RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Here's a question for all of you multi (nice) bike guys/girl(23 posts)

Here's a question for all of you multi (nice) bike guys/girllook271
Oct 19, 2001 6:39 PM
I'm not bashin' anyone, but I wonder, why more than one nice bike? Don't get me wrong, I'd do it too, if I could. Really, though, my Look does it all well and I'm never saying, "geez, I wish I could .....". I understand the need for maybe a TT bike or some other specialty bike, but more than one all-around bike kinda baffles me. Ideas? Thoughts? Criticisms? Whiticisms? Derogatory statements? Assinine comments? (My)Inquiring mind wants to know.
re: more bikesguido
Oct 19, 2001 8:12 PM
One nice bike is all anybody ever needs, but having another means you never have to stop riding if your bike breaks. Also, you might want one with fenders and friendlier gearing for winter, or a fixed gear, or one set up with a rack for commuting, with wider tires and bulletproof wheels. Rather than changing gearing or wheels for an event, it's better to have a bike dedicated to that purpose.
Just sort of accumulated all but one of them...cory
Oct 19, 2001 8:21 PM
I'm in my 50s, and until a few years ago, I still had my '70s Peugeot college bike. I had the room, and by the time I got a new bike the old one wasn't worth anything, so I just kept them. I got a cheap mountain bike when mountain bikes were fairly new, then a better one, and then a GOOD one, and added a Trek and an Allez to the Peugeot roadie... At one time, five or six years ago, I had 13 bikes. I sold what I could and gave some away and reduced it to just a Trek Tourer, an old Bridgestone MB/beater/commuter and a good Cannondale MB. But then I got a year-old Allez for $350 (!) from a guy who was leaving the country the next day, and I fell in love with Atlantis... Now the BStone is my commuter, the Trek is a singlespeed, the CDale is my mountain bike, the Allez hangs in the garage and I ride the Atlantis every day. I love the Atlantis, don't ride the SS much but enjoy it when I do, and the BStone is nice because it has fenders and road tires and I don't care what happens to it, so I can throw it in the back of the truck when I go places...is this MUCH more than you want to know yet?
Just sort of accumulated all but one of them...colker
Oct 20, 2001 6:28 AM
tell me about the atlantis: i have this gut feeling i'm going to love it WHEN i buy it. it's already a plan. can't do it roght now though. how is yours set up? road or big tires? drop or moustache? is it light? stiff? what size?
i own a mikkelsen steel mtn bike which i set up rigid. t has loong achainstays like the atlantis and it's stiff. i really love the mikkelsen ride.i also own an old pinarello cadore(steel lugs) which is very stiff. it's fork beats me hard but stand and hammer and there's no flex. compared to them my ibis mojo is soft as a pillow.
A little more about the Atlantis...cory
Oct 20, 2001 8:09 PM
Since you asked... It's a 64cm, set up pretty much the way Grant recommends, with a Brooks B-17, bar-end shifters (on WIDE bars, 50cm--I love 'em) and 700x35 Paselas on a front wheel I had from another bike and a Bontrager rim/XT rear hub I bought from Rivendell. I've tried other tires, but it doesn't seem to go any faster and the ride suffers a lot. I weigh 220 or so, and I like fatties anyway.
The crank's from Riv, too, a Sugino with 46/36/26 rings. Sounds too low, but it works for a middle-aged guy in the mountains around Reno. I can use the big ring for nearly everything, which I can't do with more conventional gearing. Derailleurs, shifters and brakes are low- and midrange Shimano, a combination of stuff I had and things Riv recommended.
Riv was great to deal with, and everything worked exactly as it should. Only minor problem was that one of the MKS platform pedals (I have toe clips on it so I can ride in street shoes when I need to) was sort of rough. I took it apart to grease the bearings, and it had been assembled one ball short. I had a bag of 'em, so I just stuck one in.
The frame, as you probably know, was $950 w/BB, headset and fork. I built it up myself in a few hours. Probably have about $1300 in it if I pretend everything that didn't come in the Rivendell box was free....
Got about 1500 miles on it now, about three-quarters pavement, one-quarter dirt road/fire trail/casual singletrack, and I honestly can't think of one thing on the bike I would change except the color. Everybody who notices it and knows about bikes thinks it's an old Bianchi. If it got stolen tomorrow, I wouldn't even shop around before I ordered another one just like it.
that blue/green doesn't thrill me toocolker
Oct 21, 2001 7:11 AM
if it was red i would have probably bought it by now. can't resist a red bike.
since i live outside us, i pay huge shipping fees. it's the serious reason i still don't have one.i do a lot of commuting roight now. a bike for me is a vehicle.. a freedom machine and the atlantis concept is perfect for that.
although their next project, the rambouillet, seems to be great too.
5 is not enoughSkunkWorks
Oct 19, 2001 8:42 PM
I have a nice Look bike too that I really like to ride. I am afraid to race it and scrape up the carbon fiber in a mass crash so I use a aluminum bike bike that is really stiff for sprints and climbing, but uncomfortable for everyday training. I also have a steel rain bike that has eyelets and the clearance for front and rear fenders. Then there is my touring/commuting bike with a rear rack and panniers so I can try to fit in some riding while doing something useful. Then there is the the MTB with dual suspension for singe track to round out my 5 bikes. I still don't have a single speed or a TT bike and I don't even have a bike for my indoor trainer, so I guess 5 is not enough.

