RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who are the board members you miss?(51 posts)

Who are the board members you miss?Kristin
Oct 3, 2001 6:27 AM
Who would you like to see return to posting??

My list:
PsyDoc
Dino
LoneFrontRanger
FuzzyBunnies (I think he posted the other day)
ET

I'm sure I'm forgetting many...I hope all of these guys are doing well and have left to ride more!
some are around occasionallyDog
Oct 3, 2001 6:50 AM
Dino will be back; he's sort of selective in his participation. Always thoughtful.

ET is around now and then, isn't he?

Ixiz used to post more, and had a lot of good info.

Maybe the hostile discussions after the 11th turned a few people off - I'm part to blame, for certain. Things are much better when we stick to cycling issues.

Doug
LoneFront RangerMB1
Oct 3, 2001 7:19 AM
I liked the name and she was a 'crosser. (Cyclocrosser not crossdresser Spinchick!)
Hey, I'm not the one who wears a kilt, Mr. 'Crosser ;-) nmSpinchick
Oct 3, 2001 7:28 AM
spinchick your my favoriteishmael
Oct 3, 2001 7:59 AM
i love your querkiness and good attitude...where do you live, maybe we can meet up some time and go riding...im 5'8" with a 32" inseam..i ride a trek with all campy record and kyseriums..preffer long hills in the woods or romatic night rides...im into chamois butter
Yes, but do you look good in a kilt? nmMB1
Oct 3, 2001 8:03 AM
spinchick your my favoritescottfree
Oct 3, 2001 8:22 AM
Inseam! HA HA HA HA HA!
I was a little hesitant until you mentioned the chamois butter..Spinchick
Oct 3, 2001 8:53 AM
Geez, how can I pass THAT up? ;-)
Better on toast or a Bagel? nmCA
Oct 3, 2001 12:23 PM
Nonemr_spin
Oct 3, 2001 7:22 AM
I've tried not to get too attached to or too offended by anyone here. For me, everyone here is anonymous. I guess it's even theoretically possible that there are only two posters here--myself, and someone else posting under all the other names.

It's also possible that all the members you miss are still here, under different names. I could even be one! Except I'm not.

A better question is what do you miss about them? What special thing did they bring that has been missing?
Agree & would add Breck. (nm)Len J
Oct 3, 2001 7:40 AM
He is still here good as ever. Riding the wind. nmMB1
Oct 3, 2001 8:11 AM
what happend to john deishmael
Oct 3, 2001 8:02 AM
his insight was awesome...i think the women were to mean to him and scared him away..hes bashfull
Right, and Thiodorek misses Trollman (nm)mickey-mac
Oct 3, 2001 9:13 AM
nm
We know the truth. . .Vlad the Impaler
Oct 3, 2001 5:23 PM
john de = ishmael
believe it or not ...bianchi boy
Oct 3, 2001 8:07 AM
I miss the Trollman. His posts were usually humorous without being too nasty.

I hope we didn't lose any posters in the Twin Towers attack.
Railer, Breck, Jimbob, Bobbly, Trollman.justarider
Oct 3, 2001 8:16 AM
These guys brought life to this otherwise stuffy place.
Who Do I Miss?Jon
Oct 3, 2001 8:36 AM
Rollo Tomassi - clever, knowledgeable

