RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


anybody ordered from Lickbike in Illinois(9 posts)

anybody ordered from Lickbike in Illinoismaximum15
Oct 12, 2001 9:54 AM
If you have ordered from lickbike, was your experience good or bad? Would you use them again?
Oh yea, I like 'em. But I know what I am doing.MB1
Oct 12, 2001 10:02 AM
They seem like a nice shop and don't try to BS. I like talking to shop people who have some experience. With a lot of those mail order places you can only talk to an order taker.

Like most shops though they prefer to sell you what is in stock. They are willing to get you pretty much anything if you insist.
re: anybody ordered from Lickbike in Illinoistr
Oct 12, 2001 11:06 AM
I have, good experience, and yes i would order from them again and just did this past monday.
re: anybody ordered from Lickbike in IllinoisSearcher
Oct 12, 2001 11:10 AM
I just got the stem I ordered from them last Friday. About 15 minutes after I ordered it I found the same stem at another place for $10 cheaper. No worries – Called them back, explained, and they match the price w/ an additional 10% of the difference taken off.
I would do business w/ them again.
Yep, I like 'embcavalier
Oct 12, 2001 11:41 AM
Well, the board seems to have eaten my previous attempt to post a response, so I'll try again ...

I've ordered from them a few times, most recently a set of wheels (Record hubs w/velocity aeroheads), and have no complaints. The two folks I've spoken to there, Dudley and Bob Lickton himself, are incredibly knowledgeable and very nice.

No complaints. I would definitely buy from them again.

brian
re: anybody ordered from Lickbike in Illinoiskeith
Oct 12, 2001 12:08 PM
been there several times, bought my wife's bike there. They are extremely knowlegable and very into the technical aspects of bikes. Their prices are good - not great, but they can probably get anything you desire.
Sure. It's a real bike shop.Rich Clark
Oct 12, 2001 12:13 PM
Lickton's is a real bike shop, with an unusually large inventory (but not on the level of a Performance or Excel), run by the usual gamut of bike shop people. Lickton himself is very knowledgeable, seems to always be there, and while perhaps a bit crusty will make sure you're satisfied with your purchase.

They do honor their advertised price-matching policy without complaint or quibbling, and their shipping charges, while not exactly cheap, are still lower than some of the competition they price-match (particularly Price Point).

In my experience they are not terribly fast, and they don't have a slick ordering system, but they're a solid reliable source.

RichC
re: anybody ordered from Lickbike in IllinoisVW
Oct 12, 2001 1:18 PM
Yup, ordered a stem from them. Told them another place is selling it for less. No problem with matching price and 10% discount. Shipping is not real quick, but stem got here in a reasonable amount of time. Couldn't order on-line, so got to call them at the 800 number.
re: anybody ordered from Lickbike in IllinoisJamesT.Kirk
Oct 13, 2001 6:38 AM
You bet! I got a great deal on a Campy Daytona 10 group w/ wheels about this time last year. great price, great service, only took 3 or 4 days to get to TX. I'd order from them again in a heartbeat. They really know what they are talking about and don't get too irritated when you call back and keep changing the order.