RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Riding With Parkinson's(10 posts)

Riding With Parkinson'smorey
Oct 17, 2001 5:02 AM
I was diagnosed recently with a mild case of Parkinson's Disease. I notice this primarily when walking, I tend to lose balance to the right. Does anyone on this board ride with PD. How does it effect your riding?
I'm very sorry to hear of your diagnosis. You seem to bebill
Oct 17, 2001 6:11 AM
a guy that is on top of stuff like this, but there have been some very promising drug therapies developed recently that even may be coming to market soon. Try to get into a clinical trial; that's usually the good stuff.
My dad has Parkinsons. He's also 84, so he's not much of an example. I have no wisdom on PD and cycling.
Godspeed.
re: Riding With Parkinson'szzz
Oct 17, 2001 6:36 AM
As you know Parkinson's disease is progressive. Exercises, such as swimming, walking and bicycling, are encouraged to help improve postural instability and gait. Strength training is recommended throughout the life of the patient.
Here is a study that researched the benefits of exercise:
Schenkman M, Toni M., et al. Exercise to improve spinal flexibility and function for people with Parkinson's Disease: A randomized, controlled trial. J Am Geriat Soc 46:1207-1216,1998.
re: Riding With Parkinson'smorey
Oct 17, 2001 6:42 AM
Thanks, I have found that continued exercise really has helped. I wanted to just quit at first, but I found that everything else keeps going, like bills. I do not try to let it bother me. The one thing that I lost, that bothered me the most was my handwriting. Go figure!
re: Riding With Parkinson's/try and contact.....TC
Oct 17, 2001 6:47 AM
Davis Phinney. Ex-pro who was just recently diagnosed with PD. I thnk that he lives in Colorado? He and his wife Connie Carpenter Phinney run cycling camps. He could give you some insight and some tips I'm sure.

I'm sure that someone on the board could give you some ideas as to how to reach him.

TC
re: Riding With Parkinson's/try and contact.....zzz
Oct 17, 2001 6:59 AM
The contact phone and email for the Carpenter Phinney Camp are: 303.442.2371 connie@bikecamp.com
Contacting Davis PhinneyPaulCL
Oct 17, 2001 10:56 AM
I spent a week at the Carpenter/Phinney bike camp last summer. I rode with Davis and Connie quite a bit. Davis mentioned that he has good days and bad days, but keeps riding. While we were there, he had a really good week. The guy's a rock and he can flat out fly. I never saw any sign of parkinsons, though he did talk of it freely.

You can contact Connie and Davis through their webpage at WWW.Bikecamp.com

P.S. I blew past Davis on a mountain pass. My claim to fame.

P.S.#2 Then Davis noticed that I blew past him, so he blew past me like I was sitting still. And he claims that he was a sprinter and not a mountain goat...yeah..right....damn those genetics!

Good luck. Take care. Keep us informed.
Sorry to hear this....Len J
Oct 17, 2001 7:01 AM
but it sounds like you have come to terms with it. I admire your reality base.

Someone else beat me to the Davis Phinny PD connection. Here is contact info.

http://www.bikecamp.com/contact.html

Best of luck to you.

Len
re: Riding With Parkinson'smorey
Oct 17, 2001 7:06 AM
Thanks!!!! The Davis Phinney connection is great. Will follow up. Keep on riding!!!!
re: Riding With Parkinson'sJon
Oct 17, 2001 8:02 AM
I have heard of some runners here in the Edmonton area who have maintained their activities with
Parkinson's. There's one lady down near Camrose who has kept running with advanced PD! She
recently completed an ultra-marathon fundraiser from Edmonton to Saskatoon. One of the things
she says is that forcing herself to keep on running, even under extremely adverse circumstances,
has enabled her to stay active far longer than she ever thought she could. However, you have a
long, long, long way to go yet. Hang in there. Use the same resourcefulness and will that you
have used all your life to overcome obstacles, achieve goals, and attain the outstanding successes
you already have.