RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Colnago mountain bike?(36 posts)

Colnago mountain bike?Dog
Oct 29, 2001 9:23 AM
Is that a Colnago full suspension mountain bike I see in that photo at the top of the General forum page? Here's the enlarged photo. Anyone know anything about this?

Doug
YepTJeanloz
Oct 29, 2001 9:39 AM
Colnago makes MTBs. They aren't often imported into the US. Ferrari designed one for them this year- to match last year's road bike, and Schumacher will be the 1st lucky owner.
gee whizDog
Oct 29, 2001 9:45 AM
Oh, so you just need to be a F1 champion and make $20 million or so a year to get one?

I can't find any info on them on the Colnago site, but then it still lists as "News" something from April 2000.

Just curious about them, sort of like Lamborghini curious.

Dog
Colnago CF2 Limited Editionbreck
Oct 29, 2001 9:49 AM
see.....

http://www.trialtir-usa.com/colnagoproducts/cf1/cf2.htm

cheers,
breck
bgcc
thanks for infoDog
Oct 29, 2001 10:01 AM
Now, imagine that bike with slick tires, drop handlebars and a full Record group? Might be a good rough road bike, particularly with the suspension lock out mechanisms...

Dog
Crazy Italians :)breck
Oct 29, 2001 10:34 AM
As you may know Lamborghini & Ferrari butted heads and the result was better exotic motor cars for those could afford them. Now that Ernesto is building exotic bikes for the Ferrari clan, would be interesting if one of the Lamborghini clan would take up the challenge :)

For a good read, see http://www.lambo.dk/history/bob7.htm . Of course for me it would always be the Shelby Ford GT-40 or the Gulf prepared Porsche 917 that Steve McQueen piloted in the flic Le Mans.

As for so called mountain bikes here in the Cuyamaca Mountains, i still rely on the Klein non-suspended ride and have mod'd the OCLV some as you have your Colnago for better local road climbing. I have a Colnago signature quill stem am putting on my "project" cross bike but about as far as have gotten with Ernesto. My road bike choice is TTT Status quill and MTB is Syncros Cattleprod quill; both with King headsets of course :) Build all my bikes from scratch but ain't as cheep as the chickens :)

Cheers,
breck
bgcc
Yeah, butMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 10:56 AM
for street legal give me the Cobra, any flavor, or is it the MB Gullwing coupe, or the Ferrari Dino (love those looks).
67 Ferrari 275 please.JS
Oct 29, 2001 4:57 PM
The 275 is one of my alltime favorites. You know the Dino isn't actually a Ferrari. It was built during the Fiat days with a Fiat designed V-6 I believe. If you look, it doesn't actually have a Ferrari emblem on it, they all say Dino. Ferrari clubs don't recognize them.
67 Ferrari 275 please.grzy
Oct 29, 2001 5:56 PM
California Spyder or a Super America.

Kinda funny for the Ferrari clubs to llok down their nose at the Dino - after all Enzo named it in honor of son that died. Not sure Enzo would be too happy about that. But then the car clubs can just be forums to practice being snooty. I'd drive the crap out of mine and keep it dirty - just to piss 'em off (like I did with my Big Healy). Seems that the concurs shows have no problem accepting the Dino, gasp, they even let them park in the same area.
Shelby AC Cobra #0001? :)breck
Oct 30, 2001 8:01 AM
Ahhh, Cobras! S#itt! ...if only had bought one back in '67 or so when they were a mere $8K?. Now the originals are fetching $250K or so. Ol' Shel first looked at the Austin Healy (last imported 1967), but went with the English AC Bristol alum body instead; added wider fender flares for the bigger tires; Ford 262CID V8 from Iacocca as Chev wouldn't give 'em an engine as they wanted no comp. w/ Corvette; Borg Warner three speed; Jaguar suspension. His R&D was Texan cowhand simple :) ....when something broke beef it up (actually Shel was a chicken farmer, hence the bib overalls). His first shop (1961?) was in Santa Fe Springs, Ca. and then moved to the old Lance Reventlow factory in Venice, Ca. The story is Shelby took a brillo pad to the first ones to "brighten" up the alum skin.

