RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


how many of you rode a century?(45 posts)

how many of you rode a century?cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 8:02 AM
double?
triple?

how many centuries have you done this year? (doubles? triples?)

what was your longest ride ever?

what longest ride would you consider?
re: how many of you rode a century?Me Dot Org
Oct 10, 2001 8:23 AM
4 Centuries:

Solvang
San Luis Obispo
MS Tour Santa Rosa (Back to back Centuries Saturday and Sunday)

There was also a 100 mile day on the Aids ride this year, but it was pretty flat and we had a good tail wind most of the day.
4 this year...MrCelloBoy
Oct 10, 2001 8:26 AM
Longest ever was the Terrible Two Double in 1999.
I rode from SF to Banff, Alberta and back in 1973 but that was all summer.
I don't ever think I'll do over 200 in a day, but I'm going for the CA Triple Crown next year (3 doubles).
re: how many of you rode a century?morey
Oct 10, 2001 8:33 AM
I have ridden one Century this year. Have ridden RagBrai which is over 500 mile, Ride across Florida about 180 miles in one day!
7 this yearCliff Oates
Oct 10, 2001 8:37 AM
and I was planning on at least 3 more along with a double metric until I crashed hard in mid June. The double metric (Markleeville Death Ride) would have been my longest. I want to earn a Cal Triple Crown jersey before I turn 50, but I'm a gonna do the easy(er) ones (Solvang, Davis, and TBD) and leave the Devil Mountain Doubles and Terrible Twos for the masochists. I will probably do the Davis double next year to get my feet wet.
i did TOSultegraracer
Oct 10, 2001 8:45 AM
i did the tour of sebring which was 105 miles
1 century, 2 dirt centuries, 4 double metrics, 6 doublesZignzag
Oct 10, 2001 8:47 AM
Actually 5.9 doubles. I had to cut Death Valley short because of weather. I'm thinking about doing Paris-Brest-Paris in 2003.
re: PBP '03cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 9:02 AM
are you be doing ROcky mnt and/or BMB next year?
What's Rocky Mnt?Zignzag
Oct 10, 2001 9:12 AM
I'm planning on trying the Davis Bike Club brevet series to see whether long distance randonee riding is my cup of tea.
re: What's Rocky Mnt?cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 9:48 AM
Canadian Randonee next summer more info Rocky Mountain 1200k

practically in your back yard if you live in NW
Going for 8th Century on Saturday......Len J
Oct 10, 2001 8:50 AM
plus several metrics. All not counting the Miles in Alaska.

Longest ride ever 120 miles.
Looking to do 200 next summer.

Len
Rode a fewmr_spin
Oct 10, 2001 9:00 AM
I'm close to 20 for the year, with at least 3 more to go to meet my goal of one per month. Most were just long rides with friends, but I did these organized Rides:

Solvang
Death Ride
Chico Wildflower
Cruisin' the Conejo
Strawberry Fields Forever
Surf City
Santa Cruz Mountains Challenge

Longest ride ever was the Death Ride, at 124 miles.

Next year, I plan on doing the Climb to Kaiser, which would be about the longest I'd want to ride (150 miles).
I lost track, d##n that short term memory loss.MB1
Oct 10, 2001 9:19 AM
As of Sept 1 Crista had 66 and Chuck had 63. My longest day was around 280, my longest 24 hrs was 350ish back when I was young and foolish. Now Doubles are plenty.

http://www.ultracycling.com/standings/umcstandings.html
That is from Dec. 16, 2000 nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 9:31 AM
you gotta quit smokin' dat stuff I told ya!cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 9:44 AM
actually Crista rode 103(!) centuries one year, Chuck only 99(!)

it's interesting to see familiar names Rudy, Keith.. Russ Loomis, Jim Trout (I met them on BMB)

Keith rode 466mi in 24hr. Anything above 300mi seems undoable for me.
Why? It has been working fine so far!MB1
Oct 10, 2001 9:54 AM
The story as I got it was that it was the last weekend of December-Chuck was all set to get his 100th for the year and his daughter dropped in for a visit. He bagged the ride. See, they are not obsessed afterall.
yeah they arn'tcyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 9:59 AM
they just got too much free time on their hands
so are you coming for the hills on Sat?
I think it is time for an easy week. (I think that every week)MB1
Oct 10, 2001 10:05 AM
I am pretty sure we will be doing a ride from home on Saturday and our famous "In Town Century" on Sunday since it looks to be wet.

You will probably see us next Saturday if you go out to meet the group.
if I go out?cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 10:22 AM
I kinda have to I'd be leading ride..
What do you know, Miss M says Saturday's a go. nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 4:16 PM
BTW I looked it up, 47 Cs. nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 4:38 PM
don't worrycyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 7:50 PM
I added two more
13 so far this season ....cyclinseth
Oct 10, 2001 9:30 AM
Had my first on March 5th and will probably do 2 more before the end of the year.

My longest was Seattle to Portland, 200 Miles in 10.5 hrs.
Centuries this yearBrooks
Oct 10, 2001 9:55 AM
One organized: Utah Lake Epic Century Ride (ULCER)
Several weekend rides that went over 100 miles
One race of 200 miles: Logan, Ut to Jackson, Wy
Longest ever: San Francisco to Boston (all summer)
2, + 6 metricsRich Clark
Oct 10, 2001 11:01 AM
All solo unsupported on my new Airborne Carpe Diem touring bike.

Right now 100 miles seems close to my limit, given the hilliness of my local environs, but if we visit family in Indiana next summer I expect to at least try a double metric, if not longer.

Not bad for a 50-year old with five stents in his coronary arteries!

