RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Attire(36 posts)

AttireGiles
Nov 15, 2001 2:56 PM
How many of you wear only cycling specific clothing when riding? Sometimes if I am only going riding for an hour or so I just wear a cool-max shirt and shorts. However, everyone else I see on a road bike always has some sort of team jersey with many sponsor logos as well as maching shorts. They seem as if they are competing in the TDF. What gives? Can someone explain?
re: Attirebrider
Nov 15, 2001 3:01 PM
Many USCF clubs (mine included) have clauses in their team applications that state basically "I will wear team clothing when riding and racing." These team jerseys always have a lot of logos on them. The flip side of that, however, is that you can't wear a jersey in a race which has a logo on it if that company isn't your sponsor. I just have to laugh when I see some fat guy wearing a Motorola or USPS jersey.
plain clothesDog
Nov 15, 2001 3:08 PM
There are tons of bike clothes that have no logos. That's what I mostly wear. Don't care for the fake-pro look. But, that's just me. I couldn't care less what others do.

My team has two levels. The higher level gets real sponsorship - they get free stuff, discounts on other stuff, entry fees paid - the catch is they must ALWAYS wear their team duds while riding, and they must go a whole lot of races and team training rides. The lower level, where I'm at, really doesn't matter. While we get some discounts, maybe at cost, for team clothing and other stuff ($15 for Tufos, for example), the expectations are minimal. Just wear your uniform in the races.

If someone wears a USPS jersey, I see nothing wrong with that. First, they may just be showing support, just like wearing a Chiefs jersey. Second, they may have been on sale. Third, the team may get a royalty on the sale. That helps the team.

Wear whatever the heck you want. Free country.

Doug
re: AttireUncleMoe
Nov 15, 2001 3:15 PM
Whats funny is, I was over at MTBR.com one day and someone asked a question like this. I responded to wear whatever you are comfortable in, but don't go crazy and get decked out in sponsorship looking jerseys unless you really are a racer. Otherwise, you just look like a poser (sp?).

Damn MTB'ers jumped all over me. It was weird, but especially funny at the same time.

I just wear basic colors as a few others mentioned. I do laugh when I see someone all decked out in USPS clothing on a TREK bike. I'm not laughing at them, I just find it funny. Sort of like how I use to wear a Roger Staubach Football Jersey when I was a kid. Nice dream, but now I'm 34 and those dreams are over.
re: Attirekushogun
Nov 15, 2001 6:41 PM
Isn't a huge part of cycling to stay a kid and forget the stresses of jobs, school, etc??? I am only 20 and ride as part of the University of Kansas cycling team, but the best part of riding besides staying fit and the competition, is the youthful aspect. When i'm on my bike I don't have to worry about redox chemical reaction, or Heisenberg's uncertainty principle, or how to record an exchange of equipment in T-accounts. I feel like a kid again, funny since I am still in the waining stages of what society deems "childhood". So give people a break if they continue to dream, even until their deathbed... Without dreams we have no vision, without vision we have no inspiration, and without inspiration the ability to grow and progress is repressed to the point that it is difficult to remember what it is to live and be a kid... There will always be people who are negative, I say to those people, let everyone live, ride, and enjoy life at the way they see fit. After all we're all cylists who love the sport and that should be strong enought to crush peoples' issues about "posers" or "wannabes"... Just my two cents.
Damned kids...Ahimsa
Nov 15, 2001 7:05 PM
Heh heh heh! Jest kiddin'.

"After all we're all cylists who love the sport and that should be strong enought to crush peoples' issues about "posers" or "wannabes"..."

Well put.

Well to do yuppie weekend warrior types still make me chuckle though, but I mean no ill will and would never call them out. Unless they try to talk that "real cyclist" crap, then I just drop 'em. Nothing worse than a "more bike than legs" expert giving me a condescending lecture on my set up.

Me: "Oh, so THAT'S how a fast bike really looks! Golly!"

But that is one of the reasons I ride, to leave it all behind me.

