RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Info about Cinelli bike anyone??(11 posts)

Info about Cinelli bike anyone??Peter E
Oct 31, 2001 5:20 AM
Do anyone have any information on this bike that's in the Interbike showcase??
I really like it and would appriciate any info about it.
re: Info about Cinelli bike anyone??nestorl
Oct 31, 2001 6:45 AM
the new cinelli Aliante. Alu with carbon stays

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=0&parentid=17384&company=Cinelli&secid=7559&subid=1818

get the scattante airplane for 1/2 the price -- same bike :-)

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=0&parentid=17542&company=Scattante&secid=7559&subid=1818
Cinelli unicacolker
Oct 31, 2001 7:10 AM
sloping top tube. between the proxima and the starship on cinelli line. don't know which aluminum series is used on the tubing.
are you sure the scattante is the same quality?
Cinelli unicaColombian Climber
Oct 31, 2001 5:45 PM
check my reply to mat. I have the airplane and the cinelli unica and I like the airplane more. The unica looks nicer though but the scattante feels and responds as a better frame.
re: Info about Cinelli bike anyone??morey
Oct 31, 2001 7:34 AM
The Cinelli Bike sure is pretty, is the Scattante the same frame, same quality? I am looking for a frame for my son, the Airplane would be one heck of a deal!
Supergo had the Alliante on sale this weekend for $895JS
Oct 31, 2001 8:06 AM
That's a Columbus Altec 2+ frame with carve carbon seatstays and fork, crazy deal. Almost bought it just because.
Not aluminum at all...CrazyMan
Oct 31, 2001 10:50 AM
It's a unica...last year's was made with Columbus Zonal tubing, so I'd be mighty surprised if this were an aluminum bike.
It's got carbon stays, much like the aliante.
Better comparison would be the scattante zonal...but this has a much better fork, stays, and build.
beauty of a bike, eh.
aluminum indeed.colker
Oct 31, 2001 11:48 AM
cineli's unica, proxima, alliante and starship are built with aluminum. at least the ones i've seen..
the nautilus is a foco steel frame, rare and beautifull with a carve carbon fork, and the supercorsa is made with neuron tubes and chromed steel lugs.
Zonal tubing is alu, Zona is steel nmclimbo
Oct 31, 2001 12:38 PM
nm
Hardly the same bikematt
Oct 31, 2001 3:39 PM
Because two frames are made of the same tubing doesn't make it the same frame. Scattante is made in Taiwan for Supergo. It might have the same tubing, but that is where the similarities end. That would be like saying a Ford Escort and a Cadilac are the same because they are made in the same city and out of the same materials. Scattante is probably a good deal granted, but it has nowhere near the craftsmanship the Cinelli would have. Just look at the welds in both pictures. The Cinelli has smoothe welds where the Scattante has bulky and rough welds that look like they are made of Play-dough.
I have both...Colombian Climber
Oct 31, 2001 5:43 PM
I have the airplane which I got 2 weeks ago and the cinelli Unica which I got from GVHBIKES this past summer. Gave the unica to my GF (too small) and got the scattante. YOu are right, the welds in the unica look a bit nicer, but the my old cannodale looked even better and it was a POS!.

The airplane rides nicer than my unica, and it is lighter and more responsive. An Amazing frame for $750.

I admit though that for some people having something made in taiwan is a no no. I am pretty happy with it and truly feel that having the italian sticker and the nice welds is not worth the extra 700 bucks.