How do you get by with just 1 bike? I could use a couple more.
Don't get me wrong!look271
Oct 20, 2001 6:56 AM
I have MORE than 1 bike. My Look road bike, a single-speed clunker/commuter, and my mtb which also doubles as a commuter, too. Just curious about the multi-road bike set. Case-in-point. I know a guy that has a Merlin. Just got a Colnago Oval Master. I'd have the problem of "ok, which bike do I ride today?" In his defense, he got it for a song-$1900 for the complete bike built w/Campy Chorus. Used less than 200 miles. What a deal. FWIW, he likes the Merlin better.....Too bad it wasn't my size!
Don't get me wrong!Ray Sachs
Oct 20, 2001 3:08 PM
I have four bikes in regular use, 2 of which are nice road bikes. One is a Rivendell Road, which is comfortable, stable, predictable but still reasonably quick, and adequately light but not reeeeeaaaaal light by today's standards at all. I have it geared pretty low so it's a great bike for long rides and rides with lots of climbing, so long as outright speed isn't the priority. I also have 700x27 tires on it, so I don't have to fear the occasional dirt road. My other nice road bike is a Merckx ti AX, which is quite light and a bit quicker and more responsive. Although I probably do 80% of my miles on the Rivendell, sometimes when I just want to go hammer for 20-40 miles, the Merckx is a really fun alternative. I could easily get by with just the Riv, but it's nice to have a second nice ride.

-Ray
Kind of a long storylonefrontranger
Oct 19, 2001 9:11 PM
Bikes =

Road: Colnago Dream with Campag Record 10 & all the upgrades, Zipp 303 wheelset for race days
Cross: Colnago Dream Cross, Campag Daytona 10, 2 sets of Mavic Cosmos.
MTB: Klein Attitude hardtail with XTR 9-speed, Nuke Proof/Mavic wheels and Manitou Elite carbon fork.

The story behind this is that I've been racing and living out of other folks' junk boxes for over a decade. Until this spring, I never had anything nicer than 105 on my road bikes, unless it was a freebie from a teammate who felt sorry for me. I've always raced on crap, and made it "mostly work". It gets really daggoned old, lemme tell you.

A recent significant upgrade in career/lifestyle coupled with the fact that a close friend recently opened his own shop as a Colnago dealer means I no longer have to put up with second-rate stuff. So I don't. I'm rewarding myself for all the years I suffered with third-hand parts, bad shifting, crappy hubs and wheels that were knackered beyond repair.
re: ...the very nature of the being...Akirasho
Oct 20, 2001 1:40 AM
Humans by nature are collectors of "things". We enjoy a physical interaction with our enviroment whether it be a collection of sticks... or bikes.

Add to that, the materialistic "pressures" of a capitalist society (and the underlying fact that said society depends on multiple layers (mass and conspicuous consumption) of redundancy and excess to continue) and there is little doubt that, if possible, some folks, myself included, would own more than one of anything (let alone bikes).