Cheers!

A.
Us kids are just getting more opinionated by the moment!kushogun
Nov 15, 2001 8:42 PM
Gotta love you man. You should try out for USPS if you just drop all the weekend warriors. You race? I'm being light-hearted here, no hard-feelings. Just we all had to start somewhere. 2 years ago I was all show and no go, and i'm sure you were too at some point. Everyone has to start somewhere. Why do you care at all if someone is all decked out and can't push anything bigger than a 39-23 ring up a 6 degree hill???....Come on now, you should be more gracious and willing to teach since you have more experience.
Well...JuniorRacerFL
Nov 15, 2001 4:02 PM
I dont really see how its that funny, if its what you like then u should wear it, i think poser is the stupidest word in the world..i meen they sell that stuff so people like us can wear it. alot of the jerseys out there are pretty nice looking, i dont think ide ever wear anything plain cause i just dont like wearing plain stuff i like stuff thats colorful and got cool logos and crap on it. but mainly i wear my team clothes.
Like I said...UncleMoe
Nov 15, 2001 4:13 PM
This is just my opinion. The guys I ride with get all decked out. I have no problem with it, especially cause I work hard just to stay in their draft.

We did have one new rider one day. Pretty new to the sport, showed up with the Lance Armstrong decorated bike, all USPS clothing. Flatted in the first 15 minutes, no pump, no spare tube, no patch kit. A funny situation all around. I just wonder how much money they spent, on the clothes alone, and if they ride anymore.
re: Attiregrzy
Nov 15, 2001 4:06 PM
I prefer a jock strap, sound powered phones, and a smile.

Those other riders want you to know that they're SERIOUS.

Personally I just throw on what ever bike stuff isn't too smelly - I find that regular shorts chafe and catch on the nose of the seat. Wearing a cotton t-shirt is the equivalent of a damp sponge.

Like someone said here before: don't pimp the jersey. If you didn't earn it or ride for that team then you're just a poseur. Possible exception might be wearing a LInda McCartney Team jersey while eating a roast beef sandwich to see if I could get a rise out of anyone, but some would say that's disrespectful.
lolUncleMoe
Nov 15, 2001 4:09 PM
Linda McCartney Joke = Poor taste cause I love Paul, yet incredibly funny for the end of my workday. Thanks for the laugh.
re: Attirefiltersweep
Nov 15, 2001 5:21 PM
"If you didn't earn it or ride for that team then you're just a poseur. "

Funny the double standard... I guess each Sunday, stadiums and bars are filled with poseurs who are wearing team jerseys while watching football- and they are just spectators- at least bikers are getting out and are doing something healthy!

I do think it looks silly when someone wears a complete team kit (including gloves, shoe covers, helmet)- but I doubt anyone fantasizes they are "on the team" while just wearing a jersey. It isn't easy finding decent plain jerseys (with decent fabric, cuts, and colors), and I can see why people buy team gear. Most LBSs carry much more team clothing than non-team (unless you want to bottom-feed at Sportmart or REI).

It might be poseurlike to ride in a local race wearing a USPS or Lotto jersey. While I own no major team jerseys, I see a ton of riders wearing them- so there must be a ton of poseurs out there!

It is interesting how mtn bikers are less prone to dress the part than road bikers.

I gotta say this- not everyone races!
Agree emphatically with your statement about...RhodyRider
Nov 16, 2001 11:37 AM
...the difficulty of finding high-quality, technical "plain" stuff. When bikejerseys.com is selling very advanced, pro-quality bibs, jerseys, etc. for unbelieveable low prices, why would I pass it up? I'm not a millionaire, so I can't ignore the practicality of buying top-grade stuff at bargain prices. Who cares if my roubaix bib knickers are Vini Caldirola from 2000? They are first quality Santini, excellent fit and function, and they were $40 I think. It's a no-brainer, people - buy the best gear possible for the money, let the fashion police kiss your well-chamoised ass.
Wellgrzy
Nov 16, 2001 11:51 AM
Yeah, I think anyone who wears an o'fishul NFL jersey with their favorite players name and number is also a poseur. I'd tell that to their faces, but they're usually bigger than me and half full of beer. Your argument plays both ends against the middle - it's OK to wear an exact replica of a NFL jersey, but maybe you shouldn't be wearing an exact replica of a cycling team or the yellow jersey, but it's OK to wear a semi-copy. Which is it and how do we know? Do you get paid for all that advertising you're doing? A discouont on equipment? Free swag?

