RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Taking a "step" away from Fred-dom.(18 posts)

Taking a "step" away from Fred-dom.LAIrish
Oct 6, 2001 11:53 PM
OK, I'll admit it. I've been using MTB pedals and shoes on my road bike. My only excuse is that I didn't know any better when the guy at the LBS sold them to me.

So, I've decided to make the investment in real road shoes (I'm looking at the Sidi Genius) and pedals. The question is: "Which system should I get, Look, SPD, Speedplay, . . .?" I'm sure this has been discussed before, but my searches on "pedals" and "cleats" and "shoes" don't turn up a thread with the discussion. Can anybody point me in the right direction?

Thanks.
re: Taking a "step" away from Fred-dom.Ken
Oct 7, 2001 12:38 AM
I use Speedplay Frogs with my roadbike. I like them because you can walk in them and they way only 250gs a pair.
Isn't that only a half step away?vanzutas
Oct 7, 2001 5:22 PM
I was always under the impression that the frogs were speedplays mountain version, and that the X series was the road version. Making a conversion to Frogs only a half step away from fredom.

Adam
re: FredElefantino
Oct 7, 2001 4:50 AM
I couldn't find the thread either, but ultimately it comes down to five (or six if you've got money to burn) strictly "road" pedal choices:
• Look: Available from about $40 (for Performance and Nashbar knockoffs) to $350, these use a triangular plastic cleat. Black for fixed, red for up to 6 degrees of float. Cleats run $10-12 and generally have to be replaced yearly, or sooner if you ride a lot more than normal. Some Looks have up to 9 degrees of adjustable float. Probably the most popular "road" pedal. Very easy to walk in, although the more you walk, the quicker your cleats wear out.
• SPD-R: Big brother to SPD, this is Shimano's road version. A bigger (metal) cleat, although not as big as Looks.
• Campagnolo: Campy pedals are expensive. They use a Look-style cleat and have about the same float characteristics as Looks. Chorisus and Record cleats, costing just under and just over $200, are compatible with ErgoBrain cadence, if you have a Campy drivetrain.
• Time: Arguably the most widely used in European peletons (although Lance doesn't use them), Times have a slightly larger contact area than looks and use metal "fore and aft" tabs to click in. Up to 15 degrees of float. The cleats last forever, almost. They sound like tap shoes when you walk.
•Speedplay: The smallest pedal (they look like a lollipop), Speedplay X pedals are the only (affordable) true "road" cleat with double-sided entry. They have the largest cleat size and virtually unlimited float. (It's 35-37 degrees, depending on model.) The cleats use the standard bolt patterns but are slightly more cumbersome to walk in than the others. Plus, replacing cleats is a $30 hit.

That said, I use Speedplay because I have a bad knee and need the float. I have used Look, Time, and SPD-R and they're all good, but I needed more float. Plus, I love the no-look click-in with my X/2s. Just mash down and go.

Hope this helps.
Covers for cleats...Curtis
Oct 7, 2001 7:32 AM
...I know as fact that you can buy rubber covers for Speedplay and LOOK cleats. I have used both and the covers make it easy to walk and help the cleats last a long time (no need to replace cleats yearly if you use the covers). The covers for Speedplay are called Coffee Shop covers and are a Speedplay part. The covers for LOOKs are called KoolCovers (I think) and are available most everywhere (LBS, on-line, mail order).

Having said all that, I switched from LOOKs to Speedplay two years ago, mostly for the double-sided entry and I've never looked back.
You bet. I've got 'em for my X/2s. They were $10.Elefantino
Oct 7, 2001 11:12 AM
Now you know something about YOUR LBS.nestorl
Oct 7, 2001 5:32 AM
I have the Sidi genius and I love them, You should really try them first since the sizing is tricky (very small cut). For pedals I have used tons of stuff and have always come back to look systems...bacause of their wide plataform. I now use Capy Daytona Pedals (best value) withe the sidi genius. But if you have the money, go speedplay!!!
re: Taking a "step" away from Fred-dom.LLSmith
Oct 7, 2001 6:36 AM
My LBS also suggested Ritchey Logic pedals with Diadora Habanero shoes. I only told them I wanted a pedal with two sided entry.Sales person said if I ever had to walk these shoes would sure help. I switched to the speedplays because I wanted to see if the float would help my left knee...It did, along with less mashing. I also picked up the Sidi Genius shoes.For the most part the shoes and pedals work well for me.I have the cleat on my right shoe adjusted all the way back and in as far as it will go.I was getting hot spots on this foot because of what I thought was the small platform.When the buckle broke I realized I could easily ride with only the two shoe straps pulled tight and have no hot spot.If you get these shoes make sure you have plenty of room to move your foot as the small platform on the speedplay pedal causes hot spots for some people.Don't plan on doing ANY walking in these shoes. I know there are alot of opinions on this, but I doubt if you will see any difference in your riding with new pedals or shoes unless you are trying to correct a specific problem.Remember those that see you as a fred may now see you as a poseur.Kind of a crazy world.
- pedals that bad?filtersweep
Oct 7, 2001 8:03 AM
I use mtn bike double sided spd pedals- I live downtown in a city and find them practical (I've used other pedals, but was so sick of flipping them all the time). Besides, who can tell what pedals you ride on while you are riding? I'm contemplating different pedals, but haven't gotten around to it. On a practical note, mtn bike shoes are much easier to walk in than any road shoe. I use Sidi Energy (I hate velcro, and I had a great source) and love the shoe- but the smooth plastic bottom will eventually be my undoing- I practically skate across the tile floor in my building's lobby! SPD work fine with my knees, as long as the cleats are pointed in the right direction! Asking about pedals here is like discussing religion, and while I use SPD, I also realize Shimano is about as pedestrian as they come- but they are cheap and parts are easy to find. Another nice aspect of Sidi shoes is that they work with any cleat you mention, although you need the correct adapter plates-

