RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


2002 Colnago CT1 questions/opinions desired(16 posts)

2002 Colnago CT1 questions/opinions desiredhslilly
Nov 7, 2001 10:13 AM
I am considering the purchase of one(CTF=color).
Others are Serotta Legend, Merlin/Spectrum Ultralight, Pinarello Prince or maybe a Carrera or Somec.
Price appears not to be a good criteria to distinguish.
Size maybe a factor with >=36" inseam a 61 maybe the smallest I should go.

Opinions on the Colnago forks. Id be inclined to go Woundup.

Is the Colnago seatpost an odd size(28), are the water bottle mounting screws odd sized( 3 mm)?

What are the dropouts made of?

Whats the stiffness and durability of the above machines?
Im 6"2" and should weigh in ~175lbs. I'm 44 yrs old and like to stomp on the pedals. Ideal run for this bike will be a 45 mile loop which I would like to break 2 hrs. alone.

ApPreciate any thoughts.

Howard
From a C-40 owner ...pmf1
Nov 7, 2001 10:36 AM
OK, different bike, but the geometry is the same.

1. Yes the seatpost is an odd (28 mm) size
2. Yes, the water bottle screws are funky sized too. My frame did not come with any and I had to buy them at a hardware store (no big deal)
3. The frame comes with a fork (Force I think). The fork that came with my C-40 (Star) is a very nice fork. Since you'll be paying for it, you might as well try it. I bet you'll like it.
4. Drop-outs? I dunno. C-40 are aluminium. I'd guess they are on the CT1 too.

If it were me, I'd look real hard at a Serrotta or Merlin. I think this carbon stay/ti (or al) frame combo is a fad. If carbon is so great on the rear, why not make the entire bike out of it? Carbon bikes can certianly be made to be very stiff.
From a C-40 owner ...kyroadie
Nov 7, 2001 12:02 PM
A friend of mine noticed a crack in his C-40's frame last May and is still waiting on a response from the MFG. Is this an issue with our LBS or with the MFG? The LBS is a low volume Colnago dealer.
Caveat emptorBrian C.
Nov 7, 2001 12:29 PM
In July, while making a routine shift on a routine ride, something happened with the chain and the right rear dropout on my Master X-Light snapped off. How this happened remains unclear - my riding buddy said it "exploded" off the frame - but the consequences have been very annoying.
They (the LBS and distributor) said it had to go back to Italy to have a new dropout brazed on. It was a special dropout that only Colnago has, and there are no competent blacksmiths locally to do the job - so they said.
At first, they said the bike would be back by November, but now it looks like March. I toss and turn at night, literally, wondering how much I'm going to be zinged for the repair job and shipping and handling.
The LBS has provided a loaner (a Colnago Classic) but it's not my bike.
I've been thinking about upgrading to a C-40, but this experience has given me pause.
Blame the U.S. distributor (Trialtir) - they absolutely suck!lonefrontranger
Nov 7, 2001 2:57 PM
I have 2 Colnagos, and obtaining both of them has been a nightmare. Trialtir desperately needs to be run out of Colnago's "exclusive dealer" contract by someone with better customer service savvy. The fact that the bikes are actually worth the hassle to obtain them is the only thing keeping them in business.

My Dream Plus frameset took 3 months to ship, when they already had it in stock, and when they finally shipped me the frameset, it was a 51 (I ordered a 49). Because of the delay, my shop guy (he's in Cincy, I'm in Denver) innocently enough thought it would be a good idea to have them ship direct to me, to avoid further delays. Trialtir then refused to take the wrong-size frame back because they hadn't shipped it to a dealer.

My Dream Cross (also in stock at the distributor) took about a month of daily phone calls to get them to finally ship it. We had it shipped to the shop this time, and it's waiting for a crank.

The payoff, of course is that the fabled Colnago ride is truly magical, and has been well worth every single minute of hassle.

