RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any fans of BMW motorcycles?(12 posts)

Any fans of BMW motorcycles?ja.cu.
Oct 3, 2001 5:42 AM
I've got the itch to get a motorcycle again and I've got it in my head that I want an old BMW, something like a mid 80's R65 or the like. You can pick these up pretty cheap. I'd like to hear from anyone with experience with older BMW motorcycles. Thanks and best regards.
You can't pedal those, can you? :-) nmDog
Oct 3, 2001 5:45 AM
They are really heavy....Jules
Oct 3, 2001 5:53 AM
Probably not very good for your knees to try pedaling one up a steep hill.

Hehehe ;)
Cheater!!!!Jay
Oct 3, 2001 5:59 AM
We don't need no stinkin' engine... :-)

Jay
A serious reply...Curtis
Oct 3, 2001 6:22 AM
...from someone who doesn't think that the world revolves around the bicycle.

I owned a 1980 R100 twin with a fairing and hard luggage. I LOVED it; lightweight, easy to flick through corners, very easy to work on (a good thing, too; it needed valve adjustments every few months or so). I only got rid of it when someone made me an offer I couldn't refuse on a Goldwing. Have fun with it...
re: Any fans of BMW motorcycles?JohnG
Oct 3, 2001 7:39 AM
My brother has a K bike and it's a total POS in terms of its handling. Feels like you are "on top" of a big tetter-totter. I think the BMW engineers decided to copy the handling of the original Honda 750.

YMMV
JohnG
not really a fan of bmw, but noticed that....maximum15
Oct 3, 2001 8:30 AM
after staying off motorcycles for a couple of years and riding only bicycles -- now when I ride my motorcycle, the steering feels very heavy. Amazing the difference that trail and rake can make.
Personally, I don't think you can go wrong with any of the BMW's from the 80's. I have never heard anything but good about them.
BE THE ENGINEGail
Oct 3, 2001 8:34 AM
Hate them screaming by my left ear on the road (nm)Chris Zeller
Oct 3, 2001 10:04 AM
Welcome to motorcycleREVIEW.comAllen az
Oct 3, 2001 3:21 PM
I think this guy thought this site was for motorcycles. "roadbikereview.com" sounds like a motorcycle site. Am I right? or am I right?

-Allen
R75grassy knoll
Oct 3, 2001 3:25 PM
my pops owned a mid-70's R75. rode all over as a kid on the back of this thing. My two enduring memories of this bike are the unique sound of the bemmer and my father endlessly trying to synch up the two carbs on the opposing cylinders. synching the carbs is some sort of "black art" and dad never tired of fooling with those carbs. having said that old beemers are cool and of the 30 odd scoots that my dad owned he kept the beemer the longest. hope you find a good one
R80 or R100 may be better choicebike_junkie
Oct 3, 2001 4:27 PM
They were all extremely reliable and easy to work on, the venerable R series Bimmers, but the R65 was pretty anemic. The R80 was about perfect, IMO and I still think the old R100RS fairing was a thing of beauty, although any of them look great with a small cafe fairing.

Besides being reliable, they had a nice low cg, so they were pretty flickable, but they were set up for straight-line comfort from the factory more than corner carving prowess. There are a couple excellent aftermarket places for BMW bike mods to improve power and handling, but mods don't come cheap on these bikes. Oh, and these bikes have that personality (quirkiness) that sets them apart from the rest.

The new water cooled twins are quicker, but those old R's are like a trusty swiss watch. Have fun, I understand your lust for motorcycles (been a cycle nut for 16 years).