finally, Sidi sizes their shoes oddly! Sidi's 45 is not a normal 45, so be sure you really try them on before buying!
New roadie also from MTB worlddsc
Oct 7, 2001 8:48 AM
I'm also a new roadie, but resisted the urge to put SPD's on my new road bike :) Personally, I went with the Looks, due mainly to the large platform they offer. My main goal in getting a road bike is to begin training for centuries, so long distance comfort was important. I do miss the double-sided entry of my SPD's, and flipping the pedal is a bit annoying, so if that is important to you, by all means, go with the Speedplays. As for shoes, I bought Carnacs. Very comforatable. I tried the Sidi's, but they were just the tiniest bit tight across the toebox, so again, comfort over the long haul is my goal.
re: Speedplays and Diadora.Birddog
Oct 7, 2001 10:21 AM
I have 2 pairs of Speedplays (X1 and X2). I used to have Look and liked them just fine, but I wanted 2 sided entry and more float. I love my Speedplays and would buy another set in a second. I also have 2 pair of Diadora shoes and like them just fine. I bought both pair of shoes when I was thinking that I would buy Sidi, but both times the "fit" wasn't right so I bought the Diadora. The bottom line is that you should buy shoes based on "fit", not looks or special features. I did get the features that I wanted however. I have been intrigued with the BeBop pedal system for a long time, but I know of no one who has them. You might look into them.
re: BeBop pedalsdzrider
Oct 8, 2001 9:43 AM
A teammate with knee trouble uses them and his satisfaction borders on fanaticism. Any complaint about knees, feet, legs, clipping in, clipping out, cleat replacement or durability is seen as an oppurtunity to tout "the chosen pedal". I use Looks, and will probably continue because I have no trouble with them other than occasional squeaking.
I love my Campi Record Pro Fits, but....tirider
Oct 7, 2001 11:30 AM
...put some money aside for future cleats as the plastic portion wears quite quickly and is expensive (surprise). They are light and work flawlessly. If only I could find cleat covers. The reason I didn't consider Speedplays is that I'm used to limited float, however I understand they have a new pedal that remedies this problem for those of us unable to deal with change in our lives.
Dum question, but why is using Frogs = Fred'ish?kenyee
Oct 7, 2001 12:40 PM
They seem practical.
You can use MTB shoes that you can walk around in w/o cleats.

I don't get it.
Of course, I also think Camelbak's are fine on road bikes because they supply a more constant stream of liquids and you don't have to look up to drink ;-)
The only dumb part of the question was the spelling:)vanzutas
Oct 7, 2001 5:35 PM
I use Richey Logic pedals and Lake MTB shoes on my road bike and I could care less what people think. I keep up with the people I ride with. If you are a recreational rider I don't see why you wouldn't want MTB shoes to walk around in. but most don't work with the larger platform pedals.
I also use an MTB helmet and dirty water bottles.

Adam
LooksFrenchPress
Oct 7, 2001 12:55 PM
I've been riding clipless since they came out, and it's been Looks the whole time. I've tried Speedplay and SPD for rides (borrowed friends) to see what else is out there. Too much float on Speedplay and not enough platform w/ SPD (Haven't tried SPD-R yet). Personally, Look is it.

Now, going from what my racer friends have done, Look or Time. They have tried Speedplay for a year or more, and they begin to screw up the power transfer (legs move too much). And, I've seen many people ditch SPD-R because they don't clip in or out all the time. Times have a goot platform and seem to work well. The cleats do wear out, however. And when they do, you can crash pretty bad. So, keep an eye on them.

Just my thoughts.
re: Taking a "step" away from Fred-dom.morey
Oct 8, 2001 5:20 AM
I have been using the Sidi Energy and Speedplay X2 pedals.
I am highly pleased with both. The heel protector on the Sidi shoes tends to get loose, check these. The X2's are difficult to walk in their cleats, get the covers.
Same set up for me.Lazy
Oct 8, 2001 7:49 AM
The cleat covers for Speedplays are a must.

I'm very happy with my set up. Not a single complaint. I made the switch to Speedplays about a year ago after using LOOK for ten years. Not a single complaint.