RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


truck racks(9 posts)

truck racksGall
Nov 15, 2001 4:17 PM
hello again...

i am in the market for a new truck rack for my toyota tacoma. i was looking at the DELTA rack for trucks. the only problem is my bedliner is an over the rail so there is a gap between the liner and the actual side of the truck. so i was worried that the liner would crack etc if i tighten the bar on it too much.

i was wondering if anyone has used this style of rack on a bedliner like mine? what other racks are good for truck bed?

thanks for you help
Build one, its easycaptainVonTrap
Nov 15, 2001 5:39 PM
Just go to your local Home Depot or any large hardware store, buy a steel bar (get the kind with pre drilled holes that looks like a big piece of a richter set). Get some U-bolts and some locking nuts. Then simply bolt the bar to the hooks in the corner of the truck bed. Then go to LBS and get some bike mounts (about $15-$20) bolt that to the bar and WA-LA a bike rack. You could go crazy and weld the bar to your truck, but that may be too permanant. Or you can just bolt the bike mount to a 2X4 that is cut to the exact width of the truck bed (most bed liners have little slots to hold a 2x4) then you can remove the bike rack whenever you dont need it.

Just use your imagination and go crazy at the hardware store. You would be amazed how cheaply a bike rack for a truck can be made!

Good Luck:)
re: truck racksdsc
Nov 15, 2001 5:56 PM
When I bought my Ranger, I found out through the dealer that Yakima made a rack for Ford that fit my truck. It's just the standard Yakima truck rack, but came with some extra hardware that mounted behind the bolt-on tie downs,
inside of the bed. That way, you didn't have to drill any holes in your truck bed.
Yakima didn't advertise them; I found out about them through Ford. Might be worth looking at what accessories are available from Toyota.

-Debi
Wish I had known about that!tarwheel
Nov 16, 2001 5:03 AM
I have a Yakima rack in my Ford Ranger and I love it. Very easy to load and unload my bikes, and they stay put. Mine is screwed to the bed on the inside. The Yakima truck rack is reasonably priced, in my opinion, although there are cheaper options. I like the Yak because I can lock it, and there are lots of attachments available, although I just swapped some fittings I had from an old Yak roof-mounted rack that no longer fits my cars. For what it's worth, I can load and unload my bike quicker than any of my other biking buddies who have cars, SUVs, etc. And the bikes stay out of the wind and don't get splattered with bugs like they do with roof-top racks. To lock my bike(s) to the rack, I just use a Kryptonite cable and a combination lock.
I made one out of:DAC
Nov 16, 2001 4:42 AM
1 2x6,
1 2x3
2 pieces of 5/8" CDX scrap
6 wood screws
2 bolts
2 fork mounts

it holds 2 bikes securely, and by cutting the 2x3 just long enough, it can't be pulled out of the bed unless disassembled.
Elephants swear by them...nmJumbo
Nov 16, 2001 7:08 AM
Here's what I didTacoma Too
Nov 16, 2001 7:49 AM
I have a Tacoma with a bedliner like you're talking about. I bought the Delta rack and got it to work by cutting a round hole on each side of the bed liner so the rack can be braced against the truck bed rather than against the bed liner. Works great, and I haven't had any problems.

My only complaint with the Delta rack is with the mounts. I've had trouble finding a pad lock that works well with them. I'm thinking about buying the Yakima locking blockhead and using them with the rack instead of the Delta mounts.

Hope this helps.
re: truck racksMVN
Nov 16, 2001 2:13 PM
I have the Delta rack in my Chevy S10 and I used two pieces of 2x4's that I put between the bed and the liner. I tighten the rack and it's not going anywhere. I just take it out when I want and the 2x4's stay put and you can't even tell they are there.
Quick or Permanent Fix for $20.breck
Nov 16, 2001 11:11 PM
One fix is be to take a 2X8 (actually 1&1/2X7&1/2 finished) scrap piece of wood cut to a snug fit the bottom width of the truck bed liner. Lay it out flat in the bed liner and attach a fork mount bike carrier to it (~$20) near one end. More if you have more bikes to haul. The bike can be locked using a coated cable run thru one of the steel u-shaped end tie downs already on each truck bed side.

Do you have a Toy bedliner for your Taco with the notches? In the case of my Tundra Toy bed liner vertical notches 1&1/2 inches wide are already in the liner front and rear of the wheel wells lined up on each side. A scrap 2X8 may be cut with a slight vertical end slant to get a snug fit. Ditto mount bike carrier and cable lock. I run a bungee cord each side along the bed liner sides from one u-shaped tie down to the other for the front wheel to fit behind & cable lock to go thru.

These bungee cords each side of liner may also be used to snake thru the ends of a 6'X8' truck bed net when hauling stuff would blow out of the bed, etc.

Owned Toy trucks for 27 years. Great trucks. So are Ford, Chevy, Dodge, etc., just so's to stay friendly here. Current ride is a 2000 Tundra V8 4WD TRD, dual TRD cats, meow :) Great bike hauler.

cheers,
breck