RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody have recumbent experience?(10 posts)

Anybody have recumbent experience?bike_junkie
Oct 3, 2001 4:44 PM
Considering a recumbent. I know they look funny, but it's still a bike and it looks like it'd be easier on my back (bulging disk). Anybody that's ridden one I'd like to hear what you think, or if you can recommend a specific model, that's cool too. Thanks.
re: Anybody have recumbent experience?Akirasho
Oct 3, 2001 6:15 PM
... yup... and it's been good (I still ride both uprights and 'bents). I too have a herniated disc L5 S1, but that isn't the principle reason why I ride them.

I've got a couple of Visions... both short wheel base and under seat steering (modified).

A good place to start your search for relavent info, reviews and opinions is http://www.recumbents.com

Also check out http://www.wisil.recumbents.com/wisil/ and http://www.ihpva.org/

There are a lot of variants in recumbent builds, so even experienced comments about one model only tells you a bit about that one model... While hard for most of us to do due to the limited number of choices at your LBS, is to find as many different types in your area (I drove up to 80+ miles one way during my search) and test ride them to determine what will best suit your needs.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
What kind of workstand?nee Spoke Wrench
Oct 4, 2001 5:41 AM
Is that a standard clamp or some kind of accessory workstand clamp? I don't work on very many 'bents, and consequently I'm not very well set up to work on them. Generally I set the back wheel in a resistance trainer which results in a lot of crawling around on the floor - Ugh.
Wrench Force...Akirasho
Oct 4, 2001 11:50 AM
now the Ultimate Pro (I've got both)... with it's standard (Pro) clamp. Works quite well on the large boom on a Vision, though I think the Trek 'bent frame would be too large for any standard clamp... wonder how shop wrenches handle that puppy? A recumbent trike or some tandems would also present a problem.

The Ultimate Pro allows for a good range of height and rotational adjustment as well as being fairly stable with that much weight up high.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Anybody have recumbent experience?sweetbuns
Oct 4, 2001 6:52 AM
My boyfriend recently bought a Bike E recumbent for $1000. He opted for a recumbent because of joint pains and tush pains. He loves his new bike and he is really happy with it. He can now bike for hours w/o pain usually associated with traditional bikes. I've tried his recumbent and it was easy to ride and fun too!

Now that you know all the good stuff, personally, I am not running out to buy one too. His bike is HEAVY and he can't get the speeds he likes. He recently added a fairing onto the bike, which is a windshield...it added more weight to the bike but helps with steering and speed. Not all recumbents are heavy, the Bike E has a beam for a frame which is where most of the weight is. There are recumbent bikes designed for road racing and mountain biking...for his, I can't imagine doing one or the other. His bike is more for path and commuter riding. I would recommend trying out lots of different recumbent bikes before making a purchase. What is nice is that most bikes are one size fits all and there is little pressure to buy your size. Good luck....may I add, most recumbent riders ride with a big smile on their face!

http://www.bikee.com/
How hard are they to learn ride? (nm)Chris Zeller
Oct 4, 2001 8:02 AM
How hard are they to learn ride? (nm)bikedodger
Oct 4, 2001 8:49 AM
I tried a few out at a fitness show once and was surprised at how eazy they are to ride. I had no problems on any of the different types and I am a person who cannot ride a 'normal' bike hands-off!

Learning to ride in traffic may take a little time as they in general are much lower with less visibilty.

Mike
... the first time I rode one...Akirasho
Oct 4, 2001 12:03 PM
I went on shear bravado... that is, I thought if some of the folks I saw aboard a 'bent could master it, so could I.

I had little idea of what to expect, but found it surprizingly akin to balancing on a chair as you rock back on the rear legs... once you get by that initial (and very brief) "fear", it's just a matter of a few minutes figuring out that it's not magic to grasp the basics... good handling skills come with a few miles logged.

Long wheel base bikes generally have more subdued handling.

I don't generally use a rear view mirror on an upright, but find it a necessity on a 'bent whether on trails or the road. While it's possible to look over your shoulder, such a move is more likely to draw you off your line than on an upright.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
Wife has one........Len J
Oct 4, 2001 12:22 PM
and I've been gtest riding demo's from the local shop thinking about getting one to ride with her. (it's easier to have a conversation when you are at the same height.)

My observations on learning to ride them:
1.) As someone else said, the short wheelbase one's are more skittish.
2.) The higher the bottom bracket is relative to the seat, the more time it takes to get used to it.
3.) Stopping & starting are a little different. I found that I had to shift to an easier gear when stopping in order to be able to smoothly start back up in a straight line. Remember, you can't stand up to accelerate.
4.) Speed wasn't a problem on the one's I rode, of course the LBS is a riding budy & he know's I like speed, so he wouldn't let me demo anything he didn't like.
5.) A few loops of the parking lot & I felt comfortable road riding.

Wife & I are talking about a Bike E Tandem, I think we will demo it first.

Len
Ransgrassy knoll
Oct 5, 2001 6:00 AM
my dad owned a Rans. i rode it a couple of times. nice ride. it has a longer wheelbase and it's made out of good quality tubing. It has a 700c rear wheel and a smaller wheel in the front. the only "problem" is that i couldn't stop thinking of peter fonda in easyrider when ever i was on the thing.