I see this total dedication and unbridled fan worship as a pathetic excuse for people who don't have interesting lives and are looking for some highly paid human billboard to make their life more meaningful. I have to watch "my team" play - it's not your team - you don't pay their salaries, nor do you work for them. In reality your just a sucker who will pay huge prices to watch some gifted athlete to collect a pay check that in a few hours blows away your annual salary - just b/c he can move a friggin' ball. Some people will cling to anything in desperate need of an identity and an image and to feel good. Hey, I'm OK - I got the o'fishul clothes to prove it. Forget that the stuff has a huge profit margin and comes from oppressed laborers in third world countries living in awful conditions. Been to Manila lately? It's pretty friggin funny when a pro athelete gets paid more money than the presidient of a company or even the USA and is widely recognized around the world. I just can't decide if the general American public are cattle or sheep. Who is realy the fool?

I TRY not to let any one know when I'm wearing my Michael Jordan under wear - ya' know it makes me jump higher and run faster.
BWAHAHAHAHA!Ahimsa
Nov 16, 2001 5:28 PM
Michael Jordan undies! Hee hee hee hee!

Aaaah....funny stuff...

I'm not quite as angry about the whole "opiate of the masses" thing, but I hear ya.

I think the dichotomy here is the split between those that know better and ignore it anyway, and those that exist to just pursue blind happiness. Ignorance is bliss either way I guess, and I try not to fault people for being ignorant of the facts.

The problem is contribution. I choose not to contribute to a system I don't beleive in when it is possible (and not just convenient) to do so.

But then again, conformity is subversive.

Cheers!

A.
Sponsor jersey? Only if I'm being paid to wear it....nn23
Nov 15, 2001 4:16 PM
... or if it's on sale. Why should I be someone's mobile advt for free esp when I don't use the product.

Infact thinking about it... newbies like me should be paid to *not* endorse their product. That, I could live with :)

- nn23
I think you are on to something thereDog
Nov 15, 2001 4:38 PM
"Pay me not to wear your Hammergel jersey, or I'll come in DFL and say I bonked! - Further, I'll spread it all over the internet."

See where that gets you.

Doug
Sponsor jersey? Only if I'm being paid to wear it....Rick S
Nov 16, 2001 7:47 AM
I think your right! In general, I won't wear clothing that advertises a product unless it was given to me - I do have a few exceptions though - I'll wear a jersey that "advertises" an event or ride that I participated in (I feel I "earned" it!), or I'll wear a jersey when the proceeds from its sale benefits a good cause (like the USA cycling development jersey).

Although not my style, I can see why someone would wear kit that reflects their bike manufacturer (i.e. Bianchi, Serotta, etc.) however, I'm somewhat appalled by the number of logos that come on most bikes - Why did my Serotta need to have 7 "Serotta" logos when it arrived at my home?

A funny related story - In the auto racing world, cars are smothered in logos (usually to cash in on some contingency $). Some of the logos have become icons of the sport - at a photo shoot for a new race team back in the early 70's, they felt that their car didn't look quite right until it had a STP logo - so they put one on. The problem was that they were sponsored by a STP competitor!
re: AttireC-mond
Nov 15, 2001 4:50 PM
I used to just ride in the t-shirt and bball shorts. Just because I get a kick out of looking like a Fred and then always being the kid in the break away group. Then I had to switch to the spandex and now go with the jersey, only my team jersey or previous team's jersey.