Dino - thoughtful, experiences cycling differently than I do

LoneFrontRanger - attitude, panache, racer extraordinaire
Wouldn't miss DOGAustin Danger Powers
Oct 3, 2001 11:23 AM
Yup...and they kept DOG off his high horse. Bunch of egomaniacs. You'd think DOG owned this board from how he talks. And the funny thing is all the toadies that support his rantings and self-righteous talk.
I agree, whats his deal?Calfy
Oct 3, 2001 12:09 PM
Is he the owner of roadbikereview? Youd think he was. Its just a forum. Why do people make a measly bike forum their life? Its kinda a sad situation looking from the outside.
Funnygrzy
Oct 3, 2001 1:15 PM
For a couple of posters who seem to know about "Dog" you guys don't have handles that come to mind. So, assuming you're not just lurkers choking on some bad grapes, why use another handle, then criticise someone for frequent and intellegent posts? Of course this implies that you follow the board enough to notice - which puts you in the dangerous category of having "no life" - we'll ignore the fact that you don't have anything constructive to add. Could be just palin old jealousy. Ol' Dog sure seems to make it to and complete a lot of rides with some pretty damn respectable times. He's completed just about every demanding ride here in Cali and is gearing up for th 508 - that's some serious dedication. One can safely assume that Dog's profession keeps him reasonably busy and that riding is one of his main hobbies.

I guess I have to question what you two creatins find so objectionable? Dog adds a lot of constructive observations and info and tries to keep the level of decency reasonable. He's not know for going off and
cussing someone out like I do. Next you're going to say you don't like me either. Sigh.

Any chance we're going to have a moritroium on character assasination? Leave it to you two losers to take a positive posting (i.e. who do we miss) and turn it into something negative. That takes real talent.
FunnyTerry Salazar
Oct 3, 2001 2:13 PM
I only object to how Dog seems to speak for "all of us". He gets a bit egotistical at times. And then if you ever say anything against him all his "followers" seem to not be able to understand why anyone would object.
I don't think that word means what you thing it means.grzy
Oct 4, 2001 8:35 AM
According to the American Heritage Dictionary

e-go-tist 1. a conceited, boastful person. 2. a person who acts selfishly; an egoist. egostistical (adj.)

I just don't see how this applies. It's pretty easy to toss out negative terms - it's harder to justify them. Chock me up as one of his "followers" and you can be a detractor. I'm just not sure where we're going.
Read 'em chapter and verse grzy, I'll amen on the chorus! nmMB1
Oct 3, 2001 3:51 PM
Doing fine...thanks...I'm having a son!PsyDoc
Oct 3, 2001 8:32 AM
Just very busy right now as Valdosta State University is approaching midterms, getting ready for an accrediting body visit (e.g., NCATE), became the new BS program coordinator (my friends think this is ironic), and I have been working my butt off as I am going up for promotion early. I will be going over the last draft tonight and turning in all my materials tomorrow. I am not sure I am going to get it as I am going up early, although I have enough publications, service, and solid instructor ratings, but I sure could use the extra money that a promotion brings.

Also, my wife is pregnant as you may recall and that has been a lot of fun...seriously. Seeing her go through the changes has been so cool and I actually can feel us getting even closer to one another. And, a couple of weeks ago we found out that we will be having a boy. For those interested, you can see photos, view the ultrasound, and hear the heartbeat at: http://www.teamwhatley.com/baby/ The ultrasound and heartbeat can be seen/heard via the "September 13th, 2001" link.

My Seven Axiom Ti has been shipped to Excel and I am hoping to have it in my hands this weekend. I am planning on posting my impressions/photos in the coming weeks. I was going to forgo the new bike when I found out I was going to be a "dad," but my wife insisted I get the bike. In her words, "You better get it now, because there is no telling when you will be able to get another one."
Congratulations...on both deliveries! nmLen J
Oct 3, 2001 8:39 AM
Congrats Psydoc!Kristin
Oct 3, 2001 8:39 AM
Thats excellent news about the baby and the Seven. Very cool. Glad your doing well. Cheers!
Congrats! Your wife is one cool chick (and so correct!).Spinchick
Oct 3, 2001 8:58 AM
Look forward to seeing the pics of PsyDocJr. When is he due to make his debut?
End of February...nmPsyDoc
Oct 3, 2001 10:00 AM
life, as you know it, is over. congratulations.Js Haiku Shop
Oct 3, 2001 10:12 AM
he was ten months then. going on eighteen months now.
Another future little biker. Very cute! :-) nmSpinchick
Oct 3, 2001 10:37 AM
get that bike NOW!ColnagoFE
Oct 3, 2001 11:25 AM
It gets harder and harder to justify expensive bike stuff after the kids come! That Seven should keep the bike lust away for a while.
DaleRider - RIProllo tommassi
Oct 3, 2001 8:48 AM
The Board misses him, but his photo is still featured on the MTBR banner (dark shirt, glasses, holding bike over head).

