RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


My recent experience with floor pumps, any suggestions?(26 posts)

My recent experience with floor pumps, any suggestions?cyclinseth
Nov 15, 2001 4:29 PM
On 11/5 I ordered a topeak joeblow deluxe. by 11/9 it had a leak in the "smarthead" (stupidhead) and in the shaft. I usually sing the praises of topeak. Not this time!

Then I ordered, and took reciept of a blackburn tp4. The valve-head design on this p.o.s. makes me wonder if anybody at the company ever used this product themselves.

Does any manufacturer make a reliable floor pump. Al I'm asking for is one that doesn't spring a leak, has an accurate gauge and a properly designed valve-head. Pretty kcufing simple if you ask me. Then why can't any of these marketing imbiciles get it right. I mean that smart-head is the most unneccessarily over-designed piece of crap

Please help.
one word: Silcametonymy3
Nov 15, 2001 4:36 PM
It's all you need to know. The things are pretty much all metal. They have a good, solid valve head, it's all brass. The thing is just bomb proof. And it's cheap. $25? No bells or whistles, but miles ahead of the competition nonetheless.

Chris
Definitely Silcamr_spin
Nov 15, 2001 4:41 PM
I've tried all kinds. The only one that still works is my Silca.

I'm getting tired of pumps altogether. I want a compressor!
one word: SilcaDavidS
Nov 15, 2001 4:56 PM
I bought my Silca in 1988. I condtion the rubber valve "lining" occasionally with silicone, but other than that its worry free...and shouldn't a simple floor pump be a no-brainer?
ps-I bought it for $17 on sale.
The one word is: sucksCT1
Nov 15, 2001 9:37 PM
Just got a new Silca .... the "fancy" one with the gauge on top of the barrel. The damn thing leaks like a sieve. Pisses me off that I'll have to take the bitch apart to fix the seal.

My 30 year old standard Silca floor pump has worked perfect from the "get go".

YMMV
JohnG
I've read the silca reviews in mtbreview and....cyclinseth
Nov 16, 2001 5:35 AM
the people with the old ones become so extatic they start typing in tounges.

However, it seems like the people with the new ones are just as filled with a furious, berzerker, burning red rage as I am right now about their situation
Although it is mtbr and probably not the most sophisticated orcyclinseth
Nov 16, 2001 5:41 AM
discerning minds.
I've read the silca reviews in mtbreview and....CT1
Nov 16, 2001 6:20 PM
I just can't figure out how they could screw up such a simple design.

Like I said my "old" Silca track pump has worked GREAT for 30 years.

JohnG
Silca here too...Warren128
Nov 15, 2001 4:52 PM
After my POS 20 year old, Taiwan made, floor pump finally died (okay, i give it credit for lasting 20years :) ), I decided to get a "real" floor pump and got the Silca primarily because I liked the brass head design. I was not disappointed. It's simple, inexpensive, functional, and very well made.

Warren
re: My recent experience with floor pumps, any suggestions?walter
Nov 15, 2001 5:05 PM
I'm not going to buck the Silca trend as they do work wonderfully. However, I've had better luck than you, apparently, with Blackburn. I use their "Track" model and no problems. As I'm not the lightest creature on 2 wheels by any means I'm meticulous about air pressure and I get my 120# no muss, no fuss. When it does die though I will buy a Silca.
It's that damn locking mechanism on the valve head and well ...cyclinseth
Nov 16, 2001 5:49 AM
the valve head in general. I put the vh on the stem and it starts leaking air from the tire, and then when I unlock it it starts leaking air and before I can get it off the stem 10-20 lbs are gone!

Am I doing something wrong? The rest of the pump seems rock-solid. But the design on the vh, whose working on this crap, a mountain biker?
SilcaBrianH
Nov 15, 2001 5:57 PM
Have had the same Silca pump for about 8 years now.
I really like the wood handle too.

Brian
Different OpinionDCP
Nov 15, 2001 8:25 PM
My Silca leaked at the output to the hose, which was difficult to fix with the cheap clamp that came with it, and the gauge is hopelessly inaccurate. I fixed the leak and its now OK, but I don't understand the rave reviews.
Just buy the Silca headspookyload
Nov 15, 2001 9:19 PM
It is about $11 and will fit on the hose on your pump. The head is the real magic in their pumps. Who cares if I can inflate my tires to 240 pounds. I guess track guys need a pump that high. My pump is the nashbar $19.95 blue pump. It is the same as the zefal pump for ten bucks less. I spent the extra dough and bought the silca head.
Serfasmickey-mac
Nov 15, 2001 9:26 PM
My Blackburn floor pump finally bit it about 7-8 months ago. I went to my LBS to buy another pump and was surprised to find that Serfas was the only brand it carried. Because I was in dire need of a pump, I shelled out $25 and hoped for the best. It has worked very well so far: accurate guage, properly working valve head, fairly long hose. It's got presta and schrader on the same side, which comes in handy for pumping up kid bike tires. Also, it has a nice sturdy feel and a solid base. It's the only Serfas product I've ever owned, but it's getting the job done so far.
Silca or TorelliMe Dot Org
Nov 15, 2001 9:38 PM
Silca is the better known brand. Torelli is made in the same town as Silca. Uses the same brass fittings and gauges, and is a little cheaper.

