RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fatigue(9 posts)

Fatiguezzz
Oct 8, 2001 12:41 PM
I did a 115 mile ride this weekend and had problems with the feelings of fatigue. I wanted to just end the ride a number of times. What are your strategies for dealing with this?
re: FatigueDave Hickey
Oct 8, 2001 12:44 PM
Did you eat and drink enough? When I have problems with fatigue, It's usually related to not eating enough on the ride
re: Fatiguemr_spin
Oct 8, 2001 12:56 PM
Well, there's rest. And then there's training. Both are good strategies for battling fatigue.

Without any details, it's hard to give you any advice. Have you ever ridden that distance before? What distance do you normally train for? Were there hills? Wind? Were you alone? How's work? How's your love life? What's your mental state right now? All these are factors. No one is "on" all the time. And sometimes fatigue isn't really physical.

I've done nearly 20 100+ mile rides this year, and only on a few did I feel fresh as a daisy the whole ride. 115 miles is a long ride for most people.

As basic advice, I would say that if your long ride every week isn't in the 75-80 miles range, don't be surprised if you feel fatigued when you do 115. It's only natural.
re: Fatigueharlett
Oct 8, 2001 2:07 PM
zzz.you have to be prepared nutritionally like dave said--- then there are other things---

training for and running marathons gave me some valuable techniques to deal with long bicycling efforts--- it is psychologically
demanding for the mind to withstand the stress, fatigue, and pain of either a marathon or a double century and beyond--- when
the mind creates an image of anxiety, tension and/or fear(real or imagined) your body reacts--- the physical responses are blood
flow shifts, possible muscle spasms, impeded concentration and an increase of fatigue--- i learned that i can inhibit this chain
reaction by using a number of mental exercises---

in training you have to physically simulate race tactics and situations--- i also mentally simulate adverse situations---bad
weather, pain from fatigue, unbearable hill climbs--- i see and feel myself responding in a positive and constructive way to
overcome these situations---

when we set a range of goals in a long effort we increase our chances of success's and reduce the possibility of the mental
image of disappointment--- i always set a few goals that i know i should be able to achieve--- that helps with my confidence and
helps me relax---

visualization of a successful race and results also helps with lessening fear and builds a positive expectancy-visualization helps
us act in ways consistent with achieving the desired outcome---

mentally fighting fatigue is futile--- the effort to fight fatigue will only expend energy, increase anxiety and lead to greater fatigue--- i
try to think of fatigue as a familiar friend coming along for the run/ride--- i talk to it--- telling it that it can come along but i'm not
going to slow down for it so it better speed up and join me--- by having these imaginary conversations you refuse to grant power
to something besides a positive goal and it helps in reducing anxiety---

we are stressed and fatigued less by situations than by our view of them--- i have redefined pain as my muscles working hard
and a necessary aspect of exploring my potential--- when pain comes, instead of letting it demoralize me or creating a fear
image, i focus on what can i do now--- often just focusing on the next mile and then the next will soon make me realize that i've
just completed another 5 or 10 miles--- concentrating on form and pace also diverts your attention from pain and fatigue---
concentrating on mechanics instead of becoming anxious over discomfort gets you back to being efficient and focused on the
positives---

no matter the strategy that i use i always know that fatigue and pain will not completely vanish--- i do know that if i absorb myself
in strategies to overcome it, it will fade into the background of my mind---

before each event i mentally prepare the strategies that i'll use--- knowing that i'm in control helps me stall anxiety--- at the first
hint of fatigue or pain i start with my strategies--- i take charge of my fatigue and tell it that it will not deter me.

btw.thanks..you just gave me 15 minutes of positive thinking .*S*

life is a verb.......
re: Fatiguezzz
Oct 8, 2001 5:23 PM
Thanks that gives me some things to think about. And thanks for responding to my daughters email. She enjoyed reading what you said and loved the bookmarks. THANKS
Great StrategiesJon
Oct 8, 2001 5:29 PM
Those are great strategies for dealing with fatigue, some of which I use to handle the discomfort
of speed. They work.
Great Reply.Delia
Oct 9, 2001 5:49 AM
Harlett,

You really are an inspiration.

Thanks.

Delia
Great Reply.harlett
Oct 10, 2001 11:38 PM
delia.......as are you !

"when we hear words that inspire we are actually hearing words that resonate with what is already in our mind...inspiration comes from within"............... gertrude stein
Try naming yourself !!! instead of zzz.9W orCP
Oct 9, 2001 5:45 AM
This will work indeed. Maybe.