I can handle the cotton- does not really bother me but when you crash it tears and you get the road rash. This is not the case with the jerseys. I am quite thankful I was wearing that stuff during my last crash. It helps out in the hospital too so you don't have to keep getting lectures about the dangers of motercycles. A Bicycle, guys- The hospital folks don't forget when your sporting the jersey.
Little bit of both...Ahimsa
Nov 15, 2001 4:55 PM
Some bike stuff, some street stuff. No flashy colors.

Team logos? Meh. Not for me. The only logo on me is the "Hell" stickers I made to cover up the "Bell" decals on my old helmet.

Outside of a race situation, I think riders decked out like euro trash christmas trees are funny as hell. I prefer to not have to get dressed up just to ride my bike. It would be the same as suiting up in full pads and gear to go toss the pig skin in the park. Silly.

But then again, if it gets you on the bike, or puts $ in yer pocket, more power to ya.

Cheers!

A.
re: AttireStarliner
Nov 15, 2001 5:15 PM
I'll ride sometimes in regular clothing, especially if I need to run downtown to do pay some bills, go to the post office, etc.

If it's going to be an intense, cycling-specific ride, then I want the most comfortable attire on - that means clothing that has good wicking ability. Cotton clothing when wet is heavy and doesn't dry.

Not only that, but the three rear pockets are very convenient, and used for my pump, cell phone, wallet, banana, clif bars, etc. With regular clothing, I need to take a hip pack along to fit all that in. And that is not as comfortable.
Plain clothes 80% lately ....Humma Hah
Nov 15, 2001 5:25 PM
I commute a fairly short distance, and I'm doing it in plain clothes for now. That may change in the summer.

Blue jeans are terrible for cycling. Too tight in the crotch, too stiff, and the seams chafe.

A well-worn pair of polyester slacks are actually pretty comfortable, although they do require a rather Fred-ish velcro strap around the cuff to keep them out of the chain.

I do get my shirts fairly sweaty in cold weather, riding with a windbreaker. I'm considering getting a long-sleeve jersey for riding, and carry my dress shirt. The moisture seems to be condensation as water vapor hits the cold windbreaker. It is clean and not smelly, but can make me pretty cold after my ride until it dries out.

Riding clothes do reduce drag, and may be slightly more comfortable than street clothes. Mostly, I think cyclists like looking the part. I personally am rather fond of chasing down those TDF wannabees, passing them in cheap slacks and on a cruiser.
If it's cheap and looks nice,I'll wear it.......STEELYeyed
Nov 15, 2001 5:59 PM
I never pay more than $20-$30 for a jersey,I don't really care what it says on it, brightly colored hi-tech fabric is what is important to me,comfort and high visibility in traffic are as important as your helmet,just my opinion,others may vary.
If it's cheap and looks nice,I'll wear it.......flybyvine
Nov 15, 2001 7:04 PM
Bright & visible is what it is about (comfort a close second). On that basis I wear the most sacrosanct of all jerseys - a tdf yellow jersey - when training before sunrise because its the brightest thing I could find. Couldn't give a rats arse what other people think. Natural selection should weed them out eventually in early morning car crashes.

I second Dog's comment that wearing team kit may just mean that you support the team in question - same as with any sport, why should cycling fans be subject to elitest snobbery. Me, I just wear whatever is loud coz I would like to introduce my kids to the sport one day (once they get the training wheels off anyway).
25 points for the use of "sacrosanct"...Ahimsa
Nov 15, 2001 7:19 PM
Good show!

Yellow, eh?

I'm rather fond of my red hooded sweat shirt when it's cool out.

Have you tried one of those reflective vests for pre-sun rides? I'm thinking of getting one but worry that it might not do well (might flap around, trap moisture, etc.).

Cheers!

A.
25 points for the use of "sacrosanct"...flybyvine
Nov 16, 2001 1:33 AM
Riding in Singapore at any time of day & you don't want anything on let alone a plastic reflective vest.

I tried some illuminte knicks once but the reflective stuff washed off & now they are just "Road Kill" Black.

