RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Prolink Chain Lube(19 posts)

Prolink Chain LubeUltegraRacer
Oct 4, 2001 8:26 AM
Hello, im thinking about ordering a new chain lube becasue ive been using WD-40 for lube and i hear i shouldnt do that. How is everyones experiences with Prolink?
Also once i clean the chain and its dry do u think its good to just add a drop of Prolink to each link of the chain, let it dry for a second and wipe of the excess? One more thing, do you thing WD-40 will do a ok job of cleaning the chain before i lube it?
Ok thanks

UltegRA ACER
re: Prolink Chain Lubemr_spin
Oct 4, 2001 9:16 AM
I just started using it on my mountain bike. I haven't used it long enough but I've only heard good things about it. One thing: I'd wait longer than a second before wiping it off. More like 5 minutes or so. Some of that "excess" you are wiping off might not be so excessive after a longer wait to give it time to seep in. And WD-40 never gets near my bikes.
re: Prolink Chain LubeColnagoFE
Oct 4, 2001 9:17 AM
I've been using Prolink now for a little over a year and I think it's the best road lube out there. Plusses...don't need to reapply often. Somewhat water resistant compared to something like White Lightning. Still like WL for MTB use. I think it keeps the chain a bit cleaner in dirty conditions. Prolink also keeps the chain clean. I just do a quick wipedown after a ride to get rid of the road grime. WD40 is a great cleaner in my opinion, but not a great lube. You can also use a cheap citrus cleaner with an old toothbrush and probably save some money over WD40 though.
re: Prolink Chain Lubezelig1
Oct 4, 2001 9:58 AM
I've been using it almost three years now and it took a year to get over the change in drive train noise. I think it's a very good lube with a nice self-cleaning feature and that it's very protective of the drive train components, particularly the rear cogs. However, I find that even following the manufacturer's application directions, I still need to relube every 300 miles or thereabouts. I would disagree that it's water resistant. Where I am, nine months out of the year the road conditions are wet when I ride although it's not always raining and Prolink's has not been terribly resistant to washing off/preventing rust.

I think everbody's results will be different depending upon conditions but given that I've nearly run out of my first orde of Prolink, I'm trying Finish LIne Cross Country. Who knows, I could be back on Prolink in a couple of months. Time will tell.
not water resistantAustin Danger Powers
Oct 4, 2001 12:02 PM
but compared to White Lightning it is much more water resistant. If you want a good wet weather lube the old school lubes like Finish line Teflon or Pedros SynLube work a lot better, but they are really messy and get the drivetrain gunky easily.
re: Prolink Chain Lubethe_gormandizer
Oct 4, 2001 9:28 AM
Theoretically, you shuld not have to clean your chain before applying ProLink (assuming it has not too dirty). Apply ProLink carefully to each link and allow it to seep in, then whiz the crank around as fast as you can for a minute or so. This throws out a lot of black crud, which you can wipe off. This is the cleaning and lubing in one step.

However, I find that cleaning/degreasing my chain with citus degreaser before applying ProLink minimizes the black crud splashed over the frame and wheel. I often remove the rear wheel and substitute a plastic rod from an old plastic coat hanger before cleaning/lubing.

Using WD-40 might also be a good first cleaning step.
re: Prolink Chain Lubepmf1
Oct 4, 2001 10:02 AM
WD40 is mostly kerosine. Not really a lube as much as a solvent.

For cleaning, I like to use citrus degreaser sold at Home Depot for $6 per gallon. Works as well as the bike shop stuff.

Always use a drip lube and only drip it on the rollers (round things in the middle of the chain). Let it dry and wipe off the excess.

Everyone here raves about Pro Link. I've tried it and it seems like (smelly) oil to me. No better or worse than anything else. I've been using a mixture of 25% motor oil 75% mineral spirits which works as good as any other lube I've ever used and is vastly cheaper.
Anyone use Pedro's Ice Wax?MikeC
Oct 4, 2001 10:24 AM
I usually use Kry-tech, but ran out and had to grab some Ice Wax at the last minute.
I don't really like it so far. It seems to really pick up the road grime to the point my rear derailleur pulley was accumulating gunk.
I don't THINK I was over-applying.
Tried Ice Wax this week...cory
Oct 4, 2001 10:42 AM
Same deal--I was 25 miles from home and the chain started making noise (I KNEW I shoulda lubed it...). Ice Wax was what the first LBS I came to had, so I tried it.
I got major gunk on the chain, too. What I'm wondering, though, was where it came from. It's a pretty new chain, cleaned when I installed it, and lubed with two or three applications of White Lightning since then. Suddenly there's this black stuff coming off it--way more of it than I could have accumulated riding 20 miles or so on pavement. I'm going to clean it and try the Ice Wax again, see what happens.
Bingo -- you have just experienced "Satan's Toe Jam"...Greg Taylor
Oct 4, 2001 10:54 AM
...I think that the black crud (which will eventually harden up) is a mix of paraffin and old chain lube.... The Ice Wax doesn't seem to want to stay put, and it draws out whatever nastiness is lurking in the chain rollers. Apply it enough, and you should get a clean chain, at least in theory.
I used to use it....Greg Taylor
Oct 4, 2001 10:47 AM
...but found that it (1) it didn't seem to last that long, and (2) it gunked up pretty easily. Deferred cleaning was not an option: nasty toe-jam like crap would quickly settle between the cogs and the derailleur pullys.