"COBRA" is an acronym for "COopper-BRAised". Crosley during W.W. II built a
portable light weight field generator copper braised. Of course the snake emblem got the nod much like the original Mustang was thought up as the P-51 fighter, but the pony got the nod, etc.

BTW, Ford has rescinded the "Cobra" moniker from AC's use. This ain't a better idea, IMHO.

Cheers,
breck
bgcc
Save your cashMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 10:22 AM
and get this. All the go and a fraction of the dough.
Not near as sexyColnagoFE
Oct 29, 2001 10:26 AM
you gotta admit that Colnogo MTB is one sexy bike. Not sure how it rides, but it sure looks nice.
No doubt...Mel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 10:51 AM
but I'm not rushing to be one of the first 1,000.
Wouldn't want to ride itColnagoFE
Oct 29, 2001 11:06 AM
Can you imagine scratching that thing all up? I know how much abuse most MTBs take and that pretty paint would be chipped up in no time!
Ho Humgrzy
Oct 29, 2001 11:12 AM
Looks like pretty standard rear suspension design. Ultimately it seems that you're just paying for the paint, badging and import duties. Oh and the curved to top - FWIW

You want exotic - check out the new ti Seven with the Maverick (Turner) suspension design. Of course it sports a boring ti finish - should set you back more cake than the most exotic road bike - plus you get to abuse it.
yeah that is a nice bikeColnagoFE
Oct 29, 2001 12:45 PM
Excel sports sells the Turner model in AL and it's still like $5500 or something rediculous. Any idea how much Seven charges? Must be a fortune.
actually cheapercyclopathic
Oct 29, 2001 4:06 PM
Duo 3195$ for frame
Really?grzy
Oct 29, 2001 5:47 PM
Wow - I was thinking it had to be more than that. Of course you then have to buy the fork and the rest of the kit - should be able to break $5,000K w/out too much trouble - maybe $6K if you go XTR, nice disc brakes and Mavic tubless UST. Seems like a lot for something that gets ghost riden and thrown down the trail and into trees ahead of you. Then there's always next year's hot new suspension design which hasn't been invented yet. Gonna stick to recyclable aluminum - can always sell it to a beer can company.
Al is bettercyclopathic
Oct 30, 2001 5:31 AM
for FS frames it is stiffer Ti is too flexy
5k? let's see fork ~400$ XT disks 250$, disk wheels ~300$
I think you can build it for ~4,600 if you don't go too exotic..

kinda mood point excercise there's enough good FS bikes in 1K-2K range. Drop another 200$ to make them lighter

is it road or mtb review? :o)
Trick bikes for crow-bar wallets :)...breck
Oct 30, 2001 8:27 AM
I agree. My observation here on the fire trails in the San Diego Laguna and Cuyamaca Mountains is that the trick-bike-boyz won't ride if there are not enuff other trail riders to "admire" their "purchase". And they are careful of course not to scratch 'em ..an oxymoron for MTB, esp. single track ...what's left to legally ride if you are not on a true pony.

Much like you're commento re: keeping the Dino dusty, etc., me refuses to add suspension to the Klein just to annoy "them" as i pass on the tuff down hill sections of the park ignoring the 15mph speedo-limit as have no computer nohow :)

It's kinda funny in a way but when Ernesto was around he forbade the boyz to run suspension forks in the Paris-Roubaix , and "made them" use the straight blade.