Cheers
If it's cheap and looks nice,I'll wear it.......flybyvine
Nov 16, 2001 1:37 AM
OK so some snobbery - no racing in team kit (unless you are part of the team). Don't want to confuse people when Lance comes in DFL !
re: AttireNeedSpeed
Nov 15, 2001 8:50 PM
Okay, I've read and seen enough. I've been back into road cycling for two years after playing recreational sports since college to keep in shape. I've never before seen a sport with so many condescending, arrogant elitist pricks. Who gives a flick if someone is wearing a USPS jersey and they aren't 5-8 and 140 lbs? They are supporting the sport and they are supporting a team. If someone has a nice bike, they have a nice bike and they bought what they liked. Do you guys bitch about older guys driving Vettes too? Get a life. I own Postal and Saturn jerseys and I'm 6-1 and 205. Am I going to ride the Tour or the Vuelta or USPRO? Of course not. I support cycling and American teams in a European-dominated sport. It's still okay to support your home team isn't it? For me, it comes down to the fact that it's me, my bike and the world rolling by. The elitists are just scenery on a bike ride. If we love the sport, we love the sport, no matter what size or color or type of bike we have. I can't believe these idiots can't think of better things to do than bitch about what other people look like and what bike they own. Just shut up and ride.
re: Attirekushogun
Nov 15, 2001 9:00 PM
Thank you NeedSpeed...
it might be the other way aroundET
Nov 16, 2001 6:30 AM
Some of those wearing the USPS jerseys might be the condescending, arrogant, elitist pricks. Or at least some others might think they are. That is why there is this double-edged debate which never goes away.

Is it worth wasting away our lives debating this? No, but that doesn't mean the perception some have of the typical (not necessarily you) cyclist wearing such a jersey is wrong. This sport is uniquely weird in some ways, e.g. there is a strong urge by otherwise economically rational inidviduals to shell out big bucks for the latest upgrade that offers minimal gain and a corresponding tendency to laugh at or condesecend upon others for not having it. It is not just about the bike. It is about cycling in general. The jersey and posing are parts of the whole thing. Why is it that other non-big-USA sports such as distance running don't have these particular problems?
no equipment, maybe? or uniforms? teams?dory
Nov 16, 2001 9:29 AM
nfm
re: AttireMapei Boy
Nov 19, 2001 3:30 PM
Before a ride, it is just as easy to pull on a good pair of shorts and a team racing jersey as it is to put on a pair of cut-offs and a t-shirt.

As several of the posters attest, it is important to wear something bright and garish so that folks behind windshields can see you.

The loud stuff (I have a 1999 Banesto jersey and a 1998 Mercatone Uno among other jerseys; my wife has a bunch of insanely bright, logo festooned, obscure American team jerseys) is just plain fun to wear. It is also very comfortable and practical.

In any case, an announcement to all you repressed, shrinking violets out there. Live the dream! Pretend you're Jalabert, out on a Pyrannean jaunt. Pretend you're Lancie, chewing on the competition as you're spinning up Hautacam. Have fun. Don't be so damn grim.
poseur jerseys I can get intoDog
Nov 19, 2001 4:10 PM
These are wool jerseys offered at WorldCycling.com; I want them all, and I don't care about the poseur factor.

Doug
World ChampDA
Nov 20, 2001 6:39 AM
screams ultimate poser.
not much chance of confusionDog
Nov 20, 2001 6:48 AM
Not many people would likely think the wearer was actually world champion while riding for Molteni. Not like it's a yellow jersey with "Credit Lyonnais" on it. I think it's "retro-cool".

Doug
right-oxyz
Nov 20, 2001 6:58 AM
Most won't even recognize the world champ stripes or know how to pronounce molten-eye (see?). Those that will would know that the wearer must, and I would agree that it still "screams poser". BTW, I think use of "poseur" instead of poser is pretty poser- unless you are a French speaker. But of course, you don't care about that, right?