RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Dave Scott Bike(12 posts)

Dave Scott BikeBro
Nov 7, 2001 9:09 AM
A coworker is thinking about getting into cycling and short triathalons. He found a Dave Scott bike that he is considering. The story is, the bike is about 10+ yrs old, very low miles and has been hanging in a garage (for most of the 10 years).

Can you give me any info on the bike? Who mfgd the bike? What should he look for when test riding the bike, after all it hasn't been ridden in 10 years. If he purchases the bike I recommended he take to a LBS for a tune up. What things should he make sure the lbs look at, replace, regrease, etc.?

Thanks,
Bro
It was an ok mid-level bike-not a racer. Dave ScottMB1
Nov 7, 2001 9:22 AM
won the Ironman a bunch of times and made some $$$ off his name. It's a project bike if it hasn't been touched for 10 years, all the lube and grease is caked now and will need to be replaced along with the brake pads and tires. Easy a $120-150 job.

Not a bad ride if it fits and hasn't been crashed.
re: Dave Scott Bikecioccman
Nov 7, 2001 9:33 AM
Firstly, I have no information on Dave Scott bikes. You did ask for what he should look at when test riding. Well, to get started, I would suggest he get a bike with something of a decent fit. If he's just getting into cycling, he won't know much about it and will likely not have an opinion on how stretched out or how much drop he would like on the bike. Furthermore, this will change once he has put on a few hundred miles.

Beware, there are some who say to disregard standover height, however, I have yet to see any experienced rider EVER that has no standover clearance on his street ride (non-specialty) ride. If this person is built like most people i.e., no apelike long arms or extraordinarily long legs or short legs, starting with an inch or so of standover clearance will put him in a generally ok fit for his first bike.

Watch for rust, etc. 10 years non-ridden? Man, I'd say DEFINITELY look elsewhere. You could have big problems with all the bearings and moving parts, dead springs on ders, frozen hubs, headset, bottom bracket. Cables are likely brittle. This day in age, a decent brand new 105 equipped bike can be had for the tune of $1000 or less in many places.
I have no standover clearence.vanzutas
Nov 7, 2001 9:37 AM
I don't think that I can stand flat footed on my road bike but then again I see no reason to. I keep one foot on the pedal and lean to the left. never been a problem.

Adam
Thats what I ride.vanzutas
Nov 7, 2001 9:34 AM
It is made by Centurion. It is a Tange (Japanese steel) lugged frame. I rode it with no upgrades until this year when I put 8 speed sti on it. it is probably 6 speed right now. it is a solid bike. mine came with shimano 600 on it. check for rust around the bottom bracket. Cables should all be replaced.

Adam
Price for bikeBro
Nov 7, 2001 10:31 AM
Thanks for all the comments. What is a fair price for the bike? Assuming it hasn't been crashed and no rust.

Thanks again,
bro
consider thisJs Haiku Shop
Nov 7, 2001 10:46 AM
I bought the same model bike in winter of this year from a friend; was her husband's old bike. it had been rusting and dry-rotting in her garage for a few years, and was in awful condition. $75. shimano 600 and sun rims.

bought the necessary park tools to remove the cranks and bb, also pulled tires and tape off wheels, seatpost, saddle, stem, bars, hoods, brakes, downtube shifters, etc., and cleaned everything pretty well.

put the whole mess minus frame on ebay and the auction ended around $200.

personally, i wouldn't give more than $100 for the bike you're describing. that, plus $150 more to get it in minimal operating order, could be used towards a decent, and more recent, used bike. heck, for just a couple hundred more than THAT he could get a brand new road bike, provided he's not looking for style points, which i'll assume he's not, given his first choice.
Complete agreement. nmcioccman
Nov 7, 2001 10:53 AM
Take it to a couple of LBS'sStraightblock
Nov 7, 2001 10:31 AM
before he buys it & get estimates on a complete overhaul-repacking all bearings, new tires, cables, tape, etc. The previous estimate in this thread of $120-$150 is probably close. Keep in mind that it's probably a 6 speed drivetrain & that stuff is getting hard to find. If the drivetrain is in good shape a newbie will get a couple of years out of it before the chain & freewheel wear out. By then he should know if he's into it & can decide how he wants to upgrade.
Might be a good deal forscottfree
Nov 7, 2001 12:42 PM
someone familiar with old bikes who likes fooling with them and getting them back on the road. If I could get it for $50-75 bucks, I'd take it even if it didn't fit. I'm sure I could find a friend or family member it WOULD fit. But for a rookie who just THINKS he might 'get into cycling and short triathlons,' I'd probably advise a pass.
re: Dave Scott Bikeflying
Nov 7, 2001 4:36 PM
Wow that was my 1st road bike ;-)
Centurion brand Pink & Yellow !
LOL
The tri shop that sold it to me said yup thats your size allright. It was like a 58cm C-C
I actually ride a 54 C-T

That was back in 87 I think? I kept it for a year then got
a bike that fit.

It was a good bike though & had Shimano 105 stuff on it.
Good entry level bike & I agree with the others here.
If he can get it really cheap it would be fine to see if
your pal wants to stick with biking or not.

Although sometimes a good bike will make that decision easier for him.
re: Dave Scott BikeScott
Nov 8, 2001 6:20 PM
...Yeah, it was an 80s-ugly steel bike made by Centurion. I remember an equally revolting teal green one my Dad had. The thing is, the D Scott had no triathlon pedigree whatsoever (unlike it's namesake)...not that many bikes circa 1987 did. If your friend is really interested in an economy tri bike, have him look into a used Q-Roo or 'Dale...the first two companies who made affordable tri-beasts in the early 90s. The former was originally in steel (the Zero Gravity if memory serves) and the latter in typically OS'ed aluminum (the R700). Even Scott offered the Waimea (which had a respectable spec) until about 1997. Your friend should be able to find any one of those for less than 5 Bengies...and it'll take less LBS work to get it street ready.

By way of comparison, The Man (Dave) used to ride a Carbonframes (Calfee) and currently rides a Griffen.

Good luck and safe riding.