RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Reflections on Trolls & Regulars.(44 posts)

Reflections on Trolls & Regulars.Len J
Oct 2, 2001 1:57 PM
I have to tell you that after some of the Troll posts that have been on the board lately that I was considering bagging RBR. I was really getting tired of the shots and the name calling.

Then I watched an idiot take a shot at "MrCelloBoy's S.O. and I had my hand on the doornob ready to leave. But, then I watched several regulars (who I look forward to exchanging posts with) rush to defend another regular. Not only that, but they managed to do it without "getting down in the mud with the pigs". So, Thanks Spinchick, Kristin, Dog & MB1 for reminding me why I keep coming back.

Len

P.S. Ignoring the trolls is th best way to get rid of them
I'm with you there. I enjoy the adults here (nothing to do withMB1
Oct 2, 2001 2:09 PM
age) but the kids (nothing to do with age)need to be sent to their rooms till they can behave.

I'll confess that every so often I find the trolls amusing for a short time. On Mondays I am almost always grouchy and not in the mood-something to do with riding on the weekends.
I was feeling pretty close to the same way today.Spinchick
Oct 2, 2001 2:28 PM
But then I decided that there are too many knowledgable, talented and polite (I was going to say mature but that's questionable - myself included :-0.) people here to let some idiot send me packing. It pissed me off that I let him get to me today. From now on, I'm not even going to read any of those posts.
What?!?!?! You're not going to read any of my posts???nmMB1
Oct 2, 2001 2:48 PM
Not until you send me that pic! nmSpinchick
Oct 2, 2001 3:02 PM
That would give you way too much power over me.MB1
Oct 2, 2001 3:17 PM
You will have to promise to never ever, ever post it. Besides, what do you want a picture of a skinny old chicken leg, snake hip man in a kilt for?
I would like to have that much power over you.Spinchick
Oct 2, 2001 3:21 PM
But I do promise not to post it. You see, I have an affection for kilts in general. Must be my Scottish heritage.
Question for Len J.MB1
Oct 2, 2001 2:51 PM
Aren't you in manufacturing on the Eastern Shore? Got any contacts in or near the District?
What kind of contacts are you looking for? nmLen J
Oct 2, 2001 5:14 PM
Pepco is shutting my unit down.MB1
Oct 3, 2001 5:07 AM
I am a Senior Analyst/Manufacturing Specialist for Pepco Technologies looking for a Manufacturing Management or Analyst position ideally within bike commuting distance of DC. I gained a lot of my knowledge in GTs Santa Ana factories-sad to see them go down the tubes. GT just couldn't survive the death of Richard Long and departure of Gary Turner.

Right now I am looking for contacts and people to network with.

Thanks
Mark Baird
franthis@iwon.com
Thanks!jtolleson
Oct 2, 2001 3:06 PM
for saying what I always think. About a month ago I took a week hiatus because I was so sick of some of the crap on this board. And I've got to say that some of the worst troll-like offenders are a SMALL handful of yes, regulars.

We get a few "drive by" type problems but a lot of the cancer that you speak of comes from folks who are here EVERYDAY. That's the part that makes me want to move elsewhere.

But we're hangin' in!!!!
Most of the regulars are predictible.......Len J
Oct 2, 2001 5:20 PM
and yea some can be bad at times, but the core is pretty good.

I get an awful lot out of your training posts as well as your overall cycling knowledge. I hope you'll continue contributing.

There are some posters & some topics that I just avoid. Life is about choices. I continue to choose to pay attention to those that have earned it.

Hope you will hang around.

Len
re: Reflections on Trolls & Regulars.peloton
Oct 2, 2001 3:15 PM
I really hear where you are coming from, Len. Some of the shots people have been taking lately are pretty out of line. ie- mrcelloboy's post, MB1 post of the same nature, and too many personal shots to list. Someone took a shot a Doug last week that I responded to that p!ssed me off even. Thing that bugs me the most is how many good posters aren't here anymore. Anyone seen Dino lately?

Anyway, I'm starting to think the best way to ignore trolls is to not log on. Kind of sorry I feel that way.
Don't stop loggin on, Peloton.Spinchick
Oct 2, 2001 3:23 PM
Just ignore the morons who have nothing to add.
Ditto! Let's stick together.jtolleson
Oct 2, 2001 3:36 PM
As long as they are woefully outnumbered, the board will seem OK. No place in cyberspace is perfect; I just hate feeling like its an uphill battle to keep things civilized.

