RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


First road bike assistance....(10 posts)

First road bike assistance....KMan
Oct 18, 2001 6:30 AM
Riding for a local shop for the 2002 MTB season and get a pretty good discount on new bikes. I want to get a new road bike over the winter and am looking for some assistance on the best bang for the buck type of bike.
Shop Main mfgs are Specialized, Cannondale, Bianchie
I want to keep the bike around $1500 any recommendations or comments on one over the other.
I am 6'2" 33" inseam 185 lbs and will be using the bike mainly for training rides, a few centuries and possibly start into some road races. I would prefer to get a bike with a better frame that can be upgraded at a later date.

If I decide not to purchase thru the shop I noticed KHS has a good bike for the price, any thought on KHS bikes

Thanks
Michael
Opinions are Like...jtolleson
Oct 18, 2001 6:48 AM
bicycles. Everyone here has one.

And here's mine. First, if you can get a good manufacturer like Cannondale, Specialized, or Bianchi at a discount through the shop, there is simply no reason to even look at KHS. Although they make a couple of pricier bikes, their primary market niche is decidedly low-end (the Flite 300 and Flite 500 are their biggest sellers, both are Sora-equipped entry level bikes with the only plus being that they are steel).

I was going to definitely recommend getting a steel Bianchi (Campione maybe) until you mentioned racing, which then made me think Specialized Sirrus or S-Works, but I'd find them a little unforgiving for centuries. Perhaps a Cannondale 2000Si would balance your needs.
That covers it. nmMB1
Oct 18, 2001 8:50 AM
That covers it with one caveatdzrider
Oct 18, 2001 9:24 AM
Just don't buy anything you're not sure you like because somebody else told you it's the best.
Opinions are Like...JohnC
Oct 19, 2001 4:32 AM
Opinions... Too bad you buy into the Cannandale/Trek hype. Like Pt Barnum said, sucker.....
Opinions are Like...jtolleson
Oct 19, 2001 6:24 AM
Ya know, I've ridden seriously for 10 years. I've owned a Canny, a Trek, a Specialized (steel) and a Litespeed. I'm entitled to my opinions, and never said they were anything other than that.

Your juvenile personal attack, made instead of merely answering the guy's question with YOUR own opinion, is the kind of crap that sometimes makes me want to quit this friggin' board.
Not buying into the Hype at allKMan
Oct 19, 2001 6:46 AM
Been there done that years ago. Current MTB bike is a Titus. I prefer a bike hand made by a smaller company, but in this case the shop I get my discount at only sells the brands I mentioned. Also I am not ready to plung a lot of $$ into my first road bike. I already have close to 4 grand in my MTB. Not 100% sure I will purchase thru the shop as I may just buy a used bike.

Dont tell me you "never ever" bought a bike from one of the larger bike mfg's.

KMan
Get fitKerry Irons
Oct 18, 2001 4:20 PM
It sounds like you have relatively unusual body proportions, so you might have your choices narrowed just to find a frame that fits you. For example, I have never had a problem fitting stock bikes, but I am 2" shorter than you and my inseam is 1.5" longer. If you have properly measured your inseam (not what you buy in pants!!!) then you have a relatively long torso, and will want a bike with a long top tube. Here are some sites that will help you properly size the bike. Once you've done the calculations, look at each bike's geometry (not just seat tube length) and then decide. Fit is THE most important thing - all other features are useless if the bike doesn't fit right.

http://www.bsn.com/cycling/ergobike.html
http://www.coloradocyclist.com/BikeFit/index.cfm
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harart-frames.html
http://www.electriciti.com/~bikelane/sizing.html
http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/frameinfo/Frame_Sizing.htm
http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/fitting.htm
This is the most important piece of advice...jtolleson
Oct 19, 2001 6:31 AM
anyone of us can give you. And these bikes will have slightly different geometries, helping to determine which can work without having to go custom. Hopefully the variables will be close enough to resolve with just a stem swap.
re: First road bike assistance....SingleThreaded
Oct 19, 2001 7:37 PM
And try some bikes with different geometries to see which one suits you better.

I thought the Bianchis provided a good bang for the buck but I didn't like the compactness of the stock frames/stems. Then I tried same geometry with a longer stem and what a difference. Ultimately, I ended up with a Lemond.

Like yourself I use my bike for longer training rides, but wanted the bike to possess the lightness and stiffness for occasional races. The steel frame of my Zurich provides a compromise of all these qualities.

If your bike shop can give you a deal on their Bianchi Boron, that's also another really nice, all-around ride.