I switched to Prolink. Really like it a lot. My ultimate measure for a lube is chain and component life -- so far, I'm getting the same number of miles out of a chain with less lube. Runs a lot cleaner as well.
OMG. I just bought some of this stuff an hour ago.9WorCP
Oct 4, 2001 11:20 AM
I heard it was good lube and kept the chain clean by shedding the gunk build-up. Sheesh! Whatever. It's gotta be better than Tri-Flow. That should be called Nasty-Chain-Blackener TM.
re: Prolink Chain Lubedzrider
Oct 4, 2001 11:03 AM
I use Pro-Link on my fair weather bike and think it;s excellent. The chain stays clean and I don't go through as much of it as I did with T-9. When I've been caught in the rain it doesn't hold up nearly as well as the air tool oil that I use on my commuter. After a rainy ride to work the bike can sit and dry out all day in the office and the chain's fine for riding home. A quart of it costs about the same as 4 oz of Tri-Flow.
re: Prolink Chain Lube, Noisy.Chen2
Oct 4, 2001 11:07 AM
I switched from White Lightning to ProLink because it was rated highly in "Bicycling Magazine". Then I noticed that the chains on all three of my road bikes were noisy. I went back to White Lightning and the noise gradually went away. But I still didn't like the wax build-up from the WL. A dealer told me I should try Boeshield T-9. I did and I like it better than anything else that I've tried. The T-9 goes on at least 4 hours before riding. I use the dropper bottle, don't like the spray. I put one drop on each link. I wipe my chain down after every ride and it stays shiny. And all of my chains are completely quiet now. Noise = friction & wear.
No more Prolink, I through it out.
Very happy with Pro-LinkRich Clark
Oct 4, 2001 11:52 AM
Been using it over a year, about 5000 miles on two different road/touring bikes. No complaints. I use it to clean as well as lube, in all weathers and temperatures.

I was using White Lightning, but that stuff is useless in cold temperatures. When I started winter commuting I had to dump it. The ProLink is easy to use and works, and I've still got plenty left from my initial order (3 bottles, $18). Maybe that's expensive compared to other lubes, but I'm not going to quibble about 75 cents a month.

RichC
Me too.look271
Oct 4, 2001 7:41 PM
I'm just using up my 1st shipment of 4 bottles, and I sold 2 of them. Bought it at the beginning of the season last year. Pretty cheap if you ask me. I used to use White Lightning but got tired of applying it 1-2x a week and then having to chisel off the wax buildup. With the Prolink I don't even clean the chain; just wipe it off real good after applying it and then I add a little more after the cleaning is done. That might be more than what you need to do, but it works for me.
POWER LUBELone Gunman
Oct 4, 2001 3:43 PM
Started using this stuff I found at a hardware store out in the middle of nowhere. Made by CRC, spray can $2.29 for 9oz, contains Pariffinic oil, lubes and protects without leaving a sticky film. My chain is whisper quiet, reapply about every 300 mile or so, not that it needs it, I like quiet. Have used a multitude of others in the past.
Phil TenaciousDavidS
Oct 4, 2001 4:10 PM
Man, maybe I am still in the dark ages, but I use the Phil Wood Tenacious oil once a week, and clean about every 200-300 miles. Is this newer stuff (White Lightning, Pedro's etc.) really any better? I used Phil exclusively on my first bike (1986 Schwinn Le Tour II) for 13 years (almost 70,000 miles on that bike in 13 years) and only went through 4 chains, and 2 "corncobs". Now I am using the Phil on my OCLV, which cost me 5 times as much as the Schwinn, and I hate to think I am not treating it correctly. Anyone else use Phil?

-David S
17,500 miles per chain?!!!!Birddog
Oct 4, 2001 7:31 PM
That must be some sort of record!