RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Pedal/shoe for both mtb and road?(9 posts)

Pedal/shoe for both mtb and road?Todd
Oct 5, 2001 6:05 PM
As a mtn biker new to road riding, I was wondering if there are any pedals and shoes that would work for both mtb and road. I saw the Bicycling review of the new Crank Bros pedals, and thought maybe I could justify their cost by using them for both bikes. Same would apply to shoes. Thanks a lot for any advice.
re: Pedal/shoe for both mtb and road?Elefantino
Oct 5, 2001 7:08 PM
Speedplay Frogs would be my choice if I had one to make.
Full disclosure: I ride X/2s on the road and am a big Speedplay advocate, both for their quality and customer service.
A second for frogszzz
Oct 5, 2001 7:22 PM
I have frogs on my road and mtn. Easy in and out and my carnacs are easy to walk in.
A third for frogsrenew
Oct 6, 2001 5:03 AM
Use frogs and carnacs on road bike
RitcheyACE-
Oct 5, 2001 11:45 PM
Logic Roads will allow you to do what you want, and you probably won't even have to replace your MTB pedal/shoe combo (spd cleats work in the Ritchey pedals).
DittoJohnG
Oct 6, 2001 7:21 PM
I like my Ritchey Pro road pedals and MTB pedals. BTW, the road pedal is very light.

Works for me.
JohnG
re: Pedal/shoe for both mtb and road?Jay
Oct 6, 2001 7:04 AM
First, lets say I have both my road bikes and my mountain bikes set up with TIME ATACs, but that's just more because like you, I was first a MTBer and then I bought a road bike. The frogs should be slightly better for the road as they should allow for a little more cornering clearence and they also weight less than the ATACs. I still am plenty happy with my ATACs on my commuter bike though. I'm going to be buying a pair of those Crank Bros eggbeaters though when they get available, as they look like a better version of the ATACs for less cost too.

As far as shoes, I have one pair of shoes, an old Diadora Jalapeno II MTB shoe. I use it on road and off, I don't care, I have no problems with hot spots or anything, but that might not always work for you so YMMV of course. I will probable get new shoes when I get the eggbeaters though cause the cleat is different so it would be tons easier to get a new pair rather than to have to replace the cleat and readjust it every time I switch from road to off...

Jay
Bebops and Sidi'sDT
Oct 6, 2001 8:12 PM
I, too, started out on mtn bike, swore I'd never get a road bike, and now I don't even have a mtn bike, but instead $3,500 Klein Quantum Race. I used my Bebops on my mtn bike and have used them on my road bike(s) and tandem for over three years now. The free-float concept is similar to Speedplay's (I've ever tried Speedplays, so i won't hazard an opinion as to whether or not they're better than them) but I love my Bebops. With mtn biking shoes, they're easy to walk in.
Bebops and Sidi'sDT
Oct 6, 2001 8:13 PM
I, too, started out on a mtn bike, swore I'd never get a road bike, and now I don't even have a mtn bike, but instead $3,500 Klein Quantum Race. I used my Bebops on my mtn bike and have used them on my road bike(s) and tandem for over three years now. The free-float concept is similar to Speedplay's (I've never tried Speedplays, so I won't hazard an opinion as to whether or not they're better than them) but I love my Bebops. With mtn biking shoes, they're easy to walk in.