RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Newbie looking 4 a trainer?(15 posts)

Newbie looking 4 a trainer?Money D
Nov 7, 2001 5:34 PM
I'm sick of getting out of work after dark and not being able to ride. I'm looking at getting a trainer, but don't want to spend $250. Are the $100 ones (cheap performance, minoura, blackburn models) going to be adequate? Is magnetic the way to go? Are the side loads to the skewers hard on the frame? Any great deals on one? Any info would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
ps. I'm thinking about the blackburn model pictured which is on sale at performance for $100, but blackburn has bad reviews on this site.
Why not ride after dark?Ahimsa
Nov 7, 2001 5:45 PM
Do you live in a place infested with menacing nocturnal whistle pigs?

Seriously, night riding is great and you really should try to make a go of it. Proper safety eqpt must be utilized, but commuting is such good ride time be it day or night.

Besides, you save money instead of spending it.

I'll leave the trainer question to someone else, I'd like one I guess, but don't own one. I figure I might be less inclined to ride all winter if I pick one up. All in my head I'm sure, but still....

Cheers!

A.
Why not ride after dark?I Love Shimano
Nov 7, 2001 8:03 PM
I have a Minoura Magturbo and it is just great!

FYI, Performance's trainers are actually made by Minoura.
Also, I got a trainer because I did not want to train after dark, those motorists really act blind when it's dark!
hmmmmm....Js Haiku Shop
Nov 8, 2001 6:17 AM
I like to ride after dark, so long as it's a well-lit road and i can get there on a route without much traffic. i would, however, ride more often after dark if i could bear to cough up $200+ for lights strong enough to see in the pitch dark.

also it's sometimes nice to be home riding, even if virtually gone for an hour. if the wife needs help with the little demon, err, toddler, i can stop the ride and lend a hand.

I have a minoura magturbo remote bought on sale (return) from nashbar last winter for under $100 after shipping. no problem so far.
snow and insane drivers (nm)TT
Nov 8, 2001 8:31 AM
Might want to try e-baylook271
Nov 7, 2001 6:18 PM
I got a Cyclops windtrainer for $25 last year! It might be worth your while. If not, I've heard from friends that minoura's are not worth it. Performance trainers have gotten some pretty good reviews, especially the top of the line models.
re: Newbie looking 4 a trainer?Atombomber
Nov 7, 2001 6:32 PM
I have a Blackburn MagTrakStand from a number of years ago. I don't recall how much I paid for it, but it was much mure than $100. The holding feature is similar to the one you show, and has never stressed the frame. Mine has adjustable resistance which must be done off the bike. Newer and more expensive model trainers have a bar mounted adjuster. The winters here get quite wet, and though I would prefer to ride outside, I end up riding in the basement most evenings. Leaves, water, over stressed drivers, and cold are things I don't want to deal with when it gets dark.
Performance good...dsc
Nov 7, 2001 7:52 PM
I had a Performance (can't remember the exact model) mag trainer a few years back. Some say that fluid is the way to go, but it worked fine for me. It will chew up your rear quick release, though, so be aware of that. Didn't matter to me at the time, though, as I had old mtb w/ slicks mounted on it.

-Debi
Performance good...ColnagoFE
Nov 8, 2001 8:34 AM
I just got a Performance adjustable fluid and it works great. Quiet, easy to set up, and plenty of smooth progressive resistance. I use my "other" bike on it. I'd hate to use my good bike because it seems like a lot of stress is put on the frame from trainers. Maybe I'm just being paraniod, but when I look down I can see the BB area flexing back and forth--especially if you get out of the saddle.
First of all, look at Supergo.comElefantino
Nov 7, 2001 8:50 PM
They have essentially the same trainer as the Blackburn (rebadged as "Aireon") for 79.95. And Supergo is a good site. Good people, great service.

Two: I have a Minoura Magturbo Ergo (89.95 at Supergo; I got mine from the LBS for his cost, tho) and I like it immensely. Quiet, consistent, easy to use. But that's me; others think anything less than fluid — or rollers — is cr*p. Yes, fluid is nice — I've tried it and was almost hooked until I realized that it was more than three times what I was going to pay for the mag. Case closed.

Three: Don't ride ti- or carbon-framed bikes on trainers if you're over, say, 140 pounds. You could torque the stays and munch the frame. (I have an 62cm OCLV but I use a Giant OCR 1 XL as my trainer bike — stout alu frame for my over-40 6-5, 210-pound body.)
re: Newbie looking 4 a trainer?zero1
Nov 8, 2001 5:34 AM
have u thought about rollers......
He wasn't asking about rollers idjut (nm)Tallywhacker!
Nov 8, 2001 8:35 AM
re: Newbie looking 4 a trainer?Muncherq
Nov 8, 2001 8:58 AM
Got a Tracx mag resist with bar adjust. Cheapish +/- $150, simple and no problems in 5 years.
It's noisyPat
Nov 8, 2001 9:40 AM
I own this very model. It works fine. It comes with a skewer to fit the trainer so you don't mess up your own. It has three resistance settings that are pretty easy but if you don't need to torque hard for your workout you'll be happy enough.

The downsides?
The knob is a pain in the wrist for all the twisting you do while hooking your bike up; it gets annoying if you have to take your bike back off after every workout.

It's noisy. I'll say it again. It's noisy. If you live in an apartment building your neighbors will hate your guts by mid-december because of the grating drone.

This is the cheapest one they make I think and you get what you pay for. I would not buy it again.
re: Newbie looking 4 a trainer?FloorTiger
Nov 8, 2001 2:17 PM
I second the TACX trainer. I got one a few weeks ago and it is very nice, German built, etc. I had an old Schwinn mag trainer that lasted for years with some pretty heavy use. I have never used a fluid trainer. I read some bad reviews on them here.