More than one pair of socks...
More than one pair of pants...
More than one phone... TV... etc.

And before you try to play a practicality card, remember that society dictates practicality. Folks lived for centuries without socks, pants, phones, and TV's before now...

I think it's also the scale of the economy of the thing. Expensive bikes, even within the cycling community, carry a certain opine (let alone the general public which liken an expensive bike to the $200 price point). If more than one bike is owned (along with the assoicated hardware), the question of "why" becomes an issue for discussion, yet if we looked at other things in our lives and amortize the costs and uses over a lifetime... a collection of bikes might not seem so bad after all!

Lastly, this is preaching to the choir. If the polls on this site http://www.roadbikereview.com/qikResults_1189crx.aspx are accurate, most respondents own more than one bike (though the quality of said and whether or not they belong to individuals is not answered). Most folks here know why the do or don't, or would or wouldn't...

Me, I'm nutz.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
a list of bikes and things that should not be collectedMJ
Oct 20, 2001 5:44 AM
proudly have three bikes

Bridgestone MB0 (sentimental - lives in another country with my brother)
custom steel Donohue cross bike (commuting, touring and (currently) for road use)
Specialised Stumpie mtb. (lives at a friends near some trails - not enough room in the flat)

would like (need space, money and a coalition led diplomatic initiative with my wife)

dedicated road bike
single speed for commuting and general abuse

unless you're racing, or into specialty stuff (BMX / TT etc.) there's no reason to have more than one 'nice' road bike - don't disagree with the paranoia argument - what if my 'nice' bike breaks, whatever works right? - nobody does that with cars though do they?

having said that I could think of worse things than 'nice' bikes to collect :
cars, mistresses, friends who don't like Fu Manchu, STD's, court orders/summonings, stitches/scars, piercings/tatoos/other body mutilations/'art', guns (no you're not in a state militia), reader's digest supplements, the Edith Piaf/Barry Manilow/ZZ Top/post David Lee Roth Van Halen back catalogue, learn a foreign language tapes to listen to the car (everybody speaks English anyways - why bother?), bad pornography, cheap stereos, bongs/'paraphenalia', anything on audio cassette, I have a special and reserved hatred for badgers, spoons, electronic toys, insurance policies, concert T-Shirts, photographs of yourself, novelty cards, Soldier of Fortune/Mad magazine, romance/Tom Clancy/John Grisham/Stephen King 'novels', movies on VHS tape, vacum cleaners, 'exotic' beer bottles/mats/ashtrays, old newspaper clippings, cleaning/beauty/toiletry products, EU law commentaries/textbooks pre-1998, empty plastic milk cartons/balls of string and anything else that my grandmother collected after growing up in the depression, cars on blocks, joke books, chaps, calendars, pictures of animals, and the pins that people stick on jean jackets/hats like they're in Huey Lewis' backing band or mentally impaired, respectively, (no I don't want another Mapleleaf pin - it's an insidious and menacing symbol rather than the mark of friendship from the Great White North), and Penguin classics

...strapped like a fool to my junk and my jewels you would have thought I had enough...
Bikes, women... the more the merrierStarliner
Oct 20, 2001 11:05 AM
I now have two road bikes and a hardtail MTB. I recently sold my steel Paramount to my brother, and my trusty rusty banger bike was stolen. Lesson from that was not to leave any bike overnight in the back of a truck parked on the street. I guess I didn't think anybody would have wanted it. (To be honest, and this is related to your question, a part of me was happy it was taken away from me).

So now I am focused on two nice rides, one ti and the other carbon fiber. To explain why, consider the wine analogy... if you like to drink wine, with so many kinds to choose from (white vs. red; different varieties, etc.), why not have a little of this and a little of that?

So, I like to ride my ti bike because it feels so light, supple and responsive. I like the way it communicates the road to me. I can toss it around and not worry about hurting it. It would make a real fine girlfriend. Or maybe it could make a nice ripe Chardonnay.

Then sometimes I like to ride my CF bike for a change. It feels quiet, solid and smooth. Road feel is more subdued than with the ti bike, but is not invisible - just quieter. When I stand up and hammer, it responds without complaint. This bike does what I ask it to. It would make a tip-top secretary if it was a person. If a wine, maybe a nice medium-bodied Zin that hasn't yet opened up.