"Boing-Bikes" ...front & rear suspension AND Soft Ride suspension stem :)

Older Morgans! ...now there's real suspension you may agree. But who has Wentworth(sp) wrenches ..we always used the Metric-Crescent" :)

cheers grzy,
breck
looks likeLance
Oct 29, 2001 12:44 PM
a Trek Fuel 90, right down to the paint job and decals
NOT! nmCT1
Oct 29, 2001 3:13 PM
Major differenceMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 3:22 PM
although not readily apparent at first glance. The design and location of the linkage on the Giant NRS causes the shock to actually lock out when pedaling forces are applied as in uphill cranking or sprinting out of the saddle. This is not the case on the Trek. The pivot point on the Trek is located above the connection with the rear shock. In addition the NRS has an additional pivot on the chain stay. This combination makes the difference. Not to say the Trek is not a good design, it is, and does a good job of reducing pedal induced bob also.
nice bike ... I have one... butCT1
Oct 29, 2001 3:12 PM
It still lacks a lock out rear shock. Shame on you Giant!

My Dean softail is still more fun to ride.

YMMV
JohnG
Not neededMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 3:23 PM
The suspension design effectively locks out the rear shock.
NOT.... read again NOT@!!!!!!CT1
Oct 29, 2001 4:52 PM
Damn... this BS just won't stop will it!

I own the God-damned thing... don't tell me what it will do!

Gheeees
JohnG
Holy Cow!Mel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 6:34 PM
So do I and it works for me. Sure you've got it set up right?
Riiiiiiiiiiiight!grzy
Oct 29, 2001 5:50 PM
I got some land in Florida for you, cheap.
Hey grzyMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2001 7:02 PM
Ever ridden one? I have. I own one. It works. If you don't believe me then maybe Mountain Biking Magazine, http://www.mtbiking.com/boy2001/index.html or Giant, http://www.giantbicycle.com/us/keytechs/050.010.015.asp, or the reviews on the sister site MTBR.com, http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Bike_full/product_74739.shtml

The design plain works, virtually no bob.
It takes a special kind of person...MikeC
Oct 29, 2001 10:27 AM
...to ride a CF1 or CF2. Even if I could afford one, there is no way I'd be secure enough to ride one in public. I'm sure they're great bikes, but they scream "poseur" louder than a UPS Trek ridden by a fat guy in full team kit and Converse All Stars!
What's wrong with Converse All Stars?bikedodger
Oct 29, 2001 10:33 AM
I just looked down at my feet and lo and behold, I am wearing Converse All Stars. I you buy me a UPS Trek and full team kit, I'll gladly scream "poseur" at myself!

Mike
What's wrong with Converse All Stars?MikeC
Oct 29, 2001 11:49 AM
They're kinda bulky for toe clips, and the top bar keeps getting caught in the laces. However, the little stars on the ankles go well with the USPS paint scheme. Early 70's vintage Puma Banana training shoes work better with the Colnago, though, and the yellow color complements the red paint nicely.
What's wrong with Converse All Stars?Dog
Oct 29, 2001 12:37 PM
I remember back in junior high when I thought Converse All Stars were "The" shoe to get. I aspired to them. But, they were a couple bucks more expensive than the generic shoes my parent bought for me. (I think they were about $10 at the time.)

I ran thousands of miles in them. Got shin splints so bad I could hardly walk. Then I disovered Nike Waffle Trainers. Never went back.

Of course, all of these were awful for cyling. Could feel the pedals coming through the sole on every stroke.

Doug
How about Bata Bikers?Brooks
Oct 29, 2001 4:50 PM
A powder blue color with upturned toes so they looked like elf shoes. Stiff but good for touring (no cleat so you could walk around in them). I used them in '78 for cross continent tour.
Bata Bikers! Good God!scottfree
Oct 30, 2001 8:01 AM
I'd totally forgotten about them. My first real bike shoe. Wonder how many old timers on this board owned Bata Bikers?
Specialized holds rights to Horst linkcyclopathic
Oct 29, 2001 12:42 PM
so unless Colnago cut a deal with Spec they can't sell it in US

Agree there're many efficient FS bikes out there (Giant, FSR etc) you can get one for ~1000-2000$ drop aerobars and fast tires (Conti makes GP in 26"x1" ;)