RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


New road bike for $1500 - $1800(14 posts)

New road bike for $1500 - $1800Scott Alfsen
Oct 10, 2001 3:17 PM
I currently own a 1992 Trek 1200 with RX100 components. I have been happy with it, but I am ready to move into STI shifting!! I am 6'3", 200 lbs. I have been doing preliminary research for when I buy a new road bike. I have been thinking about the 2002 Trek 2300 because of my good experiences with Trek. Are there any other suggestions/recommendations anyone would like to make?
so many options...DAS
Oct 10, 2001 4:02 PM
So many options. Maybe you should just get the new Trek and save yourself the trouble of learning about all the millions of options. You can get a lot of bike these days for less than $2,000 so you'll have to narrow down your criteria. The first question most people would ask is 'well, what do you plan to do with it: Race, tour, centuries...?"

Without knowing any of that, i'll make some random (opinionated) observations:

Ti: Airborne always looks good. Litespeed on sale this time of year at www.coloradocyclist.com. Good for heavy guys? Douglas also at CO cyclist.

Steel: Reynolds 853 is 'the best' but is there really such a thing? Gunnar has a frame for $600, there are 15 other builders who can make anything under the sun. Ritchey tubing is good for the road. Lemond Zurich (853) is always a good value, and I think Lemond is the only 'mass produced' steel bike?

Aluminum: Ouch, but some people like it. Usually the cheapest. Cipolinni rides a Cad5 (?) and he is super fast. If you walk into a shop you'll see enough aluminum to make your head spin. Good for heavy guys?

Carbon: I have no idea, but it seems to work for Lance.

Shimano Ultegra is probably your groupo of choice. I love mine. Very little maintenance needed. Campy could be good...what would I know?

If I had to go out and pick a bike for you (and why would THAT happen?), I would go out and pick you up a Lemond Buenos Aires. Why? Because it is a good ride for good value and it doesn't sound like you're picky enough to get real mad at me.
other steel optionsfuzzybunnies
Oct 10, 2001 6:58 PM
I know of 3 other companies nw that have steel, Jamis, Marin and new this year Raleigh. I've seen the new international and is it sweet. Full campy cetaur(daytona) with a carbon fork. The professional has chorus but I'm not certain if the professional is under 2,000. -Russ
so many options...Scott Alfsen
Oct 11, 2001 2:21 AM
I really need an "all-purpose" road bike. I have done metric centuries (not real ones yet!!), triathlons and I ride a fast group ride 3 times a week. The guy at the LBS had recommended that I go with the 2300 because of the Ultegra upgrade (better parts and wheels/hubs) and the price difference only being $300 between the two. I'll surely be riding a few others before I buy, but I have been pretty happy with Trek so far. Thanks for the help
check out hte trek 2200'sUltegraRacer
Oct 10, 2001 4:09 PM
re: New road bike for $1500 - $1800tstamm
Oct 10, 2001 4:28 PM
klein quantum race, great ride, can't beat it.
Kestrel TalonI Love Shimano
Oct 10, 2001 6:10 PM
On sale at Supergo for $1400...even less than your minimum budget. Carbon frame and fork from the pioneer of carbon technology in cycling. Sure, it's made in Taiwan, but Kestrel would never make lousy bikes, I'm sure. Check it out before deciding on another ride. Comes with 105 components, good stuff IMO.

Only drawback are the Shimano R535 wheels, I've never heard anything good about them.
re: New road bike for $1500 - $1800TG
Oct 10, 2001 7:26 PM
Bianchi steel also a good choice in that price range -- the Veloce (Campy) or the Talledega (Shimano).
From 6-5, 210Elefantino
Oct 10, 2001 8:12 PM
I own a Trek 5200, but it's not what I was "told" I should be riding:
• I was told that because of my size, Cannondale CAAD4 (at the time) was the best bet. Rode Cannondale, and Cannondale sucked. (Feel free to disagree C-Dales, but this is my post.)
• Was fitted "perfectly" for a Specialized Allez A1 or Allez Vite or Allez Allex Oxenfree or whatever it's called, rode it, and it sucked.
• Rode a Lemond BA, and it didn't suck. But even though it was "fit" perfectly, it felt weirdly wrong-sized.
• Rode a Litespeed Classic, but it didn't make the Trek suck enough to want to spend more money.
In short, I ended up buying what felt good to my butt. Make sure yours has equal say.

I hope I didn't use the word "suck" too much in this post because then it would, well ...
re: New road bike for $1500 - $1800Tri-State Cycler
Oct 11, 2001 4:24 AM
Agree with the post above on Jamis, Marin, Raleigh and also Fuji (Lots of bang for the buck). You can buy the Fuji Roubaix Pro (853, carbon fork, full 105) for less than your target price or the Team (Easton, carbon fork, full Ultegra) at the low end of your price range. The Jamis Quest is pretty sweet for this price range (Fully chromed 853, carbon fork, full 105) although the geometry is a little more laid back. Anywhich way you go I'm sure you'll be pleased at the bike packages in your price range. I'd shop around and see what you can get. With the economy in it's current state, deals are sure to be abound. Good Luck!!
re: New road bike for $1500 - $1800Bart S.
Oct 11, 2001 9:00 AM
Jamis Quest is a good value - around $1300 with 105 componants.
re: New road bike for $1500 - $18009WorCP
Oct 11, 2001 5:09 AM
Go to the Colorado Cyclist and check out the Tommasini Sintesi. It's is a remarkable bike especially if you like the look of frames built in the late 80's and early 90's. Very classy. Another opton is the Ritchey Road Logic frame which is available at Excel. The Ritchey frame is one of the best reviewed frames of all time.
Other posters have given you some great ideas . . .DCW
Oct 11, 2001 8:07 AM
let me add a couple. First, check with Gary Hobbs (gvhbikes.com). He has some great deals on steel and alu frames and built-up bikes in your range. You will get a lot of value for the money and he will build up the frame as you wish. He is very good to work with, knows how to fit you and provides a lifetime warranty.

Second, stretch (or save) your dollars by buying used. Your $1500 can buy a $2500-3000 list price bike if you are willing to buy a year or two old. My son and several friends have taken this route with great success. You can get an idea of what's out there by clicking above at the Roadbikereview Marketplace. You are on your own with fit and no warranty, of course.

Good luck.
re: New road bike for $1500 - $1800mlbd
Oct 11, 2001 4:29 PM
i agree with the gvhbikes.com suggestion. he's got some good deals. i've got an '02 lemond buenos aires and i love it. but the wheels might be a bit skittish for a guy your size (i'm 160 and they're fine for me though). not too long ago gvhbikes.com had some ultegra spec'ed c'dale caad4's for about $1300, which is a great deal. can't go wrong with trek, though, if that's what you like (i have a trek MTB and it's been great).

good luck