The moral of the story is: If you want a Colnago, make sure that you:
a) order one in a size/color/model that your LBS or mail-order dealer already has in stock
b) be prepared to be *very* patient if you are an unusual size, like me.
c) perhaps should deal direct with Italy for warranty issues - you can e-mail direct to their site, and I've heard the "home office" has a much greater sense of urgency for warranty stuff.
In my case it's the Canadian distributor (nm)Brian C.
Nov 7, 2001 3:02 PM
same hereColnagoFE
Nov 7, 2001 3:18 PM
Took 3.5 months to get my MXL. I ride a 62cm so getting onet the dealer has in stock is most often out of the question. Luckily this was a crash replacement, I had a spare bike to ride in the meantime, and the main riding season was already over. I was a bit worried by the lack of warranty, but so far this has been a great bike. Seems very well built and I don't anticipate any problems that relate to construction.
Blame the U.S. distributor (Trialtir) - they absolutely suck!dave woof
Nov 7, 2001 9:23 PM
I just got my Dream Plus from Maestro-UK.com. Ordered Sep 27, at my door Nov 5th. So, about 38 days total. This is with painting in Italy - they paint for each order, so I'm told. (Actually I missed UPS so I picked it up on the 6th.) Mine was 61cm. Colnago measures center to bottom of seat clamp - insane... It's really a 59 c-t. At any rate, think total was < $1200 total. Pretty happy overall.
Paint is really nice (Geo) but like someone else said, it scratches if you look at it too hard. Really perks me off.

my $.02
TrialtirTig
Nov 8, 2001 11:43 AM
A riding buddy who is a Houston cop visited Trialtir a few weeks ago across town. The sales manager took him for a tour of the warehouse and was very pleasant. These guys are pure Italian. He said they could only sell to stores and not directly, but since the cop has an Italian last name, they might be able to sell him a CT1 with 10 speed Record for about $3800. I'm tempted to change my name and borrow the uniform!

Trialtir has managed to secure the middle man spot for Colnago in the USA. They are making BIG bucks, yet don't offer any value added service. I'd consider going through BicycleWorldUSA.com for a Colnago. I wonder how long they will be able to get away with not using Trialtir before the good ol' "offer you can't refuse" is made? It doesn't just happen in the movies!
Thats a bummerpmf1
Nov 8, 2001 7:47 AM
If I were you, I'd find a local framebuilder to fix it for you. Come on, its a steel bike -- can't be that hard to repair. Certianly cheaper than going to Italy. If my C-40 broke, I'd call some U.S. carbon fabricators to see if they could fix it before sendng it to Colnago. God knows how long that would take, or if they'd even fix it for that matter.

From what I hear, C-40's don't have a very large failure rate unlike some other carbon bikes, notably Trek. Someone here was harping about how great Trek is because they fixed his bike 3 different times. Good God, the paint peels off, it comes apart, etc and he recommends getting one because the company is great at fixing the problems? I'd rather have a bike that's not breaking down so much.
Definitely 61McAndrus
Nov 7, 2001 11:10 AM
Don't know the CT1 so can't speak to the other issues but I'd go with a 61cm frame. I have a 35" inseam and 61cm fits me just fine.
re: 2002 Colnago CT1 questions/opinions desiredcioccman
Nov 7, 2001 11:21 AM
Beware, this is not law as I'm not familiar with Merlin's measurements. However, if you're comparing Merlins to Pinarellos, a 61cm in each could be very significantly differently sized. Every Italian bike I've ever had measures c to c on the seat tube and every American bike I've had measures c to t. So, if you're looking at a 61cm Pinarello, the c to t measurement will likely be something like 63cm or 63.5cm and the top tube will likely be significantly longer than the Merlin's 61cm top tube. My two current rigs are Italian and American, this is exactly the case. One is "labeled" two centimeters smaller than the other though their measurments are almost entirely identical.
yes, double check standover height!nfm
Nov 7, 2001 11:42 AM
nfm
Just ordered an 02 CT1CT1
Nov 7, 2001 9:36 PM
The ride on this frame is fabled!

I'd write Mike at Maestro-uk.com with your questions. The answers you are getting here (about the CT1) are either wrong or too generic to be of any use. You should also post over on the velonews web site as there are some experienced CT1 riders over there.

Good luck
JohnG
re: 2002 Colnago CT1 beats up riderPaul
Nov 8, 2001 9:16 AM
Met a rider who had just purchased a new CTI. His other frame is a Colnago stee, and he loves it. The CTI was a beauty to look at, and I asked him how he liked it. He said it was beating him up (80 mile ride), and that his hands were numb as well as his butt. He had the force fork. I was shocked, here is supposely the best of two worlds, carbon and ti, and he's taking a beating. I asked him about the fit, and he said it was similar to his steel bike. I have friends who have Merlins, and they love them, so I don't know what to say about the CT1 except take it for a long ride before buying it.
"Colnago C40 B-Stay / CT-1 B-Stay + free Carbon Crank and WheelsPrince
Nov 8, 2001 6:02 PM
Contact me and I''ll give you the most fantastic deal on the Colnago C-40 B-Stay 2002 + Campagnolo Record 10. I'll throw in a free Campagnolo Carbon Crank and a free set of wheels (Campagnolo Neutron - Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL - Campagnolo EURUS) - email - italianbikes@mac.com