RichC
ridesDog
Oct 10, 2001 11:24 AM
centuries, average over 1 per week (organized, group, or alone) for the better part of the year, only a hundred was the short Saturday workout; did 4 in 4 days last spring; do this all winter, too

only 3 organized doubles, but many others alone

longest 344 miles continuous (17 hours)

doing 508 miles this weekend; that's the longest I'll consider for now; might do RAAM some day, depending upon how the 508 goes - all new territory

Doug
re: ridescyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 3:28 PM
344mi in 17hr? was it total or riding time? how flat?

well good luck on FC if you got through 350mi you'll get through 500 no problem. let us know how it goes
re: how many of you rode a century?Js Haiku Shop
Oct 10, 2001 11:28 AM
well, being my first serious year and all,...

how many centuries done this year? 4...

102 miles: chattanooga 3 state 3 mountain century, 5/5
125.8 miles: birmingham (AL) century, dbl metric route, 9/8
100.26 miles: local ms150 day 1, 90 mile route, 9/22
125.49 miles: local fall century, dbl metric route, 9/29

longest ride ever: 125.8 miles (above)

longest ride i'd consider: ?

there's a 300k in september 2002 i'd enjoy, within driving distance. actually, the drive is 186 miles.

would like to do the 1/2 BAM next year, 287 miles in 32 hours.

would like to do the full BAM sometime soon after, 575 miles in 63 hours. for me, training time is a rare commodity for events of this length. then again, there was that woman who won the women's olympic marathon trials--she was from alaska, and only trained on a treadmill (or some such nonsense). guess it can be done.

i'm eyeing the fc508 for when i grow up and have time to train, money and resources to travel and support the ride. naturally, do(u)g is a negative influence; really, though--i'm most interested in the challenge and the setting.

pipe dreams, eh?
2 centuries, 1 metriclook271
Oct 10, 2001 12:56 PM
metric-"ride around the river" 6500 ft of climbing. Early season h*&^.
1st century-"Gap Gallop". Nice ride, great scenery, last 20+ miles mostly downhill, 1-1.5 mile descent @ 12.5% :-).
This weekend (Sat)- Seagull century. Flat as a pancake and fast. Good one to do a pr on.We'll see.I'd LIKE to do the 3 mtn challenge next year as well as a few other centuries. Longest ride? 102.1 Gap gallop last month.
MD/PA to chattanooga--a long drive! ~600 mi for the 3st/3mt? nmJs Haiku Shop
Oct 10, 2001 1:04 PM
What is that in the English Language??? nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 1:05 PM
he said he'd like to do the 3 mtn challenge next yearJs Haiku Shop
Oct 10, 2001 1:11 PM
can't remember where look271 is from, but judging from his rides this year, could be PA or MA. if so, the drive from that far north to chattanooga (if i've read his "3 mountain challenge" right) is ~600 miles. long drive for a century.

it's a three or four hour drive for me, all major interstates. i figure it's easily double that from that part of the east coast. no?
Yes, or more. BTW tks fr th trnsltn!!! nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 1:13 PM
U R WECCOME EN EMJs Haiku Shop
Oct 10, 2001 1:15 PM
MD/PA to chattanooga--a long drive! ~600 mi for the 3st/3mt? nmlook271
Oct 10, 2001 1:47 PM
I have a friend that has done it the past 3 yrs. He and his family go and make a long weekend out of it. Sort of like an early vacation (I think his wife is from that area.) A couple of others from my area have done it, too, so I wouldn't be driving down just by myself. Sounds like a great ride. BTW-if Dave (my friend) can do it, so can I. He climbs like a stone.
this wouldn't happen to be your friend, would it?Js Haiku Shop
Oct 11, 2001 6:03 AM
That's a CCC jerseyDave Hickey
Oct 11, 2001 7:48 AM
Very elite club, however I don't think anyone that's a member wanted to become one. CCC is Cyclist's Combating Cancer. Only survivors have those jerseys. FYI, I'm a member
653.5 miles, to be exact. (nm)look271
Oct 10, 2001 3:38 PM
Two this year, longest 162 mi.Elefantino
Oct 10, 2001 3:05 PM
Want to do the Montreal to Maine AIDS ride next year (400 miles) ... but the mini-me inside my head wants to do the last 10 days of the Tour next year and ride the Champs.
Go with plan "B". You only live once. nmMB1
Oct 10, 2001 4:35 PM
Wrong. I live twice.Elefantino
Oct 10, 2001 8:16 PM
Before the accident, and after.

Considering that I came within pick-whatever-micromeasure-you-choose of being either paralyzed or deceased, I consider everything after to be gravy.

Paris beckons. I'll rip it up on the cobbles.
Four centuries since January ...Humma Hah
Oct 10, 2001 5:09 PM
... plus one which I cut short to 88 miles. One of the centuries was actually 153 miles.

I'm aiming for 160 miles next year some time, if I can sneak in the training miles.

I'd like to do a double once I get a road bike.
what are you getting?cyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 7:53 PM
I couldn't belive how much bike 500$ can buy
Have my heart set on a ...Humma Hah
Oct 11, 2001 5:00 PM
... classy older mount. The dream machine is a Paramount, something like a P-10 or P-13, chromed Nervux lugs. I saw one at the San Diego Velodrome a couple of years back, the guy had paid $250 for it, and I was in lust!

I'm shopping all the old bike shops I stumble across, which ain't been many.
Rode the Spenco 500 in 1985matt
Oct 10, 2001 11:40 PM
It was 500 miles in 24 hours or less. I was 17 at the time, and finished in 23.5 hours.