My mountain bike is used the least, but has its obvious place in my small stable. BTW, I drive a car and have a truck as well, both being useful in their own special ways.
1 road, 1 MTB, covers everything for me (nm).dsc
Oct 20, 2001 12:27 PM
You can never have enough nice bikes.... ;)JohnG
Oct 20, 2001 2:07 PM
271

My current "nice" road bike collection is as follows:
01 KG281, with Record/Chorus
01 TCR ONCE with full Record
and I've got an 02 Colnago CT1 on order (Jan 02 delivery) which will be full Record including an 02 Neutron wheelset which I just recieved. :)

I like having at least two bikes (preferably three) so that if one goes down I've got a backup. I.e. my KG 281 was down for over a month while I waited for a derailleur hanger.

Actually, anything more than two is probably excessive... but hey, why not. :) I'll probably stop at three.

YMMV
JohnG
How is that KG281?look271
Oct 20, 2001 4:07 PM
YMMV? Sorry, a little dense at times.
WONDERFULJohnG
Oct 20, 2001 9:07 PM
KG 281 is/'was' awesome. I only had it for a little over a month (maybe 1K miles) when a perma link 'blew' and jammed in the rear derailleur. It happened so fast that I ripped the derailleur right into the rear wheel. VERY bad scene.... skidding to a stop and looking behind to see sheer mayhem in the rear of the bike. Not a pretty sight!

Anyway, Veltec (US LOOK dist) just sent me the derailleur hanger about two weeks ago. :) Nice guys... thanks again Ben. I just haven't gotten around to putting the new derailleur hanger on the bike.... too busy riding. ;) I'll probably put the dang thing back together on Sunday.

I'd HIGHLY recommend ordering a derailleur hanger!

Anyway, the KG 281 is an absolutely awesome ride. Fairly smooth ..... but most importantly nice and 'lively'. That is a tough combo to pull off in a full carbon frame. I think the LOOK engineers really "tuned" this frame well. The 281 (and other LOOKS I've seen) have a lot of technology built into the frame and this tech shows up in the bitchen ride quality. I've ridden plenty of other full carbon bikes and none have had the nice lively feel of the LOOK.

YMMV == 'Your Mileage May Vary' .... just my way of saying this is just my BS opinion and "your" results may not agree with mine. ;)

FWIW.... I'm probably going to order a KG381i sometime in mid/late 02. My dealer has already been told to get one for me. :) The 381i looks particulary interesting because the new HSC4 fork will address the one minor complaint I have with the 281. Namely the slightly weak/flexy steerer tube. I suspect the 1.125" steerer tube on the 381i should be a bit stiffer.

Congrats on your 271.... I've read your posts about it and your comments were some of the reasons I decided to try the 281. Thanks

ride hard
JohnG
WONDERFULlook271
Oct 21, 2001 8:44 AM
My next purchase will be a Look KX, I believe, or the 381i. Probably a year or 2 down the road but I'm like you; the Look boys have this carbon fiber thing down. Thinking of getting a used Bianchi as a trainer/winter bike. Have to negotiate with the guy as far as price is concerned.
KXJohnG
Oct 21, 2001 11:12 AM
I was offered one of the first KX's made and decided against it. The frame is a fair bit heavier than the KG series frames and the description on the French LOOK web site sort of implies that it's a optomized for stiff sprinting. Didn't sound like a good bike for me. It is one 'evil' looking frame though. :)

The 381i looks schweeeet though.
JohnG
well I got .....bear
Oct 21, 2001 3:00 PM
my first bike was trek 1000, why would anybody need anything else, right? well just 2 month later I got the perfect bike, a airborne zep with ultegra, well the problem is that is boring and ugly..LOL yes ugly. ups delievered my custom SIGNAL LIGHT REd alum frame I am building up this winter. is a middle age thing I guess but i am already planing a steel frame bike for the following winter, this time it will be ferrari RED, I might not be the fastest but I look the fastest..LOL
My excuses - 8 of themDMoore
Oct 20, 2001 9:05 PM
Let's see.

