic equipment.

She never rode with us again. So now I chuckle about it and wonder if whe ever rides her $2000 bike or the wears the $300 worth of USPS clothing.

That is the essence that I was trying to convey, much like Ahimsa's viewpoint that no one should pay $80 for a jersey with logo's all over it, when you are paying to actually advertising for them.

Again, sorry for starting this all up. We all have different viewpoints and different levels of what is too much. But, I agree, if you are a rider who promotes the sport in a positive manner, who cares what you wear.
Hmmmmgrzy
Nov 16, 2001 8:39 AM
Methinks you guys woulda left her by the side of the road to fend for herself if she were a guy. Seen it many times.
lol :-)UncleMoe
Nov 16, 2001 8:52 AM
Actually, we felt really bad for her. She weighed about 180 at least. She was taking up biking to get in shape. Friend of a friend of a friend, so we invited her along. It was sort of one of those things where, since we invited her, it would suck to just blow her off.

I suppose if it was a guy, we woulda helped him but been a bit more direct with him in not being prepared, and then we woulda dropped him after getting his flat fixed. (Slight double standard, I admit).

Now maybe if this happened 8-10 years ago when I was still in my 20's and a bit insensitive, we woulda blown her off. But at 34, married, well - I have a sensitive side now, by guy standards anyway.
Good!grzy
Nov 16, 2001 9:01 AM
Don't get too soft on us we guys have our image to maintain.

Totally agree that if you invite someone along then you're obligated to stick with them.

Actually since getting married and doing more social rides I'm in agreement with you. Besides - when wifey gets pissed at me she doesn't stop for anything - food, stop signs, traffic lights, cars....nothing.
some guys should be left.dzrider
Nov 16, 2001 1:24 PM
About 10 yrs ago I went on group rides with a bunch of riders who were younger and faster than I. I kept up for the first 90 mins or so and then went off the back and helped anybody else who couldn't keep up get back to the shop. One week I wound up with a guy who stuffed a few extra pounds in clothes that matched his bike and used aero bars in the paceline.

I waited for him at the top of every hill. I listened to him explain why a guy his size shouldn't try to spin easy gears. I praised his choice of the new the bike he was ordering. Finally we top the last little hill and get on a half-mile flat b4 the shop and he blows by me. I stood up and chased and just b4 I caught him he sat up and said "Great sprint, huh?!"
re: About the attire topicdavidl
Nov 15, 2001 7:53 PM
Those who worry about posers or wannabes, etc. have their own set of issues, and it's best not to try to relate to any of that... they are best just left alone.
re: About the attire topicflybyvine
Nov 16, 2001 1:29 AM
You want to forget about redox reactions & the like - hell I ride so I can dream again about those days... Enjoy it now before you have to ride to forget work !

15 years after getting kicked out of Med School & 10 years after B School & all I want is to remember those days (the memory is not what it used to be). I even ordered a university jersey the other day - am I a poser because I don't ride with them (and couldn't get up the hills around Ithaca anyway). No I will wear it becasue I paid twice its value to support the team.

Yeah I have an order in for a C40 which I won't be able to ride to 10% of its worth but thats why I went to school - so I can afford the toys even if it is too late !

Poser, dork & proud

Cheers
re: About the attire topiclongfellow68
Nov 16, 2001 3:40 AM
Don' even worry about it. Like people said above, if other cyclists think your a poser of give you a hard time then they got other problems in their life you probably don't even want to know about. Insecurity for one..
Just like the rednecks and punk kids that yell "Fag" or "Speedo" out the window of a car going by. Same mentality in my opinion. To worried about what othe people are wearing or something. Ridiculus crap.
dream onxyz
Nov 16, 2001 6:08 AM
you should get one of these:
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/large_photo.html?SKU=14288&Store=Bike
But it just makes me FEEL silly...cory
Nov 16, 2001 8:40 AM
I buy functional cycling clothing, including Coolmax T-shirts from Sierra Trading Post for six or seven dollars--every bit as efficient as "real" jerseys. But wearing a pro jersey to ride in just makes me feel like I'm putting on full pads and helmet to play catch with my kids in the park. Plus, sorry, but most of the really boorish behavior I see on bicycles comes from people dressed like cartoon superheroes.
hey! come on..........dory
Nov 16, 2001 9:10 AM
don't forget those guy in primal jerseys!
But it just makes me FEEL silly...magic32
Nov 16, 2001 11:39 AM
I am 42 and wear a USPS jersey. Now I'm a decent rider but no one with any intelligence is ever going to mistake me for a Postal team member. I like to show my support for an American Team with an American rider(s) that can compete and win in a sport dominated by the Europeans.

This sport in the recreational ranks is about indivduality. If wearing a tie dyed tshirt or a 80 dollar pro jersey is what makes your day so be it.

One benefit I do get with the Postal jersey is rednecks in my area have stopped trying to run me off the road. That in itself is worth the 80 bucks.
I bet...DA
Nov 16, 2001 11:57 AM
a lot of rednecks, yahoos, and other non-riders in the general public won't know the difference. How many times have you been asked if you're gonna ride that Tour deee France thing?
Let me take your picture in case you're famousStraightblock
Nov 16, 2001 3:11 PM
Two riding buddies and I went to watch the cycling events at the '84 Olympics in Southern California. The day before the road races, we decided to ride the course to pick a couple of good vantage points for the next day. I think I was wearing my old team jersey-I had retired from racing a year or 2 before-and my buddies wore generic jerseys. All the way around, people were waving, cheering and taking pictures. We drew a small crowd when I stopped to change a flat. A few days later, when eating in a fast food joint outside the velodrome where we had watched the day's track races, a guy approached me and insisted that I was Alexi Grewal. I was wearing street clothes, and I look nothing like him, so I never figured that one out.
uhm noWoof the dog
Nov 16, 2001 9:54 PM
Cycling, at least road, is mostly not about staying a kid, although riding a bike may certainly be viewed (by soccer moms) as less mature than writing the latest biochemistry book or driving kids to school. Its more about looking up to adults (prof. cyclists) who certainly don't do bullshit on a bike, unless you are into touring or mtn. biking. Road riding is pleasurable but nevertheless the focus is on getting faster better fitter and therefore more "mature." Youngsters are hesitant to go into this sport because of how different it is and because of an enourmous prejudice against those lycra wearing leg shaving disgusting men out on the road aggravating parents. Most of these never get over the prejudice and never get secure in their manhood. Thats the reason why this sport will never be as popular and small kids (with a few exceptions, like our kids) will never wear lance armstrong jerseys. Unless gas prices go up real high. I pray for that to happen!!!!!!! Since this sport attracts more mature people and is intended as a serious tough sport and not some bmx-style-urban-assault bullshit, I find it silly when nobodies wear full team clothes. Why not wear what you deserve or seek out a "professional-looking" bike clothes, or maybe wear a cycling club jersey that you at least deserve to wear? I mean a hat or sox are fine, but shorts and jersey are really pushing it. Get it? I think NFL is more popular for its history, customs, blah blah blah, but most people who play football probably realized they are never gonna make it past the college football team while on a bike you feel capable as heck to ride the next Tour.

I just find it silly, but I don't snob people because of it. Who wanna go for a ride?

By the way, on November 15th (2 days ago) I rode in shorts and jersey. I even took my armwarmers off...incredibly warm. Wow, simply wow! shorts and short-sleeve in vt in november? not possible! hehe yeah it is.

Sincerely

Woof, the "I rode my rollers for an hour today" dog.

here is a pic for fun.