RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700(8 posts)

First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700KMan
Oct 26, 2001 5:40 AM
First road bike:
Looking at the following 2 2002 Cannonales for a 1st road bike, any opinions on the R700 w/ upgrading in mind later on or the R900 with minimal upgrades. Is the R900 worth the difference of $200/300. Appears a major difference is the wheelset (Mavic Cosmos). I know from my MTB experience that these prebuilt wheelsets are VERY overrated and much better to custom hand build.

Any opinions or suggestions?

Cannodale R700:
CAAD 5 Frame
Slice Prodigy Si, alloy steerer
Rims Mavic CXP 21, 32 hole
Hubs Cannondale Expert
Spokes DT Champion
Tires Continental Ultra 3000, 700 x 23c
Crank Cannondale Expert double, 39/53
Chain 9-speed
Rear Cogs Shimano Tiagra 9-speed, 12-25
Bottom Bracket Shimano 105
Front Derailleur Shimano Tiagra
Rear Derailleur Shimano 105
Shifters Shimano 105
Handlebars Deda 310
Stem Cannondale 3-D forged aluminum
Headset Campagnolo Record Hiddenset
Brakeset Cannondale Expert
Brakelevers Shimano 105
Saddle Cannondale Expert
Seatpost Kalloy SP-248

R900
CAAD 5 Frame
Slice Prodigy Si, Time manufactured
Rims Mavic Cosmos
Hubs Mavic Cosmos
Spokes Mavic Cosmos
Tires Continental Grand Prix 3000, 700 x 23c
Crank Shimano 105, 39/53
Chain 9-speed
Rear Cogs Shimano 105 9-speed, 12-25
Bottom Bracket Shimano 105 Octalink
Front Derailleur Shimano 105
Rear Derailleur Shimano Ultegra
Shifters Shimano Ultegra
Handlebars Cinelli B-Groove
Stem Cannondale 1 1/8", threadless
Headset Campagnolo Record Hiddenset
Brakeset Shimano 105
Brakelevers Shimano Ultegra
Saddle Cannondale Expert
Seatpost Cannondale Competition

Thanks
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700morey
Oct 26, 2001 5:47 AM
If you plan on an upgrade, they both have CAAD5 frame. I would purchase the cheapest.
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700John-d
Oct 26, 2001 5:49 AM
Similar decision to mine between the 2001 R500 Vs R800. Go for the highest spec you just can't afford. Do not test ride the R4000 - financial disaster. Test them both on a reasonable hill and the difference will sell itself.

Tip of the week - junk the cannondale saddle.
Tiagra $uck$, buy the 900 (nm)Rusty McNasty
Oct 26, 2001 5:55 AM
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700metonymy3
Oct 26, 2001 6:44 AM
You'll spend a lot more than $200 to get the 700 from Tiagra/105 to 105/Ultegra. That's a huge step. I don
t think Tiagra is even compatible with a lot of the highend Shimano stuff. As far as wheels go, the Cosmos aren't bad, and I've heard a lot about the CXP rims going out of true frequently, and the deep section won't take a spoke wrench (that's true on the CXP33s but maybe not the 21s, I don't know.) If you can afford it, get the 900, please. You'll be glad you did. If you get the 700 and try to upgrade, you'll spend more for (probably) less bike in the long run. IMHO.
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700brider
Oct 26, 2001 7:44 AM
I'd go with the higher spec (if you can afford it), and upgrade the 105 stuff to Ultegra as they wear out.
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700pmf1
Oct 26, 2001 7:47 AM
You're never money ahead buying a lower end bike with plans to upgrade all the components. It is the most expensive way to get to the bike you want in the end.

I'd say the 900 is a better buy. Much nicer components (I notice you even get Ultegra STI levers). I would try to avoid bikes that have manufacturer made components such as Cannondale or Specialized tends to do. These are not as nice as the Shimano stuff in general. Do you really want Cannondale hubs and cranks? Don't put down pre-built wheels. Some are very nice and very durable. I'd take the Cosmos wheel set over the one on the R700.
re: First Road Bike, Cannondale R900 vs R700Jekyll
Oct 26, 2001 9:34 PM
Go with the 900 - like someone else eluded to upgrading will bankrupt you. I started with a 2000 R600 and ended up with a team issue with full D/A's and Ksyriums - probably paid twice as much in the process as I would have had I just bought a 4000 in the first place.
If you can afford to get the 900 the difference to Ultegra/105 from 105/Coda/Tioga is more than worth the difference in price.
Also, chances are you will have to toss the saddle - Coda saddles seem to be universally recognized as having been designed during the Spanish Inquisition and if you get the 700 plan of tossing the hubs as well.