RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Upgrading to a commuter bike(8 posts)

Upgrading to a commuter bikeredpoint
Nov 7, 2001 3:57 PM
Right now I have a Lemond road bike that I use for riding but next spring I will be starting to courier around Washington DC and was wondering what upgrades I would need to make to the bike to make it better equiped to withstand the punishment of the streets of DC?
Strong wheelsAhimsa
Nov 7, 2001 5:05 PM
14 g 3 cross on strong rims.
Cheap seat w/ no quick release. Don't use it if it will kill ya to lose it.
25-32 size tires.
No logos.
Tape the top tube or it will grow to look like a rusted doggie chew toy.
Consider fixed or single speed if possible.
Get a good lock.
Get a good bag.
Fear the door!
Drink good beer.

Solid link: www.dccourier.com

Running the DC routes...man I'm so f*cking jealous! Enjoy yourself, that will truly be a time to remember always.

Cheers!

A.
and tires...UncleMoe
Nov 7, 2001 5:18 PM
Don't get tires that will "split" easily. There will be potholes and stuff you can't avoid. Leave the lighter racing tires on the racing bike.

I use Specialized Armidillos. At least 1500 miles without a flat, and they still don't have even the slightest look of being close to worn.
Lazy me...Ahimsa
Nov 7, 2001 5:25 PM
Say UnkyMoe, wadya pay for those Armydillos? I'd look it up but....heh heh heh!

How do they corner? I've been checking out the Rivendell Ruffy Tuffy, but the Armidillos might be alright. Glass is my mortal enemy.

Cheers!

A.
No problem...UncleMoe
Nov 8, 2001 12:57 PM
I paid $29 each on the specialized.com website. To me they ride perfectly fine. Some of the reviews were really harsh on the spinning weight. I don't notice too much starting off, but stopping I notice it a little.

Other reviews say the ride is considerably rough. I haven't noticed it one bit. Cornering is fine for me too. Just remember I am a casual touring/commuter type of rider. I like speed, but in an entertainment sort of way.

If you truly are lazy, get a set of these. You will have way less flats which means more time for riding!
Tks! [nm]Ahimsa
Nov 8, 2001 4:39 PM
re: Upgrading to a commuter bikebrider
Nov 8, 2001 6:21 AM
Agree with Ahimsa on the wheels and the one-speed thing. For flat areas, it's the best way to go. You might also consider going to a coaster brake so hand position isn't a concern in an emergency. Here's your considerations:

Simplicity -- Since it's your mode of income, you need to have something that's simple to avoid breakdown.

Anonymity -- If it looks trick or expensive, it'll disappear quickly. Any names on the frame will be a dead giveaway.

Durability -- The bike's gotta be bulletproof. Meaty tires, heavy rims.

You might want to consider cobbling a beater together. Doesn't need to be an anchor, but the Krylon paint job goes a long way keeping the bike. Fenders would be a good idea. You might consider a low end MTB, put on 1.5 slicks and drop bars (though flat bars can make for good maneuverability), redo the gearing, and you're set.
exactly.vanzutas
Nov 8, 2001 7:26 AM
Keep it cheap.

one of my freinds that was a messanger in Seattle told me that the best thing he ever did was put a kickstand on his bike. he could pull up flip it down and jump off while the bike was still moving. this was quicker so he got more jobs per day thus making more money. so I say kickstand..

Adam