Both however, are excellent pumps.
SilcaJekyll
Nov 15, 2001 10:09 PM
Same as most above - no frills, just works and cheap to boot.
SilcaFitterman
Nov 16, 2001 3:41 AM
It's the only one you'll ever need to buy. Checkout probikekit.com for deals on them.
A little Blackburn storyNessism
Nov 16, 2001 5:50 AM
I agree with the others about the the Silca, great pump. The steel barrel and brass head are the key parts I think.

As a side story, I've been using Blackburn Airstik pumps as a carry along for some time know. They're a bit of a compromise but they always get me home and are small and light. After several years of use the small springs inside these pumps tend to rust and fall apart. After my second Airstik gave up the ghost, and after searching in vain for a repair kit, I decided to send in the pumps to Blackburn/Bell for repair. One week later two brand new pumps show up in the mail. No charge! It's nice to find some customer service these days.
cheap solutionJack S
Nov 16, 2001 7:44 AM
Just buy a Silca head and mount to whatever pump with a small hose clamp. I've used this with a Zefal Husky for over 10 years with nary a problem. Washers need replacing periodically, but they cost a buck or less.
Long term Silca userbrider
Nov 16, 2001 8:15 AM
I've had the Silca Track pump (the one with the semi-oval plastic handle and the gage at the base of the pump) for years, and it's only failed me once, and I was able to fix it in 5 minutes. It had gotten a little sane in the barrel and it got into the one-way valve. I opened up the base and blew out the sand, and it's been flawless since. I have a Blackburn mini pump -- an old one with a T-handle and dual action, no thumb lever to lock the valve onto the stem -- that's worked flawlessly for years as well. I've found that using old sections of ineer tube to protect the head and handle mechanisms keeps the road crud out.
Blackburn has lifetime warrranty I thought...Ed3
Nov 16, 2001 8:23 AM
I bought a Blackburn pump this year, with the head that fits both Presta and Schraeder, no problems so far...about 12 strokes to get to 100psi.
My LBS said to bring the pump in if anything ever goes wrong with it, as it has a lifetime warranty on all parts.
Blackburn has lifetime warrranty I thought...BudMan101
Nov 16, 2001 11:36 AM
Yes they do, thank heaven. In the past five years I have been through three TP4's. All of them had different issues with them. I felt so bad going to my LBS for an exchange the last time I sent it right to Blackburn. Within a week a new one was at my door.
my Blackburn TP-3 has been problem free for 4 years -NMTig
Nov 17, 2001 10:58 AM
re: My recent experience with floor pumps, any suggestions?texbaz
Nov 16, 2001 9:28 AM
I have a JoeBlow Pro that had the Smarthead pin that attaches the locking lever to the head slide out and cause the guts inside to jump out. I contacted Topeak they sent me another head in about a week.

Have you contacted Topeak to get a replacement pump?

http://www.topeak.com
Italian made Silca & sum suggestions ...breck
Nov 16, 2001 12:15 PM
Italian Silca:
Mine is ~12 yrs. old and have never had a real problemo. Keep Armor-All or sim-to on the rubber hose and drip some Neats Foot or sim-to oil into the little hole at the pump handle end to keep the inner gasket sealed. Take the handle off and grease the nuts and threads and re-install when new. Some boiled linseed oil on the handle don't hurt none either. Keep some auto polish on the steel air tube. BTW, the black steel barrel looks great with your fav-o-rite brite bike decals on it, etc.

In time when leaking at barrel, cut off hose and re-attach with the clamp wire or replace with a real hose clamp from the auto parts store. Minor hose leaks can be fixed by wrapping with electrical tape or go to auto parts store and get the auto gas line with sim-to inner diameter hole & use correct size hose clamp to re-attach. Take the pump with you for correct snug fit.

If you have trouble making the Presta chuck end stay on when adding air to a tire already at 100 psi or so, simply tap the Presta valve (after making sure you opened it :) to lower pressure enuff for the chuck to grab. This procedure is always recommended anywho to clear out any dirt in the valve. A little spittle helps too. Typically the chuck grabs better with the Presta valve rotated to the bottom of the wheel.

Zefal Double-Shot rules for my MTB 2.35 WCS Ritchey's. Have the old blue steel twin-barrel one, not the new(er) gray single barrel plastico :)

cheers,
breck