So, if those of us pact-member-types keep hangin' in, it'll be OK! : )
re: Reflections on Trolls & Regulars.harlett
Oct 2, 2001 3:53 PM
as a dedicated coach you bring valuable information to this board. strength training, especially, is something that most people on this board need info on now and then. the consequence of people like you leaving this board is that we all lose.
Understand, hope you'll hang arouund........Len J
Oct 2, 2001 5:22 PM
we need all the reason we can get.

Len
Right on! Couldn't have said it better myself! (nm)Roxy
Oct 2, 2001 3:59 PM
Ignore the Jerks!Jon
Oct 2, 2001 4:40 PM
And don't ANY of you guys leave. You ALL entertain, educate, and edify. Besides which, I think
Miss M and the Calfee tandem are way cool. With the mix of personalities and experience on this
board it is undoubtedly the best cycling community on the internet---warts, arguments and all.
the idiots come and goDog
Oct 2, 2001 5:03 PM
I know how you feel. I'm about ready to bag this site every few months, and have done so at times, but I keep coming back.

The idiots come and go, but it seems the decent people stick around. It can't be fun to be that annoying for long periods of time, whereas it is continually rewarding to share information, passion, and friendship.

This is just a microcosm of life, but a little exaggerated by the anonymity.

The morons will go away. They always do.

Doug
You raise a good point.....Len J
Oct 2, 2001 5:30 PM
and one I hadn't really thought about.

When I go into a crowded room, I don't expect to connect with or even like every person in the room. I wander around, start small conversations and gradually connect with those people that I feel comfortable with. This site is a little like that room full of people. Sometimes I feel like I take some of the conversations (posts) too personally. Maybe a better model for all of us is to only participate in those conversations that are worth our time, and just let the rest go where they go.

I know easier said than done. Something for me to noodle on.

Len
I will hang around and promise not to bi*ch too much, because...Elefantino
Oct 2, 2001 6:03 PM
tomorrow I find out if I can get this brace/torture device off my neck and become a real person again.
I am soooooooo looking forward to riding again it's getting sick. I waxed my bike over the weekend. It hadn't been out of the house since it came back from the factory. I also lubed my X/2s. Bought a complete Mercatone Uno kit on eBay (the pink one).
I think I'm in need of some serious road time.
How about we all help you get your bike fixMB1
Oct 3, 2001 5:13 AM
by sending you all of our bikes to clean, lube & wax? I've got this fixte that got a little dirty yeaterday......
;-)))
My new policymickey-mac
Oct 2, 2001 6:33 PM
I'm instituting my own version of the "three strikes law." Whenever I run across a new poster who posts three messages consisting of personal attacks and/or flame-bating with no real cycling substance, I won't look at any more messages posted by that person. Not reading some of this crap will sure make not responding to it a lot easier. We've always had trolls, but going after a poster's appearance or, even worse, the appearance of a poster's spouse or s.o. is so far over the line that we all should ignore it despite our initial urge to defend our board-mates.

mike mcmahon

P.S. I miss lonefrontranger, Hank, Breck, and some of the old regulars who've been scarce lately.
im with youishmael
Oct 2, 2001 7:40 PM
ive been so willing to just give up and talk with real people but i cant let them win...we cant let them get us down..i like your three strike method mike, ive decided to apply this ingenious method to all my relationships..as of right now my wife already has a strike, ive given her ample warning so if im forced to send her packing its her own fault...be strong mike mcmahon and the rest of you..we can get through this together if we work as a team..god bless america....are you with me people...i miss all my old buddies who used to tell me the best way to lube my chain, you know who you are...rest in peace doug sloan
ishmael, you're a strange fellow,mickey-mac
Oct 2, 2001 7:46 PM
but I'd never ignore your posts. Godspeed, ishmael.
huh?Dog
Oct 3, 2001 5:40 AM
I don't get the "rest in peace" phrase - what's that about?

Doug
Weird dudeFormer Troll
Oct 3, 2001 7:10 AM
Are you for real? Get some psychological help. You all need help if you take a internet Bulletin Board this seriously.
As a recent flamee, I agree.Elefantino
Oct 2, 2001 7:43 PM
Gang:
The crack made by "Smo" about my neck injury was low, and a couple of people defended me (thanks, folks) but I think ignoring these weirdos is the best policy.
This is, IMO, a much better board than Bicycling or Velo News.
And thank you for making no cracks about my pink Mercatone Uno kit. My wife says I look like a big popsicle.

