RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's best off-the-trunk bike carrier?(10 posts)

What's best off-the-trunk bike carrier?JerryA
Oct 18, 2001 6:48 AM
I'm in the market for a hanging-off-the-trunk bike carrier for 2-3 bikes. I want one that is easy to use and treats the bikes carefully. Any recommendations? (There's not a review category for these...unless I'm missing it.) Thanks!
Sarris Bones is nice!jagiger
Oct 18, 2001 7:39 AM
I picked one up & it's solid and well made. It has slots to hold bikes individually to keep the separated. I pretty happy with it and I got an excellent deal on E-bay $90+shipping for a 3bike model.
this says it allJack S
Oct 18, 2001 8:49 AM
nm
I 2nd that. Great carrier! nmraboboy
Oct 18, 2001 8:50 AM
I bought the ThuleMikeC
Oct 18, 2001 8:47 AM
I started with the top-of-the-line Rhode Gear, but it won't work with women's or kids' frames. I returned that, and got the Thule Easy Rider, Thule's top of the line trunk or hatch mounted bike rack. It carries up to three bikes with "anti-sway, sure grip saddles, straps and has a built in shock absorbing system to protect your bikes."
I've used it extensively for about two months now, primarily for my wife's Trek hybrid and my daughters' 24" wheel and 20" wheel bikes. Although they say bikes without traditional top tubes may need adapters, I haven't found it to be true. It fits securely, and hasn't damaged my wife's minivan at all. Also, the bikes don't seem to bang together while on it. (By the way, I'm not a Thule nut. I also own a Yakima roof rack).
If you have the option of a hitch mount, however, I still think they're the way to go. They're really stable.
i would not recommend the rhode geartarwheel
Oct 18, 2001 9:17 AM
I've got a rhode gear rack and I'm not too wild about it. The bikes slide back on rails unless you really strap themt down with bungees all over the place, but there's not really any places to latch them on. It's serviceable, but there must be better racks out there.
agreed, they suck. made by bell, sold at sears...Js Haiku Shop
Oct 18, 2001 10:52 AM
had one bought new, sold it, got a roof rack, friend was leaving the country and sold me his rhode gear trunk rack recently, it sucks, too. d'oh!
I lucked out with a Hollywood brand rackno excuses
Oct 18, 2001 11:57 AM
After having my Rhode Gear Super Shuttle fail on vacation this summer (the teeth stripped and I needed an emergency replacement), I found a Hollywood Three Bike Rack. I had never heard of the rack, but it is really solid. All metal on the swivels to the arms, six independent straps, individual holders w/tie downs for each bike. The rack sold for $130. I have never seen the brand in any bike store, but think its a real solid, easy on/easy off rack. These kind of trunk racks have always worked for me.
Anyone else ever heard of this rack. Check out the site.
http://hollywoodracks.com/
I lucked out with a Hollywood brand rackScoop
Oct 19, 2001 5:42 AM
I have a 4 bike Hollywood rack. Extremely solid. Got great reviews by Consumer Reports a few years back. LBS ordered it for me.
I lucked out with a Hollywood brand rackNo Excuses
Oct 19, 2001 9:05 AM
I have the three bike expedition. I think the LBS where I found it Special Ordered it and was left with it at his shop. I am surprised that I have never seen it in a Bike Shop. I really like the all metal components on the swing arm.