RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ouch!!! Saddle Recommendations?(11 posts)

Ouch!!! Saddle Recommendations?aet
Oct 30, 2001 10:26 AM
currently use a san marco era. it hurts because it is either 2 narrow or 2 hard and i have used it for about three months without getting better. need one that is not too wide and bulky but not quite a brick, either.
Terry Fly or LiberatorMe Dot Org
Oct 30, 2001 10:32 AM
...the good thing about a Terry is that they have a money-back guarantee. The liberator is wider (and heavier) but more cushy.
guarantee!?!? that's one i'll check. (NM)aet
Oct 30, 2001 10:38 AM
From the Terry web site:Me Dot Org
Oct 30, 2001 10:51 AM
"Ride it for 60 days. If you don't like it, return it to the place where you bought it for a refund or exchange, whichever you choose. "

http://terrybikes.forest.net/FAQ/3.html#4
I have a Fly and love it! NMLazy
Oct 30, 2001 10:51 AM
try:DAC
Oct 30, 2001 11:36 AM
http://www.wallbike.com
Saddles are like opinions. Everyone's got one.Elefantino
Oct 30, 2001 2:07 PM
For example, I swear by the Selle XO (the non-gel version; gel is useless), which was standard equipment on many low-end road bikes. But my son, who has my build, thinks it's a piece of cr*p.

He likes the Era.

I've heard good things from our club members about:
• Selle ProLink (pricey, tho)
• Terry Fly
• Selle Royal Shark (it's gel, but unlike others is ALL gel, which I guess makes a difference).

Good luck. Let your backside do some testing and listen to it.
Saddles are like opinions. Everyone's got one.Eric
Oct 30, 2001 7:40 PM
Yup, there's just no way to even say that saddle A will work for person B.

Interestingly, I rode for about 6 years on various models of the Selle Italia Turbomatics (original, II, III). Never had a problem, until late this summer when I started to suffer from some chafing and pain. I had not changed anything with respect to position or equipment (very few changes in position in the past 6 years), but over time my pedaling style must have changed enough to create problems. I am currently testing out the San Marco Era, which I like because of its narrow profile (the chafing is GONE), but I do find it a little flat across the top compared to a Flite or Turbomatic which have a more pronounced concave shape. Time will tell....
That's funny. i have an era and hate it.(NM)aet
Oct 31, 2001 6:49 AM
stand up the whole rideouch
Oct 31, 2001 12:23 AM
I saw that onceMcAndrus
Oct 31, 2001 7:02 AM
I saw a crit once where one of the racers had lost his saddle about halfway through the race. It came off on the backside of the course so I didn't see how it came off.

He rode the full race and the last half with just a seatpost sticking up. Talk about courage!