RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


maybe one of you guys could help me out...(11 posts)

maybe one of you guys could help me out...dustin
Nov 8, 2001 10:00 PM
ok, so i've got a '00 Stumpjumper totally stock. i'd like to convert it to a SS, but not quite sure what needs to be done. especially with the rear hub...free/fixed? can someone help me out, or get me headed in the right direction?

oh, and if you were to get 1 pair of Speedplays for both road and mtb, which one's would you get? and aren't there a new pair out with 0 - 12* float (or something like that)?

yeah yeah, i know this is the RBR, but you guys seem a tad more helpful when i've asked other questions.
cool siteC-mond
Nov 8, 2001 10:29 PM
http://www.singlespeedsanonymous.com/guidelines.html
free not fixed.vanzutas
Nov 9, 2001 6:17 AM
I would say you cannot use a fixed hub. For two reasons. one is that the dropouts are not horizontal so you will need a chain tensioner (some people say there are fixed gear chain tensioners but I have never seen them). The main reason is if you are riding offroad you will need to set your pedals in certain positions to get over obsticles. A fixed gear will put your pedals wherever they happen to be. a freewheel will allow you to adjust your position.

if you are getting one pair of pedals for both get the frogs. Because the cleat is much smaller and you can walk in it. the X series cleat will most likely collect a lot of dirt offroad.

Adam
Check this out Adam and DustinMel Erickson
Nov 9, 2001 6:32 AM
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ee92070

Great discussion on the General Discussion forum of MTBR on this very topic. Yes, tensioners are available and discussed here. Dustin, you need a little more faith in your mountain biking brethren.
I am not convincedvanzutas
Nov 9, 2001 6:44 AM
I am not trying to argue with you.
I would like to know how that works/

The person owning that bike said that the effective chainstay length will change because it is full suspension therefore the chain tensioner has to take up slack just like a rear deraileur. so it cant be fixed so I don't think you could run a fixed gear with that. it is just like any other chain tensioner.
Correct.muncher
Nov 9, 2001 6:46 AM
That is not a fixie tensioner. They are not sprung.
The discussion didn't sayMel Erickson
Nov 9, 2001 7:19 AM
if it's fixed or free. I guess I just assumed fixed. Naestep could definitely clear this up. Nonetheless one could use an eccentric BB in place of horizontal dropouts.
That thing is actually pretty cool.vanzutas
Nov 9, 2001 7:13 AM
That is not a fixed gear or a single speed at all. it is a multigear rear hub. from what I have read it is the toughest thing around (i.e. Bombproof). It is actually a 14 speed internal geared hub. very well reviewed. here is the link to the reviews.

http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Hub/product_68272.shtml
See how I get in trouble for making "ass"umptions?Mel Erickson
Nov 9, 2001 7:21 AM
That is truly cool.
You're right.muncher
Nov 9, 2001 7:24 AM
That is very interesting, if a little expensive. Funny turn around again. I remember when I was a kid, lots of "racing" bikes had Sturmley Archer hub gears (3 speed, and then they totally died (actually the company closed down last year). Now - here they are again, in a slightly different guise. It's got to be a good idea for mtbs. Wonder if they are working on a 9/10 for the road? Knowing the Germans, I wouldn't bet against it...
re: maybe one of you guys could help me out...Tig
Nov 9, 2001 10:08 AM
Several road riders in here use the Frog's for road use only, and we all know that they are one of the best MTB pedals available. I'd go with them. I'll replace my SPD's on my MTB with them soon.

For road only, I have the X2's. A better value than the lighter, costly X1's. The new Zero's are the ones with adjustable 0-12 degree float. They will cost you, though. About $185 for the stainless spindle, and $285 for the Ti. Yikes!