RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2001 Specialize A1 Allez Comp Review Wanted(6 posts)

2001 Specialize A1 Allez Comp Review Wantedkevins
Nov 7, 2001 7:41 PM
Anyone have a review on this bike. I have not been able to find anything on it. How the frame is, stiff, too stiff. I know the compenents are good, ultregra. Just seeing if anyone had any info ont he bike. Thanks.
re: 2001 Specialize A1 Allez Comp Review Wantedmr.clean
Nov 8, 2001 3:05 AM
I had been riding a 1998 Allez comp. It has been a dependable, work horse of a bike. But the ride is stiff, harsh ride. I found the top tube to be long so make sure it fits you. But for the price it has been dependable bike for me. BUT MAKE SURE THE BIKE FITS YOU
bikemagic.com nmJohn-d
Nov 8, 2001 3:37 AM
Bicycling-August did a review of the A1 Elite. (nm)vanzutas
Nov 8, 2001 7:18 AM
re: 2001 Specialize A1 Allez Comp Review WantedScot_Gore
Nov 8, 2001 10:00 AM
Kevin,

I have one, but I just got it. I'm around 300 miles.
No computer yet, so I'm guessing. (I tried counting the number of times my wheel went around, but lost count in the 20,000's :) )

I'm pleased with the bike, but who isn't with a brand new toy that cost this much.

I'm over 200#'s, that's why I choose the compact alu frame. I was prepared to have a harsher ride for a frame that was not likely to flex (break) under my weight. The component content was good for the money, but you know that. IMHO the saddle Is swap worthy, but I've learned from watching the postings here - DON'T GIVE SADDLE ADVICE.

I purchased used off the classifieds on this site. I saw one 2-3 weeks ago on E-bay. It was $1300.00 including a set of rollers, it didn't get a bid. I think it was a 54mm. Check it out on the closed items, if your willing to consider used and the fit is right. I thought it was a bargain with the rollers.

Hope that helps

Scot
re: 2001 Specialize A1 Allez Comp Review WantedREMan
Nov 8, 2001 5:13 PM
Got one about 3 months ago at an end of season sale. It has a very stiff, responsive frame. Vibration and feedback from the road is tempered somewhat by the carbon fork and the Shimano wheel set - at least at the front end. This bike is quite fast, it accelerates quickly and climbs well. On the downside, the small, stiff rear triangle transmits all the bumps of the road up to the rider which can become tiring on longer (3+ hour) rides. The full Ultegra group speaks for itself as far as performance and reliability goes. A previous post mentioned that the effective top tube length is quite long - it is. However, that is what I was looking for. I'm 5'11" with a 32" inseam and need the extra top tube length for a good fit. The 55 cm frame works well. As with any bike, fit is paramount, so be sure this one works for you. Good luck.