RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ok Eastern US posters, I have a question for you!(14 posts)

Ok Eastern US posters, I have a question for you!look271
Oct 16, 2001 7:22 PM
Anyone know of any good 100+ mile rides within a couple of hrs driving distance from Hbg Pa? I'm stoked after reading Do(u)g's thread about his FC508 ride and I'd like something to shoot for next year. I know of one in Lancaster Co. called the Nightmare Tour in June. 175 miles of climbing hell. Any other suggestions?
re: Ok Eastern US posters, I have a question for you!ishmael
Oct 16, 2001 7:57 PM
you can come to the burbs of philly and do my loop 30 times, i call it the Drooler tour, you cant close your mouth the whole time...and there are 30 stops on the route for drinks or twinkies..you and me, mono e mono, look vs trek...the purse is ten bucks..all chalengers welcome..as many loops as you want
There is a brevet series out of DC.MB1
Oct 17, 2001 4:57 AM
In sequence 200K, 300K, 400K, 600K and 1000K each with plenty-o-hills. That will get you in shape/break you down. Plus you will get to meet a few fellow posters.

http://home.earthlink.net/~jtkuehn/dcrand/
thanks...(nm)look271
Oct 17, 2001 5:57 AM
hbg/pa -> mem/tn = 916 mi (all dnhill) prize=6x pbst bl rbn. nmJs Haiku Shop
Oct 17, 2001 5:11 AM
All downhill?! Kewl. Would really s$%k the other way!look271
Oct 17, 2001 5:53 AM
All for 6Xpbr? When can I start?
Caution!scottfree
Oct 17, 2001 6:03 AM
I live in that country, and I don't believe there's any way to do it all downhill!
now. call when you hit nashville. nmJs Haiku Shop
Oct 17, 2001 6:10 AM
Hey Js Haiku ShopMB1
Oct 17, 2001 6:34 AM
Did you look at that SS link I posted? There is another set of pix there that is even more fun/crazy. I'm liking you for a SS in a dress, (I'll wear the overalls). SSers sure know how to have fun.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ee8be93
most twisted. looks fun.Js Haiku Shop
Oct 17, 2001 6:46 AM
now, all i need is a second mtb to ss-convert, which is low priority after the

$834 (shipped) surly single speed steamroller 56" built-up from excel sports (www.excelsports.com),

then a nice titanium time trial bike.

anyone want to kick in $5k?

and...not sure if i'd want to be seen wearing a dress in the woods with these guys. but, you never know.
E-mail me, lets talkMB1
Oct 17, 2001 7:01 AM
mbaird@pepcotechnologies.com
Here's the web site for the Nightmare tour:look271
Oct 17, 2001 6:06 AM
http://www.dreamrideprojects.org These guys put on a really well organized event with other events throughout the year. Most have lots of climbing and are well supported. Nightmare has 14000 ft(I think) of climbing.
It seems a tad expensive, I have heard mixed reviews of the rideMB1
Oct 17, 2001 6:23 AM
from people who did it a while ago. They probably have run it enough times by now to get the bugs worked out. It may go on next years list for us.

My take on any ride is that you had better be prepared and able to do it unsupported, then if the support is good you've got a nice bonus.
They've changed some things.look271
Oct 17, 2001 12:30 PM
They have moved it to a different weekend now so it's not the same day as their 100 miler, the dream tour. Additionally, I think you can get pledges in lieu of paying the entry fee. I might do it next year. I'll have to see. Your link to the brevets looks good, especially the ones in South Central Pa. Maybe I'll see you next year! If you want a challenging 62 miler, try their "Tour around the river" in May. 6500 ft of climbing in 62 miles. Kicked my butt. I'm determined this won't happen agin.