He epitomised the spirit of listening, advice giving, and the passion of cycling.
To RT: So You've Been Lurking Again! (nm)Jon
Oct 3, 2001 8:59 AM
Always! ;)rollo tommassi
Oct 3, 2001 9:07 AM
always enjoy what others are saying...
ZUGGYZignzag
Oct 3, 2001 9:03 AM
Remember ZUGGY and his hare brained, get-rich-quick schemes? Roadcyclist.com? Underwater bass fishing? Swimming with great white sharks? ZUGGY was always good for laugh, unintentionally and at his own expense.
re: Who are the board members you miss?Lazy
Oct 3, 2001 10:35 AM
I've missed most of you. New job has me actually working instead of posting all day long. Oh well, can't win 'em all. :-)
Wondered where you've beenmickey-mac
Oct 3, 2001 10:39 AM
Did you leave AT&T or switch jobs within the company?

mike mcmahon
Wondered where you've beenLazy
Oct 4, 2001 6:10 AM
I'm still with AT&T. I'm in High Speed Data Capacity Management now. Much more interesting. Should get even interestinger with the CH 11 filing of @home last week. We will be taking on some new responsibilities soon, but no one seems to have any answers yet. The way things are around here, I'm feeling pretty lucky to have a job.
Hope all is well in So Cal.

Anyone heard from Nigel lately?
Wondered where you've beenmickey-mac
Oct 4, 2001 7:20 AM
Interesting is the right word. In my job, a lot of bankruptcy documents come across my desk. The number of ISPs and CLECs that have filed Chapter 11 in the past year is absolutely astounding.

Someone else was asking about Nigel without an answer. I thought I had his e-mail, but figured out last night when I got home from work that I didn't have it. He hadn't posted for a few weeks before 9/11. I hope he found a new job and is just too busy to post.
Maybe now you can afford an exotic frame and fork w/Campy? nmDog Breath
Oct 3, 2001 1:14 PM
Speaking of which:look271
Oct 3, 2001 3:45 PM
Has anyone heard from boy nigel? I haven't seen him post since "The Day". I really hope he's OK. Anyone know?
re: Who are the board members you miss?DINOSAUR
Oct 3, 2001 5:33 PM
I'm still here. I have been very busy the last couple of weeks. My wife's 79 year old father was hositalized with Alzheimers and numerous other medical conditions. We have been doing a lot of running around. My riding time sucks, I'm lucky if I get in two or three days a week.

Things I have learned: Keep your affairs in order when you get old, get rid of all of your junk, and have a living trust. It makes things easy on your relatives.
sorry to hear that, but glad to hear from you. nmJs Haiku Shop
Oct 4, 2001 5:47 AM
No one misses me. Sniff.9WorCP
Oct 4, 2001 6:58 AM
You'd have to leave in order for us to miss you ;-) nmKristin
Oct 4, 2001 7:07 AM
IS THIS A HINT!?9WorCP
Oct 4, 2001 12:26 PM
If you really knew me you'd miss me in about an about an hour or so.
Wow...we're self confident aren't we?Kristin
Oct 4, 2001 12:48 PM
especially for someone who's into gangsta rap. :-)

I miss you already.
Bowl of Noodles!nm
Oct 4, 2001 8:42 AM
nm
no! don't repeat it! candyman, candyman, candym....agghhh!!!! nmJs Haiku Shop
Oct 4, 2001 9:46 AM
And BipedZed just re-appearedKristin
Oct 4, 2001 9:53 AM
I have been trying to remember that name for a while. Creator of my favorite thread: Unicyle Fit

I just sent BoyNigel and email.