RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


performance pedals(12 posts)

performance pedalskm
Nov 1, 2001 6:46 PM
i've been using platforms, and performance "forte classic" are on sale for $35. they're LOOK compatible. anyone tried them? i've never used clipless before and don't know much about them; could a LOOK type pedal be used for commuting? could i use normal shoes with a clipless pedal? thanks for info.

link: http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=6104&Store=KWfindPerformance%2E
re: performance pedalsmetonymy3
Nov 1, 2001 7:08 PM
I don't think I'd use Look pedals for commuting, simply because they're really bad for walking in. The cleat protrudes from the bottom of the shoe, because Look is only compatible with road shoes, which don't have much of a sole.

MTB shoes and pedals are probably better for commuting. SPD cleats are small, and will work with any MTB shoes. With these, you'll be able to walk around, and usually MTB pedals are double sided so they'll probably be easier to enter after you stop at a stoplight during your commute (unless you're really good at a trackstand :-)

You can get some double sided SPD pedals at Nashbar for $20. They're seriously entry level, but they'll beat platforms!

And, I'm assuming that "regular shoes" means street shoes -- sneakers, etc. These won't work with clipless pedals, you'll have to buy cycling specific shoes which you can put cleats on. If you want to use street shoes, stick with platforms.

A nice middle-of-the-road option might be some toe clips and straps. You can use street shoes with them, and they beat the heck out of simple platforms. Good luck.

Chris
Here's an additional suggestion...NewRoadBiker
Nov 1, 2001 8:00 PM
If you do get cliples pedals for your road bike, and btw, they *are* the way to go...wish I had found this out long ago for my mountain bike, then you can get a set of clip-in toeclip adapters for your clipless pedals in case you ever need to ride with normal shoes. Check out the following link:

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=347&Store=Bike

or check with your LBS. Hope this helps! :o)

-Darren

http://DarrenEllis.com
Darren@DarrenEllis.com
re: performance pedalsMcAndrus
Nov 2, 2001 4:58 AM
Personally I think a Look pedal can be used for commuting - assuming you don't walk much between your start and stop. SPDs do have smaller cleats but I found the cleats a less stable walking surface than Look cleats. My feet wobble more on SPD cleats than Look cleats.

Also, I have a pair of Performance Look-type pedals in a box on the shelf - they're my spare pedals in case I break something, which I have done.

I think for the purpose you're suggesting, they'll do just fine.
Oops - forgot the caveatMcAndrus
Nov 2, 2001 5:11 AM
Let me add a bit I forgot. Looks are suitable if you're using road shoes and not mountain shoes.

I'm not aware of any brand of mountain shoes that will accept a Look cleat - though there may be some. They seem to gravitate to SPD type cleats.

That said, when I commuted I used road shoes because I didn't do any walking between home and work.
Wellgo crapRusty McNasty
Nov 2, 2001 5:37 AM
I had a pair of these pedals, exactly the same as the Performance and Nashbar brands. Only the label and colors are different. The cleats they send are NOT look cleats. Look cleats work with these pedals, but not the other way.
Anyway, the damn things broke the third time I used them. The plastic hinge on the clip mechanism broke off, leaving the pedal useless.
I had bought them as a blowout purchase, no returns. So, I pulled the thing apart. The outer part of the spindle is a cheap sleeve bearing, and the inner ball bearings are very small. The casting was adequate but rough, and the threads of the spindle are chrome-plated.
Of course, you can not use these pedals with street shoes. Or with any Look-style pedal. I use look pedals for commuting every day, with road shoes.
Don't buy these things. They are cheap crap. Spend a few $$ more for some real Look brand pedals and some decent shoes.
Wellgo crapDINOSAUR
Nov 2, 2001 8:20 AM
IMHO so far every Performance brand product I have purchased has proven to be substandard. My $.02 is that you are better off shelling out the extra cash and buying a known brand product such as Look, Time, Speedplay, Shimano, Campagnolo, Ritchey, yada, yada, yada.

I'd think also if you do any type of walking you would want to go with an SPD and mb shoes. The Looks are difficult to walk on and the cleats wear down almost overnight. You can buy rubber covers to go over the cleats but they are difficult to put and unless your shoes are off.

I use Looks as I like the wide platform and easy entry. The only walking I do is walking my bike back and forth out and into my garage.

If you want to go with SPD's I've had good look with Ritchy Logic Pro's. Not too expensive at around $80.00.

I'd avoid the Performance pedals, but's that's just my opinion and opinions are like you know what's...
Wellgo = RitchyMiklos
Nov 2, 2001 8:51 AM
It seems that I read somewhere that Wellgo made at least some of the Ritchey pedals. Wellgo makes pedals for several different companies. I have had great luck with both "Wellgo" pedals and the "Ritchey" pedals.

The best pedals in the world? Not by any means, but certainly more than adequate. I have Wellgos from Nashbar on my MTB with 5000+ miles and working good as new yet with the original cleats.

Miklos (cheapskate)
In a bind.vanzutas
Nov 2, 2001 6:21 AM
I wear street shoes with clipless pedals on a regular basis as long as I am not going far. I went wountain biking for an hour the other day with boots and spd pedals. If you are always going to wear street shoes then it is pointless to get clipless pedals though. but if on occasion you want to go a mile or two with your sneakers on, I wouldn't worry about it.

Adam
re: performance pedalsLC
Nov 2, 2001 10:21 AM
The Look type pedals may appear like a big flat plateform, but what you will feel without cleats in normal shoes is 2 points at the front and rear of the pedal and is not even comfortable to get around the block.

If you do use a road shoe with a Look cleat to commute, it should be fine as long as you always use some rubber cleat covers to walk. Road shoes are great for riding, but not so great for walking, so I would recommend a SPD pedal with a mountain bike shoe. Some of the casual mountain bike shoes are more like a hiking boot, which are almost like normal shoes. There are even sandals with SPD cleat attachments as well as other casual shoes that look like a tenis shoes.
re: performance pedalsnn23
Nov 2, 2001 11:31 AM
Not entirely to the point, but here it is anyway.

I bought my first clipless pedals a couple of weeks ago from Performance - Topo ATB Clipless pedals for about $25 on sale and am pretty happy w/ those. I've used them on about 6 rides so far and the only problem I've had is clipping-in takes me anywhere from about 1 to 5 seconds at traffic lights. I think this is because of my inexperience rather than the pedals. If getting moving fast at the change of the light is important I just cross the intersection without clipping in (treating the shoes like regular shoes). No problems doing that (yet). Also the change from toe-clips to ATB shoes feels minimal as I can still walk outside w/ almost with no change in gait or inside w/out having to worry about scratching the polished wooden floor. I'm not sure you can do that with the LOOK pedal/shoe system. Why, I could also bike to work, wear those shoes the whole day and not get too many stares either.

Extract: Consider SPD/MTB pedal/shoes system if using clipless for first time. One can cycle short distances without clipping in with those.
re: performance pedalsKStone
Nov 2, 2001 1:27 PM
The most reliable look type pedals I've ever used were made by Shimano. I say were as shimano no longer offer these pedals.

I have several pair of performance "forte classic" pedals that work with Look "red" cleats. I find the release to be stiff at the lightest setting. My fix is to dissassemble them and remove one of the springs.

These are not the best pedals on the market but they're the cheapest when outfitting 3 road bikes. Look has since come out with a cheap pedal at around $50.

The "Forte" pedals come with funky cleats to work around the Look patent.

Nashbar has a simular pedal that require 5 minutes of modification work with a file to work with Look cleats.
KStone