RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Max Tube Life(8 posts)

Max Tube Lifepulverize
Oct 9, 2001 3:41 PM
Just wondering - what is the opinion of some of the more experienced "roadies" on the following: When changing my clincher road tires, is it suggested that I toss the old tubes and install new or should I just continue to use the old tubes until a flat(s)arrive? Thanks in advance for the feedback.
Never have worn one out...cory
Oct 9, 2001 3:59 PM
I tuned up a 30-year-old Schwinn for a friend not long ago, and those tubes were dried out and cracked. I've never had one get old enough to do it in a bike I ride, though. I think I have so many flats from the goatheads around here that I rip the valves out from repeated inflation before anything else gets old...
I know I've had tubes last three or four years, certainly.
Non determinateKerry Irons
Oct 9, 2001 3:59 PM
You got advice from someone who also sells inner tubes, no doubt. Either that or an uniformed do-gooder. There is no reason to replace tubes when replacing tires. While everyone has their own criteria for when to replace a tube, many of us are riding on tubes with 4, 6, or more patches with no problems. I think I have been rotating the same 4 tubes (2 on the bike, one carried as a spare, and one sitting in the shop) for the last year or so, while wearing out 5 or 6 tires. I 4 years of my wife and I riding clinchers (60K + miles), I think we have had a grand total of 2 flats due to patch failure (out of maybe 20 flats). I see absolutely no reason to throw out a tube when putting on a new tire.
re: Max Tube Life12x23
Oct 9, 2001 4:03 PM
I may be wasteful, but I always replace tubes when I replace tires. I also place them in a plastic baggy with talc and shake (don't stir), and dust a little inside the tire casings. I don't know if this helps, but they sure smell good. ;-}
27 years ...Humma Hah
Oct 9, 2001 5:16 PM
... I recently had to replace one of my two 27-year-old tubes in the cruiser when the Schrader-valve stem debonded.

I'd say it is really rare to go that long, age-wise, without perforating a tube so often it is just a mass of patches. Many people don't trust patches and use them only as a last resort to keep rolling when out of fresh tubes. Even cheapskates generally prefer to scrap a tube that's been patched twice.
re: Max Tube Lifenuke
Oct 9, 2001 6:49 PM
yeah, like everyone else has pretty much said...tubes last until either you can't repair 'em (too big a split) or you can't stand 'em (just tired of using the same ol' tube).
Max tube life? When I run out of patches. Seriously. (nm)Elefantino
Oct 9, 2001 7:18 PM
you can get a few thousands milescyclopathic
Oct 10, 2001 7:28 AM
out of tube.

I usually replace them when I get a "strange" flat (no thorns or pinch) or slow leak. That is a good indication that rubber gets old and starts failing. Not that they cannot be patched, just I hate fixing it on the ride.