RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Ugliest downtube logo(20 posts)

Ugliest downtube logoStarliner
Oct 10, 2001 12:10 PM
I think the ugly car thread has spun out. The auto companies really care much for our opinions, anyway... we're just a bunch of cyclists, no?

I bet we'd have a better chance of having our comments listened to by the bike companies, however. So I thought it would be nice to hear what kinds of opinions you all might have with regard to the bike-maker's logo on the downtube.

So here's a few that I find lacking:

CALFEE - my dream bike, but alas, logo too understated for my eye; a bit generic. Maybe he's not trying to attract the typical C40 buyer. If and when I ask them to build me up a frame, I'm going to ask Craig if he would put my own redesign on the tube.

LITESPEED - Schoolbus yellow shocks my eyes. I find it lacking in personality and drama overall. Dull and uninspiring. Maybe a too corporate.

A few logos I like....

IBIS - I really like the slanted, lower case letters on a contrasting background. Nice font choice. Has dramatic feel; a sense of motion and direction.

SEROTTA - Another nice font choice with slanted letters, but executed very differently from the Ibis. Has more of a classic, old-world feel. Something easy to be proud of.

That's all for now, gotta get back to work..
re: Ugliest downtube logoAvanti Guy
Oct 10, 2001 12:24 PM
The Cinelli Downtube looks pretty darned ugly to me, its like it was an afterthought, or maybe it is just too Euro Style for me.
easynfm
Oct 10, 2001 12:28 PM
Primal
Best and worst of bicycle logos...Cima Coppi
Oct 10, 2001 12:31 PM
Worst:

New Cinelli- The last thing I want is the name across the ENTIRE down tube, and across the top tube as well.

Cannondale- I never did care for the font of their lettering

Pinarello- Great frames- plain lettering, could use more zest.

Best:

Merckx- I'm very partial to his frames

Seven- Simple yet classy

Tommasini- I love script.

Independant Fab.- Cool styling
re: Ugliest downtube logoLen J
Oct 10, 2001 12:34 PM
Worst:

Trek. I like the bike but the logo is...uh....uninspiring.
Specialized. Plain
Seven. Way too understated.
2001 & before Lightspeed. Iagree on the yellow. although thier 2002 Classic with the white band, I like.

Best:

Pinarello(sp?). Just like it
Fonderist. Classy looking
Serrotta. Just appeals to me.

Len
"ugliest" threads are...ugly, imho nmDog
Oct 10, 2001 12:37 PM
my pick...ochsen
Oct 10, 2001 12:47 PM
Gunnar by far is the ugliest.

The design reminds me of a type program from the early '90s that was more novelty than useful. I'll bet they used this program. The lack of clearcoat on their stock frames doesn't help much either.

They're way overdue for a redesign.
favorite though...quadzilla1
Oct 10, 2001 1:11 PM
Favorite : Ellsworth - on both their MTB & Road

A few years back, Roberto Gaglioli (sp?) was riding one at the Core States race in Philly...bright yellow with yellow spinergy's (rev-x).
Nothing's better than noneChris Zeller
Oct 10, 2001 1:22 PM
I love the idea proposed by some custom frame builders of making frames without logos. If I get my dream custom racebike, from Seven, Merlin, Dean or whoever, it will come without logos. No need to worry about resale value. This bike will be for me and me alone.
MBK, Olmo, and ...Elefantino
Oct 10, 2001 3:00 PM
of course, Trek. It's huge, ugly, blockish, awfully overdone ... and I love mine all the same.
gtcolker
Oct 10, 2001 3:41 PM
sorry for kicking a dead horse but... gt is a good logo on a car, not on a bycicle.

best: fat chance.
Trekfiltersweep
Oct 10, 2001 4:06 PM
black lettering on a dark blue background (outlined in white in a seriffed 80s-style blocky font).

Actually its a bit odd that the cheaper the bike, the more garish the decals!
Gunnar, but thank God it was above the final coat.Alex-in-Evanston
Oct 10, 2001 6:22 PM
Came off like a prom dress.

ALex
re: Ugliest downtube logobike_junkie
Oct 10, 2001 11:05 PM
I actually like the new, huge Cinelli.

Serotta, the old Moots (white) & Ibis are my faves. Owned each of them, all terrific frames. Really like the Eddy Merckx font as well. My first "real" roadbike was a Merckx, fond memories! Love the Steelman font.

Seven and GT are ugly, IMO, and don't care for C'dale either.
re: Ugliest downtube logoWoof the dog
Oct 10, 2001 11:37 PM
IF - one of the uglier ones I've seen, although it depends on the background. These white squares outlined in black and black letters inside make my head spin around trying to read what it says. Maybe I should get a frame and put stickers on it like that, only instead of IF spelled out, I'd write something else: most wouldn't even notice.
Their logo just sucks. Why not offer different styles? Why does it have to be the same god damn thing every time? Like there is no other way to write these long words. Hell, you could do "independent" on the left side, and "fabrications" on the right side.

Another one, but thats just the name: Waterford. I know they are good bikes, high quality, good craftsmenship, blah blah blah, but the name makes me puke. It reminds me of old really cheap bikes sold for general public. Its true that waterford makes touring frames as well - something that keeps me away from this frame builder as a popular racing one. I mean its not that popular really. Another name I am cautious of: Schwinn (sp?) - look what happened to them now, hehe. I am so glad I never bought that Factory fastback frame! My innate sense of a good top-notch popular company vs. something that will fall apart like Schwinn tells me to stay away from Waterfords, Landsharks, Calfees, KHSes and such. Sorry to have offended some of you riding these frames. Wait, I am being insincere...I am not sorry because I just feel the way I do about these frames. Its not about quality, its about being comfortable with the name and the overall impression of the company and its customers. True, I am not that impressed by my bike's company either.

Sorry to type so much again, I just couldn't resist.

Woof.
Mine is the ugliest by farmatt
Oct 10, 2001 11:38 PM
I have a mountain cycles MOHO road. The decals look like a guy at the flea market made them from a custom vinyl decal stand. They may as well have put a confederate flag sticker or Yosemite Sam mud flaps on it.

The best imho is Cannondales Saeco frames from this year were the decal goes from the steerer,across the integrated headset, and down the fork. I also like the Giant TCR ONCE frames that are yellow/annodized black with the silver decal and logo joining the two colors.
re: Ugliest downtube logothe insultan
Oct 11, 2001 5:47 AM
Those old Peugeot logos were really ugly (the ones from the early 60's and before).
Ciocc : lousy font, and they should include a phonetic interpretation, too!
Kona by FarUgly Inspector
Oct 11, 2001 7:34 AM
re: Ugliest downtube logoLazy
Oct 11, 2001 8:12 AM
I think the coolest isn't even on the down tube. I really like the Logo on the Casati Dardo that goes from the head tube down the fork. Very original and snappy looking. I think the LOOKs are pretty classy looking too.

I don't like the slanted letters on the Serottas, and I don't like Treks logo work because I see it about every other bike I pass.
re: Ugliest downtube logohillcountry
Oct 11, 2001 9:03 PM
I think the Kona logos are by far the ugliest I've seen and their names are horrible too. I literally didn't try to ride a single Kona because of the way the logos looked and the names. It's very shallow, but I just can't imagine myself riding a bike with a name like "Poo-Poo Platter" or whatever else they think is "Hawaiian-like" to name their bikes. They seriously need to get rid of the surfers they hired for their marketing department.