Mike
Mike, is that you?Kristin
Oct 3, 2001 5:49 AM
lol - I thought you were gone. And I had no clue who this strange Mickey Mouse person was. :-)
Not Mickey Mouse. Mickey-Mac, you know, the rapper! nmSpinchick
Oct 3, 2001 7:36 AM
Yeah, it's memickey-mac
Oct 3, 2001 8:40 AM
I changed my name because I couldn't log on as mike mcmahon any more. When I tried, my board name came up as "Mike". Hey, wait a minute . . . "strange"? ;-)
suggestion to the adminsDuane Gran
Oct 3, 2001 3:59 AM
I echo the feeling of others who like this place. It is a nice neighborhood and I do what I can to keep it that way. If Gregg and the others are reading along, here is a technical suggestion that may help:

As a registered user, I would like the ability to check a flag to "ignore this user." Of course, the clown could just register another name, but it would go a long way. You could even institute a rule where if 10% of registered users put someone on their killfile (old usenet term here) then the account would be ignored by everyone automatically. Just a thought to consider, or to ignore. ;)
You mean, "vote them off the island?" I like it. :-) nmDog
Oct 3, 2001 5:38 AM
oooo...the politics would get thick.Kristin
Oct 3, 2001 5:57 AM
Here's another idea. It think may be kinda unpopular; but really consider it. Would you guys be willing to pay a nominal fee (very small) to subsribe to the board? Then again, that might deter new visitors from joining in. I don't know. I, for one, have gained so much by being here--I'd pay for it. I'm pretty confident that trolls are mostly poor.
method of payment?Dog
Oct 3, 2001 6:07 AM
Some sites do that, and they have about 10 regulars and not much interesting content.

Another way to pay might be content contribution. You must offer something meaningful every so often to remain, even if it's just a good question.

Also, could have a rating system, much like the products: 0-5 stars. The zero star people can be ignored.

The members could be fickle, depending upon the topics and time, though. I suspect I'd have been kicked out a few weeks ago...

Doug
Yeah...thats what I was thinkingKristin
Oct 3, 2001 6:19 AM
Sometimes feelings torwards particular posters fluctuates. Everyone is accepting of Ishmael...but no doubt JohnDe would have been booted. I'm sure I would have been kicked off way back in April. But then you would all have missed the continuing saga of "As the wheels turn." Perhaps that would have been a good thing. Kinda like turning off the soap opera. hehehe...now you're all hooked!

Paying to be on the board would probably result in an empty room. But I like the idea of getting points for participating.

HEY!!! IDEA! This just in: How about a rating system that would earn board members some swag?? Kinda like those arcades where you get tickets. When you get enough tickets you can trade them in for stuff. It would promote keeping one login and encourage thoughtful responses. Hmmmm...but how does RBR benefit??
there are other boardsColnagoFE
Oct 3, 2001 7:59 AM
I think if forced to pay people would all split for the free boards. there are some good ones out there. i remember this board when nobody was posting to it BUT trolls. i stayed away for a while as almost every question was C vs S or "what bike do you have"?
Thankfully, now we have kilts and llamas to talk about.Spinchick
Oct 3, 2001 9:23 AM
Where else can you find such ecclectic subject matter that can all somehow be tied back to our rides?
How to make them leaveDean
Oct 3, 2001 4:56 AM
I do not post much, but I do read this board almost every day. I can tell you how to get rid of the trolls. When I was growing up, I was the fat kid and was always teased. I found that when I ignored the trolls, they went away. These people want a response, it is fun for them. If we do not respond, we are no fun and they will leave. I also noticed how the regulars defended MrCelloBoy, that was great. But it gave the trolls what they wanted.
re: Reflections on Trolls & Regulars.raboboy
Oct 3, 2001 5:03 AM
i find the trolls to be amusing sometimes, but I am able to ignore them when i need to. :)
you didn't really expect this post to slip by withOUT hauku, eh?Spiritual Haiku
Oct 3, 2001 5:52 AM
board sick of the trolls
happens several times per year
and when the leaves fall

trolls in many forms
legitimate post response
or starting new post

troll answer simple
don't fuel fire, it will go out
quiet extinguisher

eccentric ishy
can't tell from one post to next
you keep us guessing

haiku J agrees
no Breck, empty spot on board
like overcast day

my quick solution:
don't respond to "ti sucks" posts
or encourage trolls

encite is troll's goal
can't we all just get along?
no, so ignore them!
I like trolls. Some of them anyway.9WorCP
Oct 3, 2001 6:43 AM
If they keep the place lively that is. Hey, they're mostly just louts who toss names and epithets and do no more harm than that. A little coarseness is a good thing if it isn't completely puerile and mindless. This board needs cantankerous wits otherwise it's an overly polite, beige chat room. Yawn. :(

You all know what I'm talking about.
GET OVER IT YOU NERDS! &GET A LIFE!NERDDESPISER
Oct 3, 2001 7:26 AM
The world isnt perfect and neither are you nor your friends, neighbors, fellow cyber people, etc.