1. Richard Sachs, custom steel, full Record 10 speed. Custom made for me, a perfect fit. Gentle angles, a comfortable ride but still great handling. This is the bike for any long ride.

2. Litespeed Ultimate. Record 9 speed, modified with lots of trick parts, Velomax sewup wheels, Clement silk sewups. My crit/circuit/road race bike. 17 pounds (not bad for 60 cm), fast, quick. It's set up for racing, and isn't all that comfy.

3. Brian Baylis. Custom steel, another Record 10. Tight crit geometry, but a couple of pounds heavier than the LS. So this is the training crit/fast training ride bike for rides under 50 miles. Over that, it's back to the Sachs.

4. Bill Holland. Custom steel, Record 9; an older bike, Columbus SL/SP. This is fit out as my night bike, with lights, heavier wheels, fatter tires.

5. Trek 2200. Aluminum frame, Campy 9 speed mongrel with parts ranging from Record (b/b, rear der.) to Daytona (brakes, frt. der.) This lives on my wind trainer at my ski place, and gets an occasional road ride in the spring when the weather's warm and the snow slushes up early. I used to use the Ciocc Thron for this job, but saved a couple of pounds (which I can sure feel on the road at 9000 feet elevation) when I built up this one.

6. Ciocc SL Mockba '80 replica, full SR/NR gruppo. Almost completely original (I bought it new in 1984) for the occasional Sunday club ride. Toe clips and straps always are good for a laugh for the other riders when I start fumbling at at a traffic light.

7. Ciocc Thron. Just a mutt. Used to be the wind trainer bike until I built up the Trek. Now it's just taking up space as I gradually build it up. Just bought a set of brake calipers, the last parts I needed, so it's time to put it together. What I'll do with it then I don't know.

8. Santana Moda MTB. Full Columbus Max tubing, filet brazed, Campy Record OR parts. A total anachronism, but good enough for my rare forays into the dirt.

Could I make do with fewer bikes? Of course I could. Am I rationalizing to justify the collection? No question. I've even gotten rid of a couple over the years, a Medici (wish I hadn't, though) and a Tom Ritchey. I'm a nut for quality lugged steel construction, and 3 of my bikes are from the finest builders now working. If I could have only one, it would be the Sachs, no question. Keep a second bike? The Baylis. It's a little heavier than the LS, but still very "raceable." (So is the Sachs, really, but I couldn't bear the thought of crashing it.)

So that's the story from one bike nut.
Only in the last 10 yearsnee Spoke Wrench
Oct 21, 2001 4:55 AM
Prior to that I only could afford one road bike and a tandem, and frankly, both of those were pretty marginal bikes.

Today I have 5 that I use and a couple of others that I'd like to sell. The ones that I ride all have distinctly different uses so it almost makes sense. I'm not at all single-minded about my bicycling. I sometimes commute to work, I mountain bike, I enjoy long leisurely rides, and occassionally I like to just put my head down and go. Having an assortment of bikes has made my riding more diverse and more fun.
re: Here's a question for all of you multi (nice) bike guys/girlJimF
Oct 21, 2001 5:57 AM
1-ATB: If I could only have one bike, it would have to be a mountain bike. Although I very rarely go off road, it's the only way to negotiate the dirt roads and the odd trail.

2-My "dream bike": My Ti bike is no longer cutting edge, but it's still much better than I'll ever need. Durable, efficient, comfortable, light and corrosion-proof.

3-My SLX bike: How could I not have Italian steel? A very wonderful bike for the occasional ride, and to fill in when the LS is in the shop.

4-Touring bike: I guess I could unload this one, but why sell a (well-ridden) $900 bike for $200, or whatever I could get? I guess there's no loaded touring in my forseeable future after all, but it's a good training bike. Solid and smooth.

5-Tandem: I love tandems. I've just got to be more proactive in recruiting stokers.

6-Travel Bike: Yeah, I don't need this one, but it's just so cool. None of my clubmates has one. Besides, it doesn't take up any space (to speak of) when I'm not using it, it just goes in it's suitcase and into the back of a closet. And when I do want to take a nice bike on an airplane, it's without peer for convenience, economy and baggage-handler resistance.