RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Michelin Axial T D France for everyday riding?(14 posts)

Michelin Axial T D France for everyday riding?Money D
Oct 26, 2001 1:56 AM
I read that the Michelin Axial Tour De France model is recommended just for racing. These tires are on the new road bike I just got and I don't race. Why can't I use them for everyday riding? Do they just have a short life, or am I at higher risk for crashing?
Thanks.
re: Michelin Axial T D France for everyday riding?Curtis
Oct 26, 2001 3:40 AM
Axial Pros are generally too expensive for everyday use. Most folks use a slightly cheaper tire for training and pull out the big guns on race day.

You are certainly not at risk of crashing because of tires. Since they came on the bike, go ahead and ride them; you will love the performance. When it comes time for new tires, however, the price will likely scare you away.
I also understand that the TdF version . . .DCW
Oct 26, 2001 4:10 AM
is a variation on their race light tire, meaning that it will have less life span and be more susceptible to flatting than the regular Axial Pro. Nonetheless, it should still be safe, so long as it is in good shape. You will likely need to replace it relatively soon.

I disagree with Curtis's advice not to use regular Axial Pro for training and recreation, but it is a personal decision. I buy mine from Europe for about $25 per tire shipped. That has worked out to about 1 cent per mile for my last five tires. Two tires on the bike means my cost is 2 cents per mile for a ride, and that is comparable to the cost of a "lesser" tire bought domestically. (Even at list price, Axial Pros would cost less than 2 cents more per mile than cheaper tires, and I would be willing to spend it if I had to.) I ride about 100 miles per week year round, so my total tire cost is about $100 per year, or two dollars a week. They have held up well.

I happen to like Axial Pro more than the other tires I have ridden -- Conti, Specializeds, etc. -- so I am willing to spend what it takes, especially since it seems to be about the cost of a beer a week.
Hey DCW, a question...GW Rider
Oct 26, 2001 4:56 AM
Where are you getting Axial Pro's for $25 a tire? Website? or are you in Europe?

I try to stock up on Pro's whenever I see them with a price below $40, but if I can get them for 25 that would be sweet.

Thanks.

Keep the shiny side up and the dirty side down.
On sale right nowMoney D
Oct 26, 2001 4:59 AM
Performance has them for $30, down from $60. Seems like a good deal to me.
650 C??dsc
Oct 26, 2001 2:10 PM
Unless you're talking an in-store price, today's Performance.com shows a $24.99 price for the 650C size Axial Pros.
700/23money d
Oct 26, 2001 5:30 PM
just checked the website, $29.99 for the Axial Tour De France edition.
Ahh, you're right, thought we were...dsc
Oct 26, 2001 5:56 PM
talking the regular Axial Pros at that point in the thread. You are right, of course, about the price of the TDF's.
Too bad they'd clash with my Lemond Zurich ;) Maybe I could be really obnoxious and order the World Champion ones, to match the WC decals on the frame (hehe).
I get them from sdeals.com . . .DCW
Oct 27, 2001 4:56 AM
price is $22.19 per tire plus shipping for green ones. The black/grey ones are a buck more or so as are the yellow/black carbon Axials and the race lights. They usually arrive within a week. As I recall, the more you buy at a time, the lower the shipping cost, on a per tire basis. If you have questions, e-mail Steve at sdeals.

TotalCycling.com sometimes has good prices also, occasionally including a light tube with each tire. I haven't checked their prices recently, but they are good to deal with.
I also understand that the TdF version . . .Curtis
Oct 26, 2001 8:13 AM
I would buy the Axial Pro for ALL road riding if I could get it for $25 shipped. Where do you order yours from? THe best price I've seen is $35 plus shipping. I currently uise Axial Carbons, which I get for $35 from The LBS.
How do you like the Axial Carbons?dsc
Oct 26, 2001 6:00 PM
I've been considering going with a tire like the Axial Selects, or perhaps the Performance Fortes - something with a full kevlar belt for added flat protection, yet still decent handling (for training purposes). How do the Carbons rate in these areas, in your opinion?
I like the FortesMcAndrus
Oct 27, 2001 4:01 PM
Here's a vote for the Fortes. I've ridden Axial Pros and while they're good tires, they're expensive and seem to cut easily.

I checked out the Fortes on a recommendation and have been riding them most of this season. They're light and very supple - a comfortable ride.

My only complaint is that their profile flattens out a little as the tire wears. A lot of brands do this so it's not a big deal it just annoys me.

I'll keep riding them as training tires until I find something better at a similar price.
Haven't tried the Carbonstarwheel
Oct 27, 2001 7:06 PM
But I'm using Michi Hi-Lites and I can't the difference between them and Axial Pros, other than price and appearance. Performance generally sells the Hi-Lites for about $20 each. They're nice tires if you don't mind the red stripes.

Performance also had the green Axial Pros on sale last week for $21 each for Team members. Not sure if they're still available for that price. I bought one tire so I can stretch out the wear on a pair I've got. If they had the plain black Axials for that price, I would have bought a half-dozen tires.
testgtx
Oct 